Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 162 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 6:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 258
http://www.sgi.com

What do you think?

$8500 :?

Why is this better than HP zx6000 which costs MUCH less?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 6:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 3:58 am
Posts: 49
Location: Liverpool, UK
To be fair, as 'big, roughly cubic' boxes go, it looks pretty fucking sweet!

Although it does seem a little late to be advertising that the system has USB 2, AGP 8x and a DVD-rom as standard.

_________________
Even the reverse side has a reverse side - Japanese Proverb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 7:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Arizona
Looks good so far. For $8500, I'm going to be looking closely at what it's got under the hood, because If it can run more generic Linux stuff, it may be worth looking into a bit farther on down the line as a general purpose Linux box, or for some other stuff.

So far I like the photos that they've got of it, but i can't wait until I see higher resolution pictures and non-stock-from-sgi photos.

Also... I wonder if it "actually supports" the USB2 ports that it's got! :D

_________________
I [heart] the Performer Town Demo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 7:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 3:25 pm
Posts: 2783
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Image

Only dual CPU capable? WHY????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 7:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Nor Cal
That picture is of the larger visualization system, not the workstation BTW.

So the item in that picture can actually go higher than dual processors :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:56 pm
Posts: 913
the 17U looking thing that's more reminiscent (size wise) of the more traditional SGI "deskside" looks like it can handle 8-16 ia64's (wonder what happens when intel makes DC (UP [uni-{package, core}]) ia64's, 4-8 graphic pipes, and up to 192 GB of RAM
here's the brocure for desk-cube model
http://www.sgi.com/pdfs/3800.pdf
1-2 procs 1.3-1.6 GHz 3MB L3 (ia64-2's come with 3, 4, 6, & 9 MB L3)
internal SATA, a dvd-rom, 5 usba-2 ports (device support should be good as it's linux)

as for software, the paper specifically lists gnome, kde, and openoffice... sorry, I just have to roll my eyes, as... well, it's about as little as they could offer. what does this offer that sgi's competitors can't offer... a dynamic MIPS binary translator, and probably NUMALink that's disabled... good, I suppose if you're a big SGI shop with a large SGI altix multi-node supercomputer...

*edit* oh, it has two 8x AGP slots so you can have two 32 bit per component ATI workstation cards... although you're limited to 256MB it looks like, because graphics card makers have brought to the public a gaming 512MB card that is totally and utterly pointless, but they haven't brought out, to my knowledge, a 512MB workstation card. I'm not a cad/cam guy, or a 3d modeler or anything, but I'd think that they did that the wrong way around.

*edit 2* and in other news, HP's discontinued it's zx6000... as one ia64 star burns out, another starts to shine... or something


Last edited by TeeTylerToe on Mon Apr 25, 2005 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 3:25 pm
Posts: 2783
Location: Los Angeles, CA
R-ten-K wrote:
That picture is of the larger visualization system, not the workstation BTW.

Yes it is... Someone is actually paying attention... :lol: About that, happy now?

Image

R-ten-K wrote:
So the item in that picture can actually go higher than dual processors :)
Right... The deskside isn't though, even if I had a picture of my grandmother in there :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:36 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Nor Cal
That thing is hughe! For only 2 processors and 2 HDD's

Also am I missing something, or there is no sound HW?

As per the software, SGI claims that it comes with Linux ProPack. Whatever that means....

And lastly, why Gnome? Why don;t they just port 4DWM, and with the Irix library translator it would be a nice transition system for current Irix users. But maybe that would just make sense, and SGI can not have that.

My take is that they went a tad overboard, maybe a smaller system with fewer slots... cheaper. The sub $4K entry price would have opened a lot of doors, as in a single Itanium config/Single gfx board. Oh, well...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 12:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 939
Location: great empire in the distant past
time to update the Image Library!

_________________
We are here on Earth to do good to others. What the others are here for, I don't know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:26 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Well, I like it. I just spotted it in a Prism PDF, I found this image:

Image
Didn't have any other info then. Dammit, and I actually thought I was the first! ;)

It would appear that my damn SmoothWall was caching http://www.sgi.com/products/workstations/ so I didn't see it when I went on, although I noticed this bit:

Image
Deskside? The PDF says Deskside too, which is confusing, it certainly doesn't look like a deskside to me

EEP! SATA HDDs and IDE DVD drive, a slimline LAPTOP drive at that. [shudders] What's that all about?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 5:49 am
Posts: 495
Location: NRW, Germany
unixmuseum wrote:
Yes it is... Someone is actually paying attention... :lol: About that, happy now?

Image


ok, the first two shots reveal that its indeed exactly the same chassis as the tezro tower, just with different plastics around it - as predicted :-) So instead of Origin 350 nodeboard there is an Altix 350 nodeboard installed and the I/O midplane was replace with a different one (with AGP instad of XIO, six instead of seven PCI-X slots - the spec sheet doesn't say on how many buses those PCI-X slots are though. That info would have been interesting to complete the tezro comparison..)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:26 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
I've noticed that there seems to be a lot of blanks at the moment, but that might be because the official unveiling isn't until later today. Maybe we'll get more info then?

I figured $8,500 to be £4,462 for anyone in the UK thinking about one... If only! Wonder how long it'll be before it hits the remanufactured route? ;)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:54 am
Posts: 258
Quote:
HP's discontinued it's zx6000


HP did not discontinue zx6000. It's at their website, together with entry level price, warranty and specifications:

http://www.hp.com/united-states/renew/zx6000.html

Entry level configuration for zx6000 is $1999, for SGI Prism is $8500. I assume by entry level it means one cpu, minimal RAM and gfx. Entry level for zx6000 specifications differ from Prism only maby in gfx,..

*HOWEVER*..

..even if you DOUBLE the price for zx6000 and then maby get even dual Itanium2 or highest quality gfx, it STILL costs around twice less than Prism and I don't have to mention that zx6000 can have HP-UX, a true UNIX, and Prism, double the cost, ..eerr ..Gnome! 'nuff said! Make the choice yourself..!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 3:26 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
zx6000 uses SCSI and can take the 6MB cache Itanium2 too whereas Prism workstation only takes the 3MB cache models, as well as having SATA and PATA, not SCSI.

zx6000 does use the older FireGL though. Oh, and I quite like Gnome!

Lastly, the link you gave to the zx6000 is in the "renew" area. Renew = Remanufactured = Second Hand

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:16 am
Posts: 779
Location: Bláth Cliath, Éire
unixmuseum wrote:

Only dual CPU capable? WHY????


Given the heat output of Itaniums that shouldn't be too surprising ;) no doubt it was also cheaper for them to develop as they didn't have to do too much in way of chipset design. Still the next version of Itanium is dual core and is pin compatible with those, so within 9months or so ye be able to upgrade your 2CPU Prism workstation 4CPU (2 x dual core)

_________________
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 162 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group