O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Fri May 13, 2005 10:50 pm

yup - but I'm not convinced that there would be a significant speed improvement on O2, as a lot of the speed degradation is I/O bound on O2... plus that 180 watt Sony power supply is a bit worrysome, and the fact that the innards run quite warm even with the 400 - warmer than Octane by quite a long shot.

I already popped an R12k-350 modded PM a while back while experimenting - and I think it was due to heat more than anything else.

(posted on a newly-minted R12k-400 O2)

User avatar
cryz
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 11:03 am
Location: Argentina
Contact:

o2 200 r5k

Unread postby cryz » Thu May 26, 2005 10:04 pm

what about overclocking an o2 r5k 200 mhz ?
Could i do something to change the clock freq. (maybe 250 or 300mhz).
Ideas?
Former: :O2: R10000 | :540: | :O2: 600Mhz | :O2: R5000
Plastic City is back!!! >>> http://www.plasticcity.de

TeeTylerToe
Posts: 913
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:56 pm

Unread postby TeeTylerToe » Tue Jul 19, 2005 6:14 pm

Dr. Dave wrote:yup - but I'm not convinced that there would be a significant speed improvement on O2, as a lot of the speed degradation is I/O bound on O2... plus that 180 watt Sony power supply is a bit worrysome, and the fact that the innards run quite warm even with the 400 - warmer than Octane by quite a long shot.

I already popped an R12k-350 modded PM a while back while experimenting - and I think it was due to heat more than anything else.

(posted on a newly-minted R12k-400 O2)

the 360 & 400 run at a lower vcore then the 250 & 300 I thought.

GIJoe
Posts: 820
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...

Unread postby GIJoe » Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:02 am

i have an o2 r12k 270 and a spare octane r12k-400 module. is it possible to put the 400 mhz chip into the o2 cpu module? what needs to be done?

didn't open any of the modules so far, just a thought.

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:28 am

Nope, the R12k chips over 300 MHz are ball grid array's, and are directly soldered to the board. The 300's and down are Land Grid Arrays and are socketed and thus can be swapped.

Satoru
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Unread postby Satoru » Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:42 am

I'm thinking about experimenting the Oct R12K300 trasplant on an O2 R10K250...
Likely I'll mount a larger (but slower) fan on the module.
I'll keep people update on how the experiment goes.

Marco/Sat

Satoru
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Unread postby Satoru » Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:22 am

First step completed: cpu swapped.
O2 boots and Hinv reports 250Mhz R12K
Next weekend I'll move the resistor to get 300Mhz

Marco/Sat

P.S: some thermal paste added

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:26 am

You'll probably be OK with stock cooling at 300 MHz

Satoru
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Unread postby Satoru » Mon Jan 16, 2006 2:51 am

BTW I extracted the R12K from an Octane module.
And the O2 reports a 250Mhz R12K.

I doubt if OC (350) is worth the risk of killing the CPU (300)
I've 640MB on the O2 and firefox likes to spend time on CPU (a lot in system/wait). Opinions?

Marco/Sat

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:50 am

Slow mobo to cache memory transfers, this is fairly normal for an O2.

hamei
Posts: 10101
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Unread postby hamei » Mon Jan 16, 2006 4:26 pm

Satoru wrote:BTW I extracted the R12K from an Octane module.
And the O2 reports a 250Mhz R12K.

That's strange - did mine a while back (simple, just swapped the chip and changed two resistors) and poof !

Code: Select all

Toastie 2% hinv
CPU: MIPS R12000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R12010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
1 300 MHZ IP32 Processor
Main memory size: 448 Mbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte on Processor 0
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes

Did you not get the resistor swap correct ? Seems to me it reported a 300mhz chip even with the 250 mhz chip installed if you changed the resistors. Not for long, tho - crashed pretty quickly :-(

AvidReader
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: USA, Colorado

Unread postby AvidReader » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:21 pm

Joe-

I really appreciate all the hard work you have put into your SGI development and then sharing it in the forums. I'd damn near pay for you to have your own web site so I wouldn't have to dig through the forums to get the incredible information you share. Maybe Nekochan would consider giving you a page on their site. Maybe "joe's corner" or something....

Anyway, Thanks.

Satoru
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Unread postby Satoru » Mon Jan 23, 2006 5:52 am

At first run I only swapped CPU, in hte near future I'll move resistors.
Hence it's perfecly fine that reports 250Mhz.

Marco/Sat

User avatar
konon007
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:52 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Unread postby konon007 » Tue Nov 14, 2006 1:07 pm

Help!

The pictures for O2 R10k -> R12k 300MHz CPU mod were removed from chicago-joe website. Please, share the pictures of the CPU mod that you have or send it to my email - mailto:konon@yandex.ru.

Regards,
Oleg
From Russia with love....

User avatar
chicago-joe
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 9:01 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Unread postby chicago-joe » Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:28 pm

konon007 wrote:
The pictures for O2 R10k -> R12k 300MHz CPU mod were removed from chicago-joe website.


I checked my server and the files are MIA. RCN (my POS host company) tells me they upgraded some of their HW and they have seen some "lost data problems". :roll:

I have a backup of all the pictures on a HD but I moved in early September and some of my computers are still in storage and I am getting them home and up and running as time allows. I don't know which O2 (or Octane) the files are on, but as soon as I find them I will replace them on my server with the same links.

Sorry for the inconvenience,

Joe


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests