Mac G4 upgrade

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

Mac G4 upgrade

Unread postby semi-fly » Thu Mar 13, 2003 7:34 am

Hello all,
I've recently obtained a blue and grey G4 with a PPC 350 CPU with AGP. I would like to upgrade the processor and maybe the video adapter, but I'm not sure where to start. I've checked up on theses sites:
http://www.fastercpu.com/
http://www.powerlogix.com/
http://www.sonnettech.com/
Anyone here have experience upgrading G3/G3 Mac systems? Any help or suggestions would be great.
Thx!

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Thu Mar 13, 2003 2:02 pm

I'm in the same boat...

I just got a beige G3 266, and I am in the middle of doing a few things to tune it up a bit more. I have a USB card, a 10/100 NIC, and PCI Radeon 7000 that I plan on testing out in it. I have heard rumors about flashing the PCI radeons with a MAC rom and getting them to work. I'm gonna be doing more research on it. I'll keep you posted on the progress I have.

User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

Unread postby semi-fly » Thu Mar 13, 2003 2:14 pm

That would be great! I've done some reasearch and I'm planning on purchasing one of these: http://www.sonnettech.com/product/encore_stg4.html
Probably the 800mhz verson, as everything I've read so far says that it'll work fine with a G4. The system already has an 32meg ATI-somthing graphics adapter, so a CPU upgrade is all I need!

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Thu Mar 20, 2003 4:10 pm

Well, there has been some progress with my attempts at "Upgrading" this beige PMG3 I have...

I managed to get Jag installed after many long hours of troubleshooting and finding the source of woes was a failing CDROM. It was causing the bus to hangup and fail and would actually work one out of 20 times. After replacing the CDROM it went fairly smooth, slow but smooth.

I found some info on xlr8yourmac.com for drive compatibilty.

I found a few other things that I'll post here later when I get a chance and am at home.

User avatar
semi-fly
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:29 am
Location: Ypsitucky, MI
Contact:

Unread postby semi-fly » Fri Mar 21, 2003 5:13 am

How does Jag run on the B/W G3? Are you using Shadow Killer?

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Sat Mar 22, 2003 12:30 pm

Actually I have funny looking beige desktop G3...

It runs kinda sluggishly, but far better than I expected it to on 266 :D

I have done some digging and it looks like there are a few NICs that are supported by OSX, but hey all seem to have one of the two supported chips. All the ones I have seen have the realtek or the ADMTek chips. As far as I know the Linsys, D-link, and a few others are based on the ADMTek chip and there RealTek chips are very easily recognizable.

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:17 pm

I did find this on the netgear site...

Is there a MAC driver for the FA310/311/312

It looks like they don't plan on supporting anything else...

What is funny about this FAQ is they call them NIC cards! :D

"Yes, I needs me some Network Interface Card Cards..."

:lol:

User avatar
Onyx_RE2
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 4:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Unread postby Onyx_RE2 » Sat Mar 29, 2003 8:26 pm

One of my Macs is a Beige G3 desktop (G3 233 w/384Mb ram, 4gb disk). Jaguar ran pretty slow (like molasses or honey flowing on a cold winter day). My old 9600 upgraded with a Power Logix G3 400 runs much much smoother (even with the slower ram and HD).
I have since upgraded the beige G3 to 10.2 Server and am using it as a web server. 10.2 Server runs fine on the box. I'm now going to order a G4 450 (will run at 466 on the beige G3) from OWC and maybe get a larger HD.


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest