Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:51 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 11
Location: TX US
i have found several references on the web for:

1) toshiba dvd installed in an o2

2) o2 cpu overclocking

unfortunately they were all in german, and i wouldn't trust a google xlation from german to english for such delicate work.

does anyone know where i could find a decent translation?

TIA

_________________
dave


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 3:25 pm
Posts: 2783
Location: Los Angeles, CA
hindu wrote:
i have found several references on the web for:

1) toshiba dvd installed in an o2

2) o2 cpu overclocking

unfortunately they were all in german, and i wouldn't trust a google xlation from german to english for such delicate work.

does anyone know where i could find a decent translation?

TIA
DVD is simple, there's really nothing to do plug unplugging the CD-ROM and replacing it with a DVD-ROM... As for the overclocking, it's been discussed all over nekochan...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanx!
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 11
Location: TX US
i'll go back and find out what model of toshiba it is that i need, and search thru here for the overclocking info.

gracias!

ps:love the avatar

_________________
dave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 4:17 pm
Posts: 346
Location: quito
Quote:
DVD is simple, there's really nothing to do plug unplugging the CD-ROM and replacing it with a DVD-ROM...


I have one with a cdrw that is not so simple. The sides of the tray get caught on the curved sides of the o2, and forget about getting the stylish o2 "eject button pusher" plastic piece on there. For now I'm just leaving it with no skins. Any recommendations?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 11:51 pm
Posts: 1060
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
hindu wrote:
unfortunately they were all in german


Here is the english pdf of the O2 DVD mod.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: thanx!
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:57 am
Posts: 76
Location: Germany
hindu wrote:
i'll go back and find out what model of toshiba it is that i need


how about a SD-M1401 for 10$?
join the mob :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanx
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 11
Location: TX US
thanx for all the unputs...

_________________
dave


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:54 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Posts: 2062
Location: Voorburg, The Netherlands
hindu wrote:
i have found several references on the web for:

1) toshiba dvd installed in an o2

2) o2 cpu overclocking

unfortunately they were all in german, and i wouldn't trust a google xlation from german to english for such delicate work.

does anyone know where i could find a decent translation?

TIA


i've translated the article of the O2 overclocking in English some time ago:

http://www.mechanics.citg.tudelft.nl/~e ... pa/o2.html

_________________
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :O2000: :Onyx2:
European nekoware mirror, updated twice a day: http://www.mechanics.citg.tudelft.nl/~everdij/nekoware
ftp://mech001.citg.tudelft.nl rsync mech001.citg.tudelft.nl::nekoware


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:56 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Think Palm Trees and Hurricanes
As a former EE and looking at the mod pages Id reccomend the resistor mod. If SGI were to tell you how to mod the board most likely it would be this way. those are "option" resistors. By the pics you have to have 3 resistors left to right. in one position top to bottom it either puts 5V (3.3?) or ground on one of the PLL pins this is to set up the frequency. Those in the PC world think way back to setting up your 486 board for 25 or 33 with jumpers same thing just not easily user changable.
Now look at other CPU boards see if you can find a simmilar "field" of blank resistors.
Austin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:56 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Think Palm Trees and Hurricanes
The resistor mod worked great 180 to 200 <10 minutes. soldering iron warming up took longer than the change.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group