Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby pinball_0 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:18 am

I got my qube 3 ... without PSU

so I disassembled to pinout the power supply, however the units pcb is dense and multilayer.
I am unable to identify the supply lines.. I do know the grounds.

Known: the unit needs +5, +12, and -12 volts

unknown: which terminals on the 8 pin din connector is the 12, 5, and -12.


if someone here with a qube 3 could measure the pins it would be greatly appreciated.

SEARCHED the web for this NO INFO anywhere to be found.

why couldnt the manufacturer supplied this fundamental info in their user manuals


THANKS - IN - ADVANCE
Last edited by pinball_0 on Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC with toaster/flyer
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

User avatar
zahal
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby zahal » Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:41 pm

pinball_0 wrote:I got my qube 3 ... without PSU

so I disassembled to pinout the power supply, however the units pcb is dense and multilayer.
I am unable to identify the supply lines.. I do know the grounds.

Known: the unit needs +5, +12, and -12 volts

unknown: which terminals on the 8 pin din connector is the 12, 5, and -12.


pins 7,5,4 are connected to ground (chassis)

if someone here with a qube 3 could measure the pins it would be greatly appreciated.

SEARCHED the web for this NO INFO anywhere to be found.

why couldnt the manufacturer supplied this fundamental info in their user manuals


THANKS - IN - ADVANCE


The pinout is described in the power supply itself.
Attachments
Picture 2.png
Picture 2.png (98.9 KiB) Viewed 3363 times
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 550MHz PIII - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - DECstation5000/133 - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP 200LX

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5250
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby recondas » Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:30 pm

Using the model number in zahal's photo, google found a catalog listing and a datasheet at Mouser Electronics.
http://www.mouser.com/search/ProductDet ... -65U-301-R

Looks like a single unit is/was $52.43. They apparently don't stock the part any longer <"Mouser will no longer stock this product.">. Since they still list it perhaps there's at least a faint chance you *might* get lucky.

NOTE: Although specs in the datasheet and zahal's photo appear to be the same, the Mouser part does add a "-R" to the part number, so take a *close* look at the data sheet before you buy or build one.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby pinball_0 » Tue Jan 22, 2008 5:37 pm

thanks.. obviously the din numbering scheme I had was wrong too, though I see that the grounds I found are in the proper positions as per the label picture as well.

so the 5 volts is the 2 pins at 3' oclock and 9 oclock
the 12 volts is at 11 oclock
and -12 is center of dial

as viewed facing the rear of the unit

1 oclock,5 oclock and 7 oclock are all grounds

THANKS--- now to wire up a pc smps cube to the QUBE :)
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC with toaster/flyer
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby pinball_0 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:36 am

Thanks Zahal,

That was precisely what I needed.

putting the 5v at 9 and 3 oclock
12v at 11 oclock
-12v at center
and ground at 1 oclock fired it up.

Awesome .... I hot wired a ATX power supply for it and was so glad that NO MAGIC smoke appeared. I saw my display initiate and ALL was good. I must put a load on the powersupply though so it will power up before powering up the qube 3.

I have two so the power supply will get rigged for two units.

s
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC with toaster/flyer
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

User avatar
zahal
Posts: 812
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby zahal » Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:43 am

Nicely done!
Now ramp up the qube to a 550mhz k6-II+ and dump the ide drives for a 15k SCSI. :mrgreen:
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 550MHz PIII - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - DECstation5000/133 - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP 200LX

btetra
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby btetra » Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:14 am

Can the Qube 3 take standard SDRAM PC100 RAM or does it need something special? thx

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby pinball_0 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:53 pm

· How much and what type of RAM does my Qube3 use?

The Qube3 uses PC-100 SDRAM (3.3v, 168-pin, non-parity, unbuffered) with a maximum of 512Mb with two DIMM slots. RAM is cheap, get some today.



UPDATE: just had FUN getting the OS loaded up but hey... 6.4 is up and running.

and one spot I started all over... ;)

I transferred a video over to it and sent it back and it moves pretty well :)

TRYING to get phpBBS to work on it...anyone have success before with this??
if so help...
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC with toaster/flyer
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby pinball_0 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 1:43 pm

Yippi... I got it all figured out!

just put the web stuff under web in the home directly and there it goes, unfortunately I dont think the php version is high enough, so will futz with that later.

I even went scrounging yesterday and found a JVC/webtv/echostar combo unit that i gave 3 dollars for just to get the harddrive inside... was a 18Gig seagate (rubberized) cover that is like the factory harddrive.


Interestingly the webtv had a MIPS cpu in it.
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC with toaster/flyer
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

bviking
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby bviking » Fri Nov 05, 2010 6:30 pm

Sorry to dredge up such an old post - Just received a new power supply for my Qube 3 purchased from an ebay seller.

The model number quoted in the listing (and on the supply itself) is: PSA65U-301, which is the exact model number listed in the photo a few posts up. However, the power supply as received has a 4 pin mini-DIN connector and not the 8-pin connector required by the Qube. :(

No big deal, I suppose I can just cut off the connector and wire up a replacement using the pinouts helpfully provided upthread, but a little frustrating none the less.

A little more Googling today seems to indicate that PSA65U-301-R [note the "-R"] is the correct model number for the replacement power supply with the 8-pin DIN.

Hope this helps someone else.
:Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :O2000: :320: :PI:

aperezbios
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area Peninsula
Contact:

Re: Sun Cobalt Qube 3 power supply wiring

Unread postby aperezbios » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:15 pm

bviking wrote:Sorry to dredge up such an old post - Just received a new power supply for my Qube 3 purchased from an ebay seller.
*SNIP*
Hope this helps someone else.


It did, thanks! I picked up a Qube3 with no PSU and no drives for $8 at a local surplus shop, and just couldn't resist the urge to resuscitate it, which I successfully did thanks to information contained in these posts. Thanks!


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron