Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What have I forgotten?
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Octane SSI, 2x195 MHz R10k, Cosmo2; IRIX64 Pachyrhinosaurus 6.5 6.5.15m 01091821 IP30

I even used swmgr; no complaints there.

Yet:

Pachyrhinosaurus 5# dmrecord
1095:dmrecord: rld: Fatal Error: Cannot Successfully map soname 'libvl.so' under any of the filenames /usr/lib32/libvl.so:/usr/lib32/internal/libvl.so:/lib32/libvl.so:/opt/lib32/libvl.so:/usr/lib32/libvl.so.1:/usr/lib32/internal/libvl.so.1:/lib32/libvl.so.1:/opt/lib32/libvl.so.1:

Pachyrhinosaurus 7# mediarecorder
1097:mediarecorder: rld: Fatal Error: Cannot Successfully map soname 'libvl.so' under any of the filenames /usr/lib32/dmedia/dtm/libvl.so:/usr/lib32/libvl.so:/usr/lib32/internal/libvl.so:/lib32/libvl.so:/opt/lib32/libvl.so:/usr/lib32/dmedia/dtm/libvl.so.1:/usr/lib32/libvl.so.1:/usr/lib32/internal/libvl.so.1:/lib32/libvl.so.1:/opt/lib32/libvl.so.1:

versions:
Code:
I  dmedia_dev           06/17/2006  Digital Media Development Environment,
                                    6.5.15m
I  dmedia_dev.books     03/07/2004  Digital Media Development Documentation
I  dmedia_dev.books.DMExamples  03/07/2004  Digital Media Programmer's Examples
I  dmedia_dev.books.DMediaDev_PG  03/07/2004  Digital Media Programming Guide
I  dmedia_dev.man       06/17/2006  Digital Media Development Documentation
I  dmedia_dev.man.pages 06/17/2006  Digital Media Development Man Pages
I  dmedia_dev.man.relnotes  06/17/2006  Digital Media Development Release Notes
I  dmedia_dev.sw        06/17/2006  Digital Media Development Software
I  dmedia_dev.sw.base   06/17/2006  Digital Media Development Environment

I  dmedia_eoe           06/17/2006  Digital Media Execution Environment,
                                    6.5.15m
I  dmedia_eoe.books     06/17/2006  Digital Media Books
I  dmedia_eoe.books.FXbuilder_Help  02/27/2004  FXBuilder Help
I  dmedia_eoe.books.MediaTls_UG  06/17/2006  Media Tools User's Guide, Help and
                                    Book
I  dmedia_eoe.books.SynthEditor_UG  02/27/2004  Using Synthesizer Editor
I  dmedia_eoe.data      02/27/2004  Digital Media Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.movies  02/27/2004  Sample Movie Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.soundscheme  02/27/2004  Desktop Sound Files
I  dmedia_eoe.man       06/17/2006  Digital Media Documentation
I  dmedia_eoe.man.pages 06/17/2006  Digital Media Manual Pages
I  dmedia_eoe.man.relnotes  06/17/2006  Digital Media Release Notes
I  dmedia_eoe.sw        06/17/2006  Digital Media Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.audio  06/17/2006  Audio System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.base   06/17/2006  Digital Media System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.lib    06/17/2006  Digital Media Execution Libraries
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.plugins  06/17/2006  Digital Media Plug-ins
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.tools  06/17/2006  Digital Media Tools


I don't recall the driver installation for this board (IMPCOM) generating this mess in the past. Sysmon is no help, either.

And (offtopic), is it possible to use more than one IMPCOM board in an Octane? Like, say, four of them and run it headless? Just, y'know, curious.

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
I'm probably over-simplifying the problem, but....

Does the Cosmo2 show up in an hinv?
You installed the impactcomp and impactdm subsystems?
Code:
ctane 1# versions impactcomp
I = Installed, R = Removed

   Name                 Date        Description

I  impactcomp           06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Execution Environment 6.5.28
I  impactcomp.books     06/17/2006  IRIS InSight Books, 6.5
I  impactcomp.books.Ind2IMCpres_PG  06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Programmer's Guide
I  impactcomp.books.OctaneCpres_PG  06/17/2006  Octane Compression Programmer's Guide
I  impactcomp.man       06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Documentation
I  impactcomp.man.pages 06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Man Pages
I  impactcomp.man.relnotes  06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Release Notes
I  impactcomp.sw        06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Software
I  impactcomp.sw.eoe    06/17/2006  IMPACT Compression Execution Software

octane 2# versions impactdm
I = Installed, R = Removed

   Name                 Date        Description

I  impactdm             06/17/2006  IMPACT Digital Media Base Execution Environment, 6.5.28
I  impactdm.man         06/17/2006  IMPACT Digital Media Base Documentation
I  impactdm.man.relnotes  06/17/2006  IMPACT Digital Media Base Release Notes
I  impactdm.sw          06/17/2006  IMPACT Digital Media Base Software
I  impactdm.sw.eoe      06/17/2006  IMPACT Digital Media Base Execution Software                           

Looks like there might be a few differences in our dmedia installations:
Code:
octane 3# versions dmedia_eoe
I = Installed, R = Removed

   Name                 Date        Description

I  dmedia_eoe           01/24/2006  Digital Media Execution Environment, 6.5.28
I  dmedia_eoe.sw        01/24/2006  Digital Media Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.synth  01/24/2006  MIDI Synthesizer
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64      01/24/2006  Digital Media 64-bit Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64.lib  01/24/2006  Digital Media 64-bit Execution Libraries

I  dmedia_eoe           01/24/2006  Digital Media Execution Environment, 6.5.28
I  dmedia_eoe.books     01/24/2006  Digital Media Books
I  dmedia_eoe.books.FXbuilder_Help  01/24/2006  FXBuilder Help
I  dmedia_eoe.books.MediaTls_UG  01/24/2006  Media Tools User's Guide, Help and Book
I  dmedia_eoe.books.SynthEditor_UG  01/24/2006  Using Synthesizer Editor
I  dmedia_eoe.data      01/24/2006  Digital Media Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.movies  09/07/2003  Sample Movie Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.soundscheme  09/07/2003  Desktop Sound Files
I  dmedia_eoe.data.synth  01/24/2006  MIDI Synthesizer Data Files
I  dmedia_eoe.man       01/24/2006  Digital Media Documentation
I  dmedia_eoe.man.pages 01/24/2006  Digital Media Manual Pages
I  dmedia_eoe.man.relnotes  01/24/2006  Digital Media Release Notes
I  dmedia_eoe.sw        01/24/2006  Digital Media Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.audio  01/24/2006  Audio System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.base   01/24/2006  Digital Media System Components
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.lib    01/24/2006  Digital Media Execution Libraries
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.plugins  01/24/2006  Digital Media Plug-ins
I  dmedia_eoe.sw.tools  01/24/2006  Digital Media Tools

scottE wrote:
And (offtopic), is it possible to use more than one IMPCOM board in an Octane? Like, say, four of them and run it headless? Just, y'know, curious.

I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't, but better save one of the four slots for a daul channel FC board <or have a card cage>, that set-up is gonna require some pretty stout storage I/O. :)

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
I've a sinking feeling the drivers are installed:

Code:
Pachyrhinosaurus 1# versions | grep impact
I  impactcomp           11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Execution Environment 6.5.15m
I  impactcomp.books     11/27/2007  IRIS InSight Books, 6.5
I  impactcomp.books.Ind2IMCpres_PG  11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Programmer's Guide
I  impactcomp.books.OctaneCpres_PG  11/27/2007  Octane Compression Programmer's Guide
I  impactcomp.man       11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Documentation
I  impactcomp.man.pages 11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Man Pages
I  impactcomp.man.relnotes  11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Release Notes
I  impactcomp.sw        11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Software
I  impactcomp.sw.eoe    11/27/2007  IMPACT Compression Execution Software
I  impactdm             11/27/2007  IMPACT Digital Media Base Execution Environment, 6.5.15m
I  impactdm.man         11/27/2007  IMPACT Digital Media Base Documentation
I  impactdm.man.relnotes  11/27/2007  IMPACT Digital Media Base Release Notes
I  impactdm.sw          11/27/2007  IMPACT Digital Media Base Software
I  impactdm.sw.eoe      11/27/2007  IMPACT Digital Media Base Execution Software
ftware


hinv appears to recognize hardware is present:
Pachyrhinosaurus 2# hinv
2 195 MHZ IP30 Processors
CPU: MIPS R10000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.7
FPU: MIPS R10010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 1024 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.3
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3 serial port: tty1
IOC3 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: SSI
Graphics board: SI
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1
IMPACT Compression: unit 0, revision 0:1

Toolchest->System->Confidence Tests fails video being present, however:
Code:
Probing for video... device not present

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
recondas wrote:
scottE wrote:
And (offtopic), is it possible to use more than one IMPCOM board in an Octane? Like, say, four of them and run it headless? Just, y'know, curious.

I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't, but better save one of the four slots for a daul channel FC board <or have a card cage>, that set-up is gonna require some pretty stout storage I/O. :)


EXCELLENT.

I mean, how interesting!

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
I'm not enough of a programmer to know what effect <if any> they'd have, but my dmedia install includes at least a few libraries yours doesn't:
Code:
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64      01/24/2006  Digital Media 64-bit Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64.lib  01/24/2006  Digital Media 64-bit Execution Libraries

Excluding the dev stuff, I've got 23 dmedia installation entries, and you have only 17.

As a last resort, you might try it in Sarcosuchus_imperator. The Cosmo2 stuff *might* already be loaded.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
scottE wrote:
Toolchest->System->Confidence Tests fails video being present, however:
Code:
Probing for video... device not present


Is the video daemon loaded?
From man videod:
Quote:
videod handles communication between video devices and the system. It is used to determine the devices connected and to provide device independent access to the VL library.


Look in chkconfig for:
Code:
chkconfig videod on

If it wasn't loaded, set the configuration flag on - then either reboot or load the daemon manually:
Code:
/etc/init.d/videod start

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
On my fuel (without having a Video board) i found
Code:
[fuel]:~ $ showfiles --libvl.so
f 35944 144636 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/dmedia/arch/videodvl/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/libvl.so
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/libvl.so.1
f 39224 168172 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/dmedia/arch/videodvl/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/libvl.so
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m var/arch/lib/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m var/arch/lib32/libvl.so.1


regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Code:
chkconfig videod on

done

Code:
/etc/init.d/videod start

done

man videod:
Code:
No manual entry found for videod.


Hmmmm!

I'm thinking I'm definitely missing some software (64-bit stuff previously mentioned). Though how I might have missed that is baffling.

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
joerg wrote:
On my fuel (without having a Video board) i found
Code:
[fuel]:~ $ showfiles --libvl.so
f 35944 144636 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/dmedia/arch/videodvl/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/libvl.so
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/libvl.so.1
f 39224 168172 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/dmedia/arch/videodvl/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/libvl.so
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m var/arch/lib/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m var/arch/lib32/libvl.so.1


regards
Joerg


Yeah. dmconvert works, but nothing else.

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
Yet:

Code:
Pachyrhinosaurus 2# ps -e | grep videod
        949 ?       0:00 videod
       1025 ?       0:01 videod
       1116 ?       0:00 videod


Criminy. How many video daemons do I need?

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 7:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
recondas wrote:
I'm not enough of a programmer to know what effect <if any> they'd have, but my dmedia install includes at least a few libraries yours doesn't:
Code:
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64      01/24/2006  Digital Media 64-bit Software
I  dmedia_eoe.sw64.lib  01/24/2006  Digital Media 64-bit Execution Libraries

Excluding the dev stuff, I've got 23 dmedia installation entries, and you have only 17.

As a last resort, you might try it in Sarcosuchus_imperator. The Cosmo2 stuff *might* already be loaded.



That's it. It works flawlessly in Sarcosuchus_imperator. My installation skills are inferior! Yay!

(Yeah, I'm just relieved. I can get the rest of dmedia installed later.)

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
scottE wrote:
joerg wrote:
On my fuel (without having a Video board) i found
Code:
[fuel]:~ $ showfiles --libvl.so
f 35944 144636 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/dmedia/arch/videodvl/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/libvl.so
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib/libvl.so.1
f 39224 168172 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/dmedia/arch/videodvl/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/libvl.so
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m usr/lib32/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m var/arch/lib/libvl.so.1
l     0     0 dmedia_eoe.sw.lib     m var/arch/lib32/libvl.so.1


regards
Joerg


Yeah. dmconvert works, but nothing else.


Sure, because dmconvert dont have a direct need for this lib.
Code:
[fuel]:~ $ ldd /usr/sbin/dmconvert | grep libvl.so
returns nothing. Why you dont reinstall dmedia_eoe.sw.lib or check for missing files?

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group