Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: NZ
dragon_cb_cz wrote:
right now I'm trying to run it on my 76i with no success so far :(


Yes, yes! I could install on IDE but had to boot from floppy, so I added a SCSI controller, it installed but could not boot from SCSI unless the drive was < 1023Mb, so now I have 500Mb drive and it boots fine.

Problem now is it's never going to work with the 3Com MCA EtherLink III card I have, so networking will have to be SLIP. :shock:

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
porter wrote:
dragon_cb_cz wrote:
right now I'm trying to run it on my 76i with no success so far :(


Yes, yes! I could install on IDE but had to boot from floppy, so I added a SCSI controller, it installed but could not boot from SCSI unless the drive was < 1023Mb, so now I have 500Mb drive and it boots fine.

Problem now is it's never going to work with the 3Com MCA EtherLink III card I have, so networking will have to be SLIP. :shock:


My 76i came with a SCSI controller and 280MB drive, they work just fine for installation but when trying to boot from harddrive after installation, the kernel panics with some strange message, which I can't remember now (I'm 160 kms away from that machine right now). I used PTF0024 boot and install floppies, which makes me wonder - the default kernel installed comes from the boot floppies or from BOS disk set? If from BOS, this could be the problem...

As for the etherlink, have you seen this: http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ohlandl/AIX ... _NICs.html ? I think it should work, but I haven't tried myself (I don't have the card, but I was thinking about getting one), could you test it and report your results? I could use tokenring instead of ethernet, but having another machine running as a TR<->Ethernet gateway would be kinda annoying.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: NZ
dragon_cb_cz wrote:
I used PTF0024 boot and install floppies


And it should rebuild the kernel on the harddisk.

dragon_cb_cz wrote:
As for the etherlink, have you seen this: http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ohlandl/AIX ... _NICs.html ?


Been there, done that, no go, I need an "IBM Ethernet Adapter/A".

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
porter wrote:
And it should rebuild the kernel on the harddisk.

?? What should rebuild the kernel on the hardisk? The installation program at the end of install process? Or do I have to boot from PTF0024 boot floppy and apply the PTF0024 to the installed system?

porter wrote:
dragon_cb_cz wrote:
As for the etherlink, have you seen this: http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ohlandl/AIX ... _NICs.html ?


Been there, done that, no go, I need an "IBM Ethernet Adapter/A".

Any specific reason to think only this card will work? Various other cards should work from what I've read. BTW is your card really EtherLink III MC (3c529) and not Etherlink/MC (3c523) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: NZ
dragon_cb_cz wrote:
Or do I have to boot from PTF0024 boot floppy and apply the PTF0024 to the installed system?


Yes you initially boot with PTF0024 boot, do the install, boot again from floppy, continue with the additional PTF0024 disks ( using installp? )

dragon_cb_cz wrote:
Any specific reason to think only this card will work?


yes, I've been all round the houses and blind alleys, it is an MCA Etherlink III.

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
I'll probably get one of those anyway, I was promised a couple of other MCA machines and one never has enough MCA ethernet cards :) I'll try my luck with WD 8003E/A too - AIX should support those. Was there ever report of somebody using the 3com cards succesfully?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
Mmmmm...
MCI and ESDI. :)

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/P1010201.jpg
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/P1010202.jpg
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/P1010203.jpg

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Nice, I will post my pictures as soon as I can find a decent camera :) Anyway, I have it working just fine on both 76i and 65sx, got SLIP working, WD8003E/A is on the way :) The only problem with the 65SX is that it has only 4MB RAM - anyone having those 4MB 80ns SIMMs it takes and willing to part with them?

Btw, I see you have reworked your DS1287 - I didn't feel like opening the chip, so I pointed my browser to the Maxim (owner of Dallas semiconductor) website and requested a free sample - and they were more than happy to send me four pieces for free, so you can try your luck or I could possibly donate one - the shipping won't cost much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: NZ
dragon_cb_cz wrote:
got SLIP working


Can you describe how you got SLIP working? Especially if you managed to configure it to start at bootup.

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Well, I "got it working" in the sense that AIX lets me login using a serial terminal on /dev/tty0 and then I do something like
Code:
sliplogin -c -b 38400 -h 192.168.2.2 -r 192.168.2.1 -n 255.255.255.0
. Then I detach from the terminal, and run
Code:
slattach -d -p cslip -s 38400 /dev/ttyS0
ifconfig sl0 192.168.2.1 dstaddr 192.168.2.2 netmask 255.255.255.0
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 192.168.2.0/24 -j SNAT --to-source my_public_ip
to start SLIP and configure the interface on the Linux side and get NAT working. The last thing, on the AIX box:
Code:
route add default 192.168.2.1 0
to add default gateway, thats all that is needed. I couldn't find slattach or something like that in AIX, so I didn't bother trying to setup AIX as a SLIP client - is that what you meant?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
Quote:
anyone having those 4MB 80ns SIMMs it takes and willing to part with them?

I might have a few left over (they also work really well in my laser printer) however I'm too busy right now to go and dig them out.
Yeah, the rework on the dallas chip was more of an experiment that worked. Too bad I can't find a bigger ESDI drive. You can't install everything on a 160Mb drive and hope to have lots of free space left over.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
BTW, I got myself 11 little beasts today - PS/2 Model 95 Server (9595). They're not in very good shape (they were stored in a wet garage :( ) so I'm not sure how much of them are actually working, but it looks like at least some of them might work, these would make a really nice AIX PS/2 machine! It will take some time to clean and test them, but I'll post my results here :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
You found some Model 95's?! :shock:
Oh man, I have been looking for one or two of those systems!
Well I guess at the very least you have mare than enough spare parts to make at least one very nice system.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
pentium wrote:
You found some Model 95's?! :shock:
Oh man, I have been looking for one or two of those systems!


Yeah, I've got 11 of them at the moment, and probably 3-6 more are still somewhere in that garage. I would more than gladly donate one or two, but those are really heavy beasts - I nearly broke my back during loading and unloading the car - I don't want to imagine how much would shipping anywhere outside Czech Republic cost.

Quote:
Well I guess at the very least you have mare than enough spare parts to make at least one very nice system.


I did a quick check today, out of the 9 machines I've got at home now, 5 appear to be functional, but none of them has a harddrive and only one has memory (I had to swap it between them to check them all). The other four don't power up at all - probably some problem with the PSU - I will check fuses later.

All of them have SCSI controllers and SuperVGA MCA cards, some of them have TokenRing cards, I even got one Ethernet card with them and four others are on their way (hopefully). What surprised me, they're not as noisy as I imagined them - in fact, they're more silent than my Model 65SX. I don't have much time to play with them right now (exam period at school), but I'll keep you informed how it goes. I really look forward to running AIX on these!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 4258
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oh, I envy you. ;)
You got some really nice systems to play with.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group