dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Video, software tools and techniques on SGI systems.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
scottE
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby scottE » Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:49 pm

So does, oddly, dmplay, mediarecorder and (less commonly) dmrecord, but dmconvert especially will do it, maybe 2 out of every 3 tries, right after {enter} is pressed on the keyboard. As a user. Even telnetted in. No other apps appear to affect the system in this way.

The result is usually a freeze; everything appears to be affected. Network, grx, and attached serial console. Basically, I've discovered this happens frequently to Sarcosuchus_imperator (Octane V8,2x360 R12k, 2GB,IMPCOM,IRIX 6.5.30). And how is this even possible?

I haven't the foggiest. But it happens a lot if I try to use this machine for any video work.

Running diagnostics isn't much help; everything reports back ay-okay. So I think this is a hideous software bug. Question is, how far back can I go and still retain maximum video functionality? 6.5.15m seems to be the gold standard. Can I even go back that far on this machine (V8 and all)?
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby squeen » Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:14 am

Wow. Never had an issue with dmconvert on my Octane. Is there a test file you want me to try?

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5323
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby recondas » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:14 am

I have a few video files I captured on Sarcosuchus_imperator in the same hardware configuration <also using an Octane Compression option for the video capture device>. I just ran dmconvert on one, a 10MB <compressed> sgimv file <this Octane is running 6.5.30 but does not have a comp option installed>:

Code: Select all

% dmconvert -v -d -f qt -p video movie1.mv movie1a.mov
-------- Scanning input ...
--------
File Name: movie1.mv
File Format: SGI movie (version 3)

             PLAYING_TIME: 00:00:52.920
                  BITRATE: 1.644 Mbps
                LOOP_MODE: Play Once
               LOOP_LIMIT: 0
                OPTIMIZED: 0

Video Track:
             TRACK_LENGTH: 1586
            DM_IMAGE_RATE: 29.970Hz
     DM_IMAGE_INTERLACING: Non-interlaced
          DM_IMAGE_LAYOUT: Full frame
     DM_IMAGE_ORIENTATION: Top-to-bottom
           DM_IMAGE_WIDTH: 640
          DM_IMAGE_HEIGHT: 486
     DM_IMAGE_COMPRESSION: JPEG
 DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_SPATIAL: 0.220000
DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_TEMPORAL: 0.750000
    DM_IMAGE_PIXEL_ASPECT: 1.0000 (square)
         DM_IMAGE_PACKING: YCbCr 4:2:2
--------
-------- Scanning input done.
-------- Converting to output ...
-------- Completed 100.0%.  Time 00:01:39 (elapsed) / 00:00:00 (remaining).
--------
File Name: movie1a.mov
File Format: QuickTime movie

             PLAYING_TIME: 00:00:53.453
                  BITRATE: 298.301 Mbps
                LOOP_MODE: Play Once
               LOOP_LIMIT: 0
                OPTIMIZED: 0

Video Track:
             TRACK_LENGTH: 1602
            DM_IMAGE_RATE: 29.970Hz
     DM_IMAGE_INTERLACING: Non-interlaced
          DM_IMAGE_LAYOUT: Full frame
     DM_IMAGE_ORIENTATION: Top-to-bottom
           DM_IMAGE_WIDTH: 640
          DM_IMAGE_HEIGHT: 486
     DM_IMAGE_COMPRESSION: Uncompressed Video
         DM_IMAGE_BITRATE: 298.300 Mbps
 DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_SPATIAL: 0.219727
DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_TEMPORAL: 0.750000
    DM_IMAGE_PIXEL_ASPECT: 1.0000 (square)
         DM_IMAGE_PACKING: 32-bit ARGB
--------
-------- Converting to output done.

The output file is a 1,900MB uncompressed quicktime movie.

Are there any specific file formats or command line options you'd like me to try?
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
scottE
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby scottE » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:15 am

Yes, this is utterly unique to me as well, and I've used Octanes for compressed video for years now, flawlessly (except for software issues, like 6.5.14m having broken libraries or something, necessitating going to 6.5.15). In fact, I prefer the Octane to the O2 for video.

Hm. Okay, here's what I think I typed (I was using nedit for cli notes and then middle mouse buttoning the command in place, but freezes apparently happened before syncing the filesystem or something since on restart, my notes file would be completely empty):

Code: Select all

dmconvert -f qt -p audio -p video,comp=qt_mjpega in.mv out.mov


I am recompressing the file, and did get it to work fine on one of my files, without any issue.

The in.mv file was a straight-up capture using dmrecord with 95% compression quality settings and audio, captured from 8mm analog tape via video switch with TBC with absolutely no dropped frames with high quality video (14m bitrate).

I'll be able to mess with it more when I get back to the office. Push comes to shove, I can pull the board and put it back into Pachyrhinosaurus (now that I've fixed dmedia's little red wagon), but I was curious to see how the board behaved in the new machine.

I do get one curious result:

dmconvert -f qt -p audio -p video,comp=qt_mjpega,engine=impact in.mv out.mov


generates a complaint, something to the affect of the compression hardware only works on video in resolution multiples of 16. I'm fairly certain I was only capturing 640x480, but I'll have to check the captured files when I get back...
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5323
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby recondas » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:46 am

I used the same command string on a 82MB sgimv file and it output a 57MB mov file w/o error <ran it with and without the addition of the -v and -d options with the same result>:

Code: Select all

% dmconvert -v -d -f qt -p audio -p video,comp=qt_mjpega movie5.mv out1.mov
-------- Scanning input ...
--------
File Name: movie5.mv
File Format: SGI movie (version 3)

             PLAYING_TIME: 00:00:41.108
                  BITRATE: 16.861 Mbps
                LOOP_MODE: Play Once
               LOOP_LIMIT: 0
                OPTIMIZED: 0

Audio Track:
             TRACK_LENGTH: 1809991
            DM_AUDIO_RATE: 44100.000Hz
        DM_AUDIO_CHANNELS: 2
          DM_AUDIO_FORMAT: Twos-complement
           DM_AUDIO_WIDTH: 16
      DM_AUDIO_BYTE_ORDER: Big Endian
     DM_AUDIO_COMPRESSION: Uncompressed Audio
         DM_AUDIO_BITRATE: 1.411 Mbps

Video Track:
             TRACK_LENGTH: 1232
            DM_IMAGE_RATE: 29.970Hz
     DM_IMAGE_INTERLACING: Non-interlaced
          DM_IMAGE_LAYOUT: Full frame
     DM_IMAGE_ORIENTATION: Top-to-bottom
           DM_IMAGE_WIDTH: 640
          DM_IMAGE_HEIGHT: 486
     DM_IMAGE_COMPRESSION: MVC2
 DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_SPATIAL: 0.660000
DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_TEMPORAL: 0.750000
    DM_IMAGE_PIXEL_ASPECT: 1.0000 (square)
         DM_IMAGE_PACKING: YCbCr 4:2:2
--------
-------- Scanning input done.
-------- Converting to output ...
-------- Completed 100.0%.  Time 00:03:41 (elapsed) / 00:00:00 (remaining).
--------
File Name: out1.mov
File Format: QuickTime movie

             PLAYING_TIME: 00:00:41.508
                  BITRATE: 11.564 Mbps
                LOOP_MODE: Play Once
               LOOP_LIMIT: 0
                OPTIMIZED: 0

Audio Track:
             TRACK_LENGTH: 1812852
            DM_AUDIO_RATE: 44100.000Hz
        DM_AUDIO_CHANNELS: 2
          DM_AUDIO_FORMAT: Twos-complement
           DM_AUDIO_WIDTH: 16
      DM_AUDIO_BYTE_ORDER: Big Endian
     DM_AUDIO_COMPRESSION: Uncompressed Audio
         DM_AUDIO_BITRATE: 1.411 Mbps

Video Track:
             TRACK_LENGTH: 1243
            DM_IMAGE_RATE: 29.970Hz
     DM_IMAGE_INTERLACING: Non-interlaced
          DM_IMAGE_LAYOUT: Full frame
     DM_IMAGE_ORIENTATION: Top-to-bottom
           DM_IMAGE_WIDTH: 640
          DM_IMAGE_HEIGHT: 486
     DM_IMAGE_COMPRESSION: Motion JPEGA
 DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_SPATIAL: 0.659180
DM_IMAGE_QUALITY_TEMPORAL: 0.750000
    DM_IMAGE_PIXEL_ASPECT: 1.0000 (square)
         DM_IMAGE_PACKING: YCbCr 4:2:2
--------
-------- Converting to output done.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
scottE
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby scottE » Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:23 pm

Okay, removing the IMPCOM board makes dmconvert behave perfectly.

Can't explain it, but the presence of the board was definitely the cause.
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5323
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby recondas » Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:32 pm

I hate to suggest it, but maybe another dmedia installation comparison might prove to be illuminating.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby mapesdhs » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:04 am

scottE writes:
> ... 6.5.15m seems to be the gold standard. ...

Oh dear, that particular Chinese whisper is my fault. All I said years ago was that SGI introduced
some nasty bugs into the libs for the supplied media tools in 6.5.16, whereas the tools work ok
in 6.5.15, but people have misinterpreted this initial comment over the years to mean that 6.5.15
is somehow stable for *all* video stuff, professional apps included, but the truth of that is unknown
to me.

I think the bugs were fixed some time around 6.5.18, not sure. Either way, I use 6.5.26m at the
moment and see the same levels of stability that I saw with 6.5.15.

> Can I even go back that far on this machine (V8 and all)?

Yes.

Ian.
(07/Mar/2015) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby squeen » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:07 am

I recall pthread issues around 6.5.17-18. There's even a thread about it somewhere with the SGI pthread guru.
I know I thought of 6.5.21 as a "solid" release.

squeen

GIJoe
Posts: 827
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:44 am
Location: Germany -> UK -> Germany...

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby GIJoe » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:58 pm

you guys sure it's not just the boardbeing incompatible and all? i had issues with mine in an octane2, too. maybe operation in a vpro system after all is not such a good idea if you actually intend to use it in that config.

i pulled mine and all was well again.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2305
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby mapesdhs » Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:06 am

GIJoe writes:
> you guys sure it's not just the boardbeing incompatible and all? i had issues with mine in an octane2, too. ...

Hmm, you have a point there.

Any chance of a test with the same board but gfx changed for anything MGRAS? Quick check witha fresh
OS install?

Ian.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5323
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby recondas » Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:33 am

I ran the same setup <2x360, V8, Compression Option> for well over a year without experiencing any of the issues scottE mentions.

One minor difference that does comes to mind is the IRIX revision level. I don't know if it has any bearing on the issue, but I didn't get beyond 6.5.28 while using my Octane/VPro/Compression Option combination. scottE's Octane is running 6.5.30.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
scottE
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

Re: dmconvert kills Octane stone cold dead.

Unread postby scottE » Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:27 pm

Well, for the sake of reference, here's the output of versions for dmedia:

Code: Select all

Sarcosuchus_imperator 2% versions | grep dmedia
I  dmedia_dev           06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_dev.books     06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Documentation
I  dmedia_dev.books.DMExamples  06/19/2007  Digital Media Programmer's Examples
I  dmedia_dev.books.DMediaDev_PG  06/19/2007  Digital Media Programming Guide
I  dmedia_dev.man       06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Documentation
I  dmedia_dev.man.pages 06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Man Pages
I  dmedia_dev.man.relnotes  06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Release Notes
I  dmedia_dev.sw        06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Software
I  dmedia_dev.sw.base   06/19/2007  Digital Media Development Environment
I  dmedia_dev           10/09/2007  Digital Media Development Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_dev.sw64      10/09/2007  Digital Media 64-bit Development Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_dev.sw64.base 06/19/2007  Digital Media 64-bit base libraries
I  dmedia_dev.sw64.debug  10/09/2007  Digital Media 64-bit Debug Libraries
I  dmedia_eoe           06/19/2007  Digital Media Execution Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_eoe.books     06/19/2007  Digital Media Books
I  dmedia_eoe.books.FXbuilder_Help  06/19/2007  FXBuilder Help
I  dmedia_eoe.books.MediaTls_UG  06/19/2007  Media Tools User's Guide, Help and Book
I  dmedia_eoe.books.SynthEditor_UG  06/19/2007  Using Synthesizer Editor
I  dmedia_eoe.data      08/18/2006  Digital Media Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.movies  08/18/2006  Sample Movie Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.soundscheme  08/18/2006  Desktop Sound Files
I  dmedia_eoe.man       06/19/2007  Digital Media Documentation
I  dmedia_eoe.man.pages 06/19/2007  Digital Media Manual Pages
I  dmedia_eoe.man.relnotes  06/19/2007  Digital Media Release Notes
I  dmedia_eoe.sw        06/19/2007  Digital Media Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.plugins  06/19/2007  Digital Media Plug-ins
I  dmedia_eoe           10/09/2007  Digital Media Execution Environment, 6.5.30
I  dmedia_eoe.data      10/09/2007  Digital Media Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.synth  10/09/2007  MIDI Synthesizer Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.sw        10/09/2007  Digital Media Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.audio  10/09/2007  Audio System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.base   10/09/2007  Digital Media System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.lib    10/09/2007  Digital Media Execution Libraries
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.synth  10/09/2007  MIDI Synthesizer
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.tools  10/09/2007  Digital Media Tools
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64      10/09/2007  Digital Media 64-bit Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64.lib  10/09/2007  Digital Media 64-bit Execution Libraries


Though I do think the culpit is most probably the IRIX version I'm using. Unfortunately, lacking access to any other meida other than 6.5.3,4,9,15, and 22, I don't believe downgrading is an option just right now. Something for the future.

Thanks again for all the help and response on this, everyone. I hope everyone had a great holiday!
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides


Return to “SGI: Video”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest