Prism workstation is out!

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Tech^salvager
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Leesburg, GA
Contact:

Unread postby Tech^salvager » Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:28 pm

Antnee wrote:Yeah, MS dropped support for IA64 XP some time ago. TBH, I thought they'd dropped 2003 too. I can't imagine many people paying for Itanium2 and then installing something as unreliable as Windows on it!

My real question though, is how easy is it to port existing software from other IA64 systems to Prism? Just because it has the same CPU, doesn't mean it can run the same OS. Look back at the old Motorola 68000. I never saw an Atari ST running Mac OS! ;)

well I dunno about xp but longhorn will support ia64. MS stated it abit back.
I dunno about you but windows is reliable when I use it. I've haven't had any problems running XP or 2k, now 98, 95 was different.

User avatar
R-ten-K
Posts: 1856
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Nor Cal

Unread postby R-ten-K » Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:22 pm

Antnee wrote:Look back at the old Motorola 68000. I never saw an Atari ST running Mac OS! ;)


Evidently you did not look hard enough, there were packages like magic sac which allowed an ST to run MacOS. You needed the original apple ROMS though to make it legal though...

User avatar
Cory5412
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Unread postby Cory5412 » Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:05 pm

R-ten-K wrote:
Antnee wrote:Look back at the old Motorola 68000. I never saw an Atari ST running Mac OS! ;)


Evidently you did not look hard enough, there were packages like magic sac which allowed an ST to run MacOS. You needed the original apple ROMS though to make it legal though...


Well, all we need is for somebody to port vmware or something like that, and you'll be able to run Windows 2003 at fairly decent speeds, compared to a 'real' windows machine. If you so-desire ;)
I [heart] the Performer Town Demo

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:47 pm

Couple of thoughts...

The box looks quite baddass, but that's what you expect from SGI.

Dual Itaniums on the desktop sounds pretty cool, but I'd like to see some real bandwidth numbers on the various subsystems to see if the engineers at SGI are earning their T-shirts. This may actually be the case.

The next thought is that if they've designed things right, and if they can run the 'same' software across the whole Prism line, then that's pretty cool. To think that up until 6.5.22 if you ordered a base install set for your Indigo and your buddy ordered a base install set for his 128 processor Origin, that you both got the same box of disks was pretty cool. And you could basically run the same software on both (barring MIPS3/MIPS4 issues).

And at that point, basic compatibility across the entire line makes the $8500 base price pretty palateable, particularly if you use the 'big' iron to run the analysis, and the desksides to build the apps and fine tune them.

And if one showed up at my door tomorrow, I'd use it :D

User avatar
R-ten-K
Posts: 1856
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Nor Cal

Unread postby R-ten-K » Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:12 am

Dr. Dave wrote:And at that point, basic compatibility across the entire line makes the $8500 base price pretty palateable, particularly if you use the 'big' iron to run the analysis, and the desksides to build the apps and fine tune them.


Except that SGI uses plain vanilla Intel compilers, so you could actually just use a Xeon machine and use the ICC and do a cross compile, and no need to waste money in a 8.5K developmnet doorstop really. In fact you could just get an Opteron from SUN, run Linux in it... do crosscompiles using ICC, and run it in your Altix if you feel evil enough...

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2062
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Voorburg, The Netherlands
Contact:

Unread postby dexter1 » Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:46 am

For the Itanium the intel compiler is called 'ecc' :)

But yeah, it's standard Intel compiler env. Be it with a few advance patches, which regular Intel compiler customers get with later builds.

User avatar
Intel-OUTSIDE
Posts: 1092
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:45 am
Location: EU

Unread postby Intel-OUTSIDE » Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:05 am

well i still say the deskside looks like a speakerbox.

and another thing: see my name? well i think that says it all :!: :twisted:

and i see today sgi got a contract from the DOD, i hope they insist on payment in gold or atleast upfront cash. ;)

assyrix
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:49 am

Unread postby assyrix » Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:38 am

Laptop DVD drive, AGP cards despite having PCI-X slots and SATA disks. All for $8,500. No, but really. At least the case looks the business. Can't wait for the Printsm - HP laserjet in a Prism shell.

shrek
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2003 1:32 pm
Location: Vleuten, The Netherlands
Contact:

Unread postby shrek » Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:18 am

assyrix wrote:AGP cards despite having PCI-X slots


PCI-X != PCI-Express (PCI-E)

PCI-X is a 64-bit 66/100/133-MHz PCI bus used for highend SCSI controllers, Gigabit, uncompressed HD video etc.

User avatar
MattPayne
Posts: 504
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:27 am
Location: sunny ol' england!

Unread postby MattPayne » Wed Apr 27, 2005 8:18 am

I might be missing something with this... but...

it looks ok...

but reading the (limited) specs that SGI have on the site, it doesnt look like anything more than a fairly ok itainium linux box... nothing amazin, hell, nothing even remotely exciting... 2 ordinary Fire cards...??? 256mb being an option?! AGP??? somewhere i expect there is some decent bandwith for something...

the only use for the entry level machines i see, is if you have a multi processor beast, and are a tart... needing matching boxen for pretty press shots... :)

User avatar
Antnee
Posts: 554
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:26 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Contact:

Unread postby Antnee » Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:41 pm

Ian Mapleson has told me today that Cordnet are saying the price in the UK will be about £4200.

Oh, and PCI-X and PCI-Express are completely different beasts Shrek. Check this: http://www.pcisig.com/specifications

Oh, and it's not bad. PCI-X is backwards compatible and runs to 533MHz
Image

unixmuseum
Posts: 2783
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:25 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Unread postby unixmuseum » Wed Apr 27, 2005 2:47 pm

Antnee wrote:Ian Mapleson has told me today that Cordnet are saying the price in the UK will be about £4200.

Which makes it $8,000, quite a scoop there Mr Mapleson :lol:

User avatar
Antnee
Posts: 554
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:26 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Contact:

Unread postby Antnee » Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:34 pm

Here's what he said in his email:

Ian Mapleson wrote:Btw, Cordnet confirmed that the UK list price of the new Prism would be about 4200

I hope he doesn't mind me quoting him now! :lol:
Image

User avatar
chicago-joe
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 9:01 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Unread postby chicago-joe » Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:36 pm

I'm not making a judgement on Itanium2 one way or the other, but, what value is SGI offering me to buy an Itanium workstation from them?
I can get this machine http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 76693&rd=1
and add an ATI Fire graphics card or two, an inexpensive sound card and SUSE or Red Hat and still be a third or half the price of SGI. There doesn't seem to be any shortage of cast off, used and new overstock Itanium computers at eBay at very reasonable prices, that better be one hell of a nice computer case for $4000. :roll:

Joe

User avatar
themacosxflies
Posts: 943
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:53 am
Location: great empire in the distant past
Contact:

Unread postby themacosxflies » Thu Apr 28, 2005 1:39 am

unixmuseum wrote:
Antnee wrote:Ian Mapleson has told me today that Cordnet are saying the price in the UK will be about £4200.

Which makes it $8,000, quite a scoop there Mr Mapleson :lol:


hehe, ask to Apple users here in Europe about the price Apple has in the States and then the price you get here, being able to get the Prism the same real price here and in the States is way cool.

Let´s see how much one must pay to get the new 2.7 Dual G5

USA -> $2999
EU -> $3720

same thing to get the freaking huge 30 inches Apple Display

USA -> $2999
EU -> $3914

so getting the dream configuration here is $1636 more expensive that there in the USA, that is not funny! :cry:
We are here on Earth to do good to others. What the others are here for, I don't know.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests