Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 12:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
Hello,
I got myself an Onyx. I was told the battery was bad and I had to go into prom and set time and date to get it to boot.
So I set it up with a VT100 emulator on the TTY1 port to get it up and running. However I only got this
Code:
IP19 PROM (BE) SGI Version 13  built 02:03:53 AM Aug 29, 1993
Checking system endianess...                    Big endian
Initializing hardware inventory...              ...done.
    CPU 02/00 is bootmaster
Testing and clearing bus tags...                ...passed.
Configuring memory...
    Using standard interleave algorithm.
Running built-in memory test... 01
                                                ...passed.
Writing cfginfo to memory
Initializing MPCONF blocks
Checking EAROM...                               ...passed.
Testing secondary cache...                      ...passed.
Checking processor diag results...
    Enabled 256 Megabytes of main memory
    Enabled 4 processors
Downloading PROM header information...
Jumping into IO4 PROM.

PROM Segment Loader (R4400 IP19) SGI Version 2.1 Rev A MIPS3,   Sep  3, 1996
Loading and executing R4400 boot prom image...

ERROR: Decompresed length (0x0007a572) != stored length (0x0007a5b0)
Decompression failed!
Segment load failed.  Can't execute image.

Everest PROM Segment Loader

 L) List segments
 P) POD mode
 R) Reset the machine
 S) Select a slot
 X) Load and execute a segment
How serious is this and how do I fix it?
It is maybe time to reseat all boards. The Onyx did travel a 'long' way in the back of my car so something might have come loose.

/Bjorn


Last edited by bjornl on Sun Oct 19, 2008 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
bjornl wrote:
Hello,
I got myself an Onyx. I was told the battery was bad and I had to go into prom and set time and date to get it to boot.
So I set it up with a VT100 emulator on the TTY1 port to get it up and running. However I only got this
Code:
IP19 PROM (BE) SGI Version 13  built 02:03:53 AM Aug 29, 1993
Checking system endianess...                    Big endian
Initializing hardware inventory...              ...done.
    CPU 02/00 is bootmaster
Testing and clearing bus tags...                ...passed.
Configuring memory...
    Using standard interleave algorithm.
Running built-in memory test... 01
                                                ...passed.
Writing cfginfo to memory
Initializing MPCONF blocks
Checking EAROM...                               ...passed.
Testing secondary cache...                      ...passed.
Checking processor diag results...
    Enabled 256 Megabytes of main memory
    Enabled 4 processors
Downloading PROM header information...
Jumping into IO4 PROM.

PROM Segment Loader (R4400 IP19) SGI Version 2.1 Rev A MIPS3,   Sep  3, 1996
Loading and executing R4400 boot prom image...

ERROR: Decompresed length (0x0007a572) != stored length (0x0007a5b0)
Decompression failed!
Segment load failed.  Can't execute image.

Everest PROM Segment Loader

 L) List segments
 P) POD mode
 R) Reset the machine
 S) Select a slot
 X) Load and execute a segment
How serious is this and how do I fix it?
It is maybe time to reseat all boards. The Onyx did travel a 'long' way in the back of my car so something might have come loose.

/Bjorn


Congrats to the Onyx Björn!

Well it not much you can do software wise as the boot strap is in the PROM code that cant be loaded.

The easiest thing would probably be to try it with another IP19 board.

_________________
Mein Führer, I can walk!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
deBug wrote:
Congrats to the Onyx Björn!

Thank you

deBug wrote:
Well it not much you can do software wise as the boot strap is in the PROM code that cant be loaded.

The easiest thing would probably be to try it with another IP19 board.

Not the reply I was hoping for but it might be the only solution. It is not a kind of spare card I have lying around :(

I've been doing some reading and as far as I understand there is one PROM for each CPU. I was thinking 'they can't all be bad' so maybe I could get it running by disabling/enabling CPUs until I found the bad one. If that is possible considering how far I got in the boot process.
I guess it will boot from CPU2 if i disable CPU1 ... or ...?

Do anyone know a better mirror for 'Crimson/Power Series/Onyx RealityEngine/RealityEngine2 Info' at http://www.gisparks.tas.gov.au/sgi/ than the http://www.archive.org? The archive haven't got all pictures.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3830
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
The problem of your Onyx might be with the IO4, not the CPU card.

As you said, it has one PROM/CPU, but it also has a PROM on the IO4. This is also true for older systems (PowerSeries) btw.

In the log, it seems to pass the CPU diagnostics succesfully, and the bad things happen after it says "Jumping into IO4 PROM."

I think the IO4 is flashed when you upgrade the OS. But I'm afraid you'd need a working system capable of holding multiple IO4's (deskside Challenge, rack Challenge / Onyx) to do it.

Did you check out the "Challeng / Onyx diagnostics roadmap on Ian Mapleson's site?
I think step two in this diagram is where yours goes wrong:
Attachment:
404.gif
404.gif [ 26.96 KiB | Viewed 651 times ]

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 344
Location: AZ, hot like Crematoria
I haven't seen this error message either but I recall some odd ones when I when from an R10K setup Challenge L to an R4400 setup..

_________________
thegoldbug
:ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :OnyxR: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :320: :320: :320: :320: :Indy: x5 :Indy: x2 :1600SW: x5 :Indigo: x7
Vault L, 6-1200s, Fibre Hub, Dials, Boards, spares, 3 Sun Blade 2000s, Sun Fire V480, 2-Hero 2000 Robots, 5-Hero 1 Robots


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
How is the IO4 PROM connected? could it be pulled and programmed out of circuit?

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
jan-jaap wrote:
The problem of your Onyx might be with the IO4, not the CPU card.

As you said, it has one PROM/CPU, but it also has a PROM on the IO4. This is also true for older systems (PowerSeries) btw.

In the log, it seems to pass the CPU diagnostics succesfully, and the bad things happen after it says "Jumping into IO4 PROM."

I think the IO4 is flashed when you upgrade the OS. But I'm afraid you'd need a working system capable of holding multiple IO4's (deskside Challenge, rack Challenge / Onyx) to do it.

Did you check out the "Challeng / Onyx diagnostics roadmap on Ian Mapleson's site?
I think step two in this diagram is where yours goes wrong:

You have a point there. To bad the IO4 is as rare as the IP19, which make them expensive.
The problem is that I have not tried to upgrade the OS, so there have been no flashing on my part. The Onyx still has it's original IRIX6.2.

One way to go would be, finding a rack, insert my IO4 into it and use flash command to restore the PROM to a correct state.
Do you think a 'initalllogs', 'clearalllogs' in the POD could help?

I have taken a look at Ian's roadmap to try and see what could be wrong, but your guess is probably better than mine :-)

/Bjorn


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
SAQ wrote:
How is the IO4 PROM connected? could it be pulled and programmed out of circuit?

That is a very interesting thought.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
Depending on how hard toodling over to the southern bit of northern Europe is, Jan-Jaap probably could help you with it somehow.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3830
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
SAQ wrote:
Depending on how hard toodling over to the southern bit of northern Europe is, Jan-Jaap probably could help you with it somehow.

Well, the flash software and firmware is indeed on the CDROM (IRIX 6.2, disc1, /firmware), but it's an ELF executable, so I assume it has to be run from IRIX. You need a functional IO4 to boot the system into IRIX.

So, what you need is someone with a system that can hold more than one IO4, like a rack or a deskside challenge. Install the misbehaving IO4 as a secondary, and see if you can flash it back to life. That's assuming this IO4 'magically' corrupted it's PROM and isn't just really broken in one way or the other.

All I have is a deskside Onyx, and those take only a single IO4.

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
Any idea what can cause this magically corrupted PROM?
Could some static charge have found it's way from outside the chassi into the PROM?

Now I have removed and reinserted IP19 and IO4, just to see if it helped. It didn't, surprise ... NOT.

I tried also L) List segments, and got a list of PROM images.
Then I tried X) Load and execute a segment. First with the appropriate R4400 image, it failed of course.
The other images (R8000 and R10000) failed with the same error message 'ERROR: Decompresed length (0x0007a572) != stored length (0x0007a5b0)' (but different sizes). How can all images lengths be wrong?? I rather exptected some kind of 'Wrong cpu type' message.

I have heard of a university here, that should have an Onyx rack. If they still have it, are willing to help me (risking their own machine), and there is a guru that can do it, it is worth a shot. A real longshot :?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
Well, no luck in the Onyx rack department apart from they want me to visit and remove it from their storage ;-)

Back to the deskside ...
Can anyone tell me where this PROM chip is physically? Is it socketed for easy removal (and replacement)?
There is a nice picture at the SGIstuff homepage
http://storage.g-lenerz.de/images/sgist ... 4+scip.jpg

I haven't tried this yet, but could a 'zap' help? http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/ ... ampwd.html
There is some interesting VR software in the machine and I'm afraid I'll make it useless.
On the other hand, the entire machine is useless right now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 2:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
bjornl wrote:
Well, no luck in the Onyx rack department apart from they want me to visit and remove it from their storage ;-)

Back to the deskside ...
Can anyone tell me where this PROM chip is physically? Is it socketed for easy removal (and replacement)?
There is a nice picture at the SGIstuff homepage
http://storage.g-lenerz.de/images/sgist ... 4+scip.jpg

I haven't tried this yet, but could a 'zap' help? http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/ ... ampwd.html
There is some interesting VR software in the machine and I'm afraid I'll make it useless.
On the other hand, the entire machine is useless right now.

They can not be seen in your photo as they are covered by the two SCSI Mezaine boards.

_________________
Mein Führer, I can walk!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 3:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 316
Location: Sweden
I tried the 'zap' command in POd mode but all I got was this
Code:
NVRAM inventory is already invalid
Does anyone know how to interpret that?

Quote:
bjornl wrote:
Can anyone tell me where this PROM chip is physically? Is it socketed for easy removal (and replacement)?
There is a nice picture at the SGIstuff homepage
http://storage.g-lenerz.de/images/sgist ... 4+scip.jpg
Quote:
They can not be seen in your photo as they are covered by the two SCSI Mezaine boards.
OK. I haven't got a better picture but I have checked the IO4 and there are a lot of chips with partnumbers beginning with 070-. Could it be one of these?
Nothing shows up when I Google these numbers.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
bjornl wrote:
I tried the 'zap' command in POd mode but all I got was this
Code:
NVRAM inventory is already invalid
Does anyone know how to interpret that?

Quote:
bjornl wrote:
Can anyone tell me where this PROM chip is physically? Is it socketed for easy removal (and replacement)?
There is a nice picture at the SGIstuff homepage
http://storage.g-lenerz.de/images/sgist ... 4+scip.jpg
Quote:
They can not be seen in your photo as they are covered by the two SCSI Mezaine boards.
OK. I haven't got a better picture but I have checked the IO4 and there are a lot of chips with partnumbers beginning with 070-. Could it be one of these?
Nothing shows up when I Google these numbers.


I don't know witch one is the prom memory but you should be able to figure it out by looking at the circuit numbers and google them and find out witch one is a prom circuit.

_________________
Mein Führer, I can walk!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group