AIX 1.3

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
pipeline
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:07 am

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pipeline » Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:56 pm

pentium wrote:Will there be any problems installing AIX 1.3 on a Model 55 SX with a PureData network card and a 160Mb ESDI drive?
I have one kicking around and I find it's not good enough for OS/2.

You need a real 386/486 to run AIX. An SX won't cut it.

You can run supposedly AIX 1.x on ISA PCs, but they have to be 100% IBM compatible, and AIX doesn't support any non-MCA network cards.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:55 pm

You need a real 386/486 to run AIX. An SX won't cut it.

:evil: Rats, I don't have any other PS/2 systems that are better than SX.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:56 am

Give it a go, it may be enough to do what you want to do. For example I have SunOS 4.1.1U box running diskless on a 68020 with 4MB of RAM. But it works for what I want, compilations take a long time but do work.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Sat Oct 27, 2007 2:44 pm

I'm off to do work and don't expect to be back until ten tonight but I'll attempt an install tomorrow.
I have a little snip on how to use DD to extract those images so it looks like the floppy drive in the indigo will be getting some work.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:05 pm

Okay, I am able to start the install fine and everything goes fine until I have to insert disk eight in the base system floppies.
I tried several different disks and each time it rejects it.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:14 am

I got my copy from here

http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ohlandl/AIX_1-3/AIX_Index.html

and no problems with all the disks being loaded on a Model 76i (okay booting from IDE was another issue...).
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:18 pm

Dang it.

I've had to down from a 2gig, to a 1gig and now down to a 500Meg disk in order for AIX to boot from the hard disk.

My MCA Etherlink III is not supported by AIX 1.3 with 0024, so am relegated to SLIP.

Do you know any modern distributions that still include SLIP by default, not many I can tell you!

However, C compiler happily works so I have my favourite editor up and going....
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:06 pm

I had to pack the system away for another rainy day.
I'll have to download that alternative disk image from there another time.
I've had to down from a 2gig, to a 1gig and now down to a 500Meg disk in order for AIX to boot from the hard disk.

odd, you should of been fine with a 1 gig drive.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:15 pm

pentium wrote:odd, you should of been fine with a 1 gig drive.


< 1023Meg - yes

1.3Gig - no.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:46 pm

Bummer. Are you positive that your next alternative is not a little smaller than that? (what disk interface are you using?)
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:19 pm

pentium wrote:Bummer. Are you positive that your next alternative is not a little smaller than that? (what disk interface are you using?)


SCSI-2-FW, Corvette. :)
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:35 pm

I have never tried that configuration. I'm living with a 160Mb ESDI drive.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

SAQ
Posts: 5776
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby SAQ » Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:14 pm

porter wrote:
< 1023Meg - yes

1.3Gig - no.


And you can't just write out a disklabel that abandons some blocks?
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:59 pm

SAQ wrote:And you can't just write out a disklabel that abandons some blocks?


AIX just has a look at the disk and says "I know what size this really is".

Alas it's down the booting, BIOS limitations and all that good stuff, remember these are PS/2 PCs. You can have a bigger disk if you are prepared to boot from floppy each time.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

dragon_cb_cz
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby dragon_cb_cz » Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:34 pm

pipeline wrote:
pentium wrote:Will there be any problems installing AIX 1.3 on a Model 55 SX with a PureData network card and a 160Mb ESDI drive?
I have one kicking around and I find it's not good enough for OS/2.

You need a real 386/486 to run AIX. An SX won't cut it.

You can run supposedly AIX 1.x on ISA PCs, but they have to be 100% IBM compatible, and AIX doesn't support any non-MCA network cards.


This is a nonsense, you can of course run AIX PS/2 on 386sx sytem. I do in fact, it runs rather happily on my PS/2 Model 65sx, which is 386SX-based. There's no difference between 386SX and DX from the operating system's point of view.

AIX PS/2 with the latest patches should run on non-MCA PC hardware, but I don't think it's worth the energy one would have to invest in such thing. Even getting it to run on some IBM MCA hardware is almost impossible - right now I'm trying to run it on my 76i with no success so far :(


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests