O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
NeZetiC
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby NeZetiC » Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:46 am

I totally forgot to say here on nekochan that I've written an article on my website for french speaking people. I make a big summary about O2 overclocking process. If this can help someone.

http://www.nezetic.info/index.php?id=38
Last edited by NeZetiC on Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fuel R14K600 V12 - Octane 2 R12K400 V8 - O2 RM7K600 AV
O2 R12K300 - I2 195 MI/Tram - Indigo R4K100 XS24Z - Indy R4K133 XL24
www.nezetic.net

User avatar
radrob
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby radrob » Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:22 am

how modify the CM for upgrade r10k250 to r12k300?
anyone can pooint me the pictures?
Coffee for the mind, pizza for the body, sushi for the soul

:O2+: r7k350 :O2: r7k600 :O2: r12k400 sw1600 :Octane2: 2x400 v10

User avatar
NeZetiC
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby NeZetiC » Mon Apr 07, 2008 12:23 am

I've posted on this topic all informations & pictures to be able to mod an O2 CM from R10K250 to R12K300, just one page backward.
Fuel R14K600 V12 - Octane 2 R12K400 V8 - O2 RM7K600 AV
O2 R12K300 - I2 195 MI/Tram - Indigo R4K100 XS24Z - Indy R4K133 XL24
www.nezetic.net

User avatar
radrob
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby radrob » Mon Apr 07, 2008 12:29 am

NeZetiC wrote:I've posted on this topic all informations & pictures to be able to mod an O2 CM from R10K250 to R12K300, just one page backward.

thx i've not yet read correctly your page
.. my french it's a bit rusty

thx for all
Coffee for the mind, pizza for the body, sushi for the soul

:O2+: r7k350 :O2: r7k600 :O2: r12k400 sw1600 :Octane2: 2x400 v10

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:32 am

I tried doing the first stage of this mod to a 225 CPU yesterday (just swapping the core for a 300), but it didn't work (red light).
Any gotchas I might have missed? Put the 225 core back, still a red light. Rats...

I have a 250 I can try, but don't want to until I have some idea of where I went wrong. Note that I checked with a 2nd 300 core,
same result.

I had an antistatic strap attached, etc.

Thanks!

Ian.

User avatar
radrob
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby radrob » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:18 am

i've done that last year.. w/o problems
just a bit tricky soldering ..with a big common iron solder

can you get us more details?
Coffee for the mind, pizza for the body, sushi for the soul

:O2+: r7k350 :O2: r7k600 :O2: r12k400 sw1600 :Octane2: 2x400 v10

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:23 am

I didn't do any soldering. I mean I just did the first stage only, ie. swapping the CPU core, which should result
(am I right?) in an R12K/225, but it didn't work, just gave a red light. Tried a second core from an Octane/300
CPU, same result.

Putting the R10K core back in, still a red light. Worked ok before the swap attempt. Something gone fubar...

I can't think of any other details that would be relevant.

Ian.

User avatar
radrob
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby radrob » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:27 am

i swapped an r12k 300 from octane cpumodule to o2 r10k 250 one
just unscrew swap and screw in again
at the first stage i got r12k 250 working
after second stage it bumped to 300

..maybe some bad contact between cpu and board? ..inspected contacts?
..tried the r12k back again in the original module?
..some problem on cpumodule socket? tried a bare r5k on it?
Coffee for the mind, pizza for the body, sushi for the soul

:O2+: r7k350 :O2: r7k600 :O2: r12k400 sw1600 :Octane2: 2x400 v10

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:59 am

radrob wrotes:
> i swapped an r12k 300 from octane cpumodule to o2 r10k 250 one just unscrew swap and screw in again

That's what I did; messed up somewhere...


> ..maybe some bad contact between cpu and board? ..inspected contacts?

Inspected, nothing visible.


> ..tried the r12k back again in the original module?

Of the 2 Octane modules I tried, with the cores back in again, one works, the other does not.


> ..some problem on cpumodule socket? tried a bare r5k on it?

(R5K? It's an R10K machine)

A separate R10K/225 module works fine.

The one I tried to mod has it's original 225 core back in, but it doesn't work now.

Ian.

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:03 am

mapesdhs wrote:I didn't do any soldering. I mean I just did the first stage only, ie. swapping the CPU core, which should result
(am I right?) in an R12K/225, but it didn't work, just gave a red light. Tried a second core from an Octane/300
CPU, same result.

Putting the R10K core back in, still a red light. Worked ok before the swap attempt. Something gone fubar...

I can't think of any other details that would be relevant.

Ian.


Ahh, the red light. Unless the PM is baffed itself, check the compression pins in the connector socket. It's not so much that the pins work loose or misalign, but its fairly easy to gunk up one of the contact surfaces, or have a miscellaneous bit fall into the socket and cause contact problems. The R12k-300 should have worked fine, as should the original R10k-225, they have the same voltage requirements.
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 23, 2009 11:50 am

Pulled the module apart just now, cleaned, etc. Still a red light. Ah well.

If I have more than one 250 module then I'll try one of the 250s next. Wierd though.

Ian.

User avatar
radrob
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby radrob » Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:33 pm

strange thing

seems to be something wrong on the cpu module itself
but i can't mind what...

fingers crossed for the 250 one..

p.s.
despite the r5k - r10k machine class identification
you can swap cpu and cpu socket from each others
like try an r10k on r5k mobo and vice versa..
Coffee for the mind, pizza for the body, sushi for the soul

:O2+: r7k350 :O2: r7k600 :O2: r12k400 sw1600 :Octane2: 2x400 v10

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:13 pm

Yes, I know they're compatible; I've often replaced a bad mbd in an R10K machine with one removed from an R5K unit.

I need to check how many 250 modules I have. I'm not going to bother if I only have one of them.

Ian.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Mar 24, 2009 6:27 am

Btw, has anyone modded an R10K/195 module? I gather from Joe's original posts that it needs some extra work; is it
worth bothering with? Or too much hassle?

Ian.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:00 am

Does anyone have a copy of NeZetiC's images/article? Looks like his domain is gone byebye.

Ian.
(07/Mar/2015) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests