Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sirus Video Breakout Box
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
I am seeing more and more of these things pop up on Ebay, Are they of any use with an Ocatne/EVO1 (personal Video option) or an O2 with video? or are do they only work with the realy old workstations?

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5212
Location: NC - USA
A very brief search for Sirius Video gave pages of answers.
Here's a one:
http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/siriusvideo.html

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
It didnt really answer my question, I guess I have to assume the breakout box will only work with the Sirus Video Board installed and not with EVO or alike.

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5212
Location: NC - USA
bjames wrote:
It didnt really answer my question

It didn't? :D
How much of it did you read? Take a look at the fourth paragraph <the section entitled "Open, Flexible, Expandable Platform":
Quote:
Sirius Video is available for POWER Onyx, Onyx, and Reality Station graphics workstations.

Additionally, it can be used in POWER CHALLENGE and CHALLENGE server configurations to provide video server capabilities. The most powerful systems in the Silicon Graphics binary-compatible product line are the Onyx and CHALLENGE family workstations and servers.

and the "System Requirements" section:

Quote:
Requires VME Slot

Full functionality with integrated graphics support requires
RealityEngine, RealityEngine or VTX graphics. Reduced server
functionality without integrated graphics requires Crimson, POWER
Series and CHALLENGE systems (includes server models, XS, XS24,
Elan Graphics, Extreme and VGXT graphics systems)

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Please read my question closely, I was not asking about the Sirus Video option, I was asking about the Breakout Box only as stated in the post topic. My questions is, can the breakout box be used with a non sirus video board such as EVO or AV1. Maybe I should have explained better ;)

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
No. The Sirius breakout box works with the Sirius video option.

Personal video in any desktop machine ain't serious enough for the box.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5212
Location: NC - USA
You probably won't find anything that directly says the Sirius Breakout Box will or won't work with an Octane Personal Video Option. I thought the referenced article covered the issue pretty well, but let me run down why.

Typically breakout boxes are used to provide additional ports that the host adapter doesn't have room for on the bulkhead, and/or to make access to those ports easier <such as with rack-mounted hardware where the host adapter ports are on the rear> - but in either case they 'break out' or extend the functionality of the host adapter.

The brief search mentioned earlier also turned up a number of links to Sirius manuals on SGI's Technical Publications Library. Included in those manuals was an illustration of the Sirius Breakout Box - let's take a look at the BoB <and, for comparison, the the EVO>:
Attachment:
bob.front.gif
bob.front.gif [ 8.73 KiB | Viewed 803 times ]

Attachment:
evo.io.panel.gif
evo.io.panel.gif [ 4.38 KiB | Viewed 799 times ]

The illustrations <and the manuals if you'd like more detail> provide a number of clues as to why using the Sirius BoB with an EVO <or without the intended host adapter> wouldn't be a trivial undertaking. You'd have to find a way to connect the Octane's PVO to the BoB's Host Interface ports. You'd also need software to control the interactions of the BoB and the PVO via the General-Purpose Interface (GPI).

So, <excluding the issue of when the article was written>, the article doesn't mention the Octane or the EVO for a specific reason, they don't provide a method of extending the functionality of the Sirius host adapter to the Sirius Breakout Box <or even a VME slot in which to install the Sirius adapter>.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 4:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am
Posts: 754
The only things I know that you can connect to the "Digital Video Connector" would be an O2 camera, a Miranda VIVO (SDI in/out, rare) or a DVC U2 (SDI and YUV in/out, very rare http://www.unsupported.info/dvc/).


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:09 am
Posts: 107
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Great... thanks guys for the detailed info. That pretty much answers my question. :)

Recondas, thanks for the clarification.... ;)

_________________
:O2: :Octane: :1600SW:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group