"Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
dir_marillion
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:36 am
Location: Athens

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby dir_marillion » Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:15 am

Ok, I am not next to my Indigo2 right now.
I will check it in next days.

Yes, yes, try to fix it please as it is a super script :-)
... and thanks of course

User avatar
thegoldbug
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: AZ, hot like Crematoria
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby thegoldbug » Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:47 pm

Okay, just tried this as Root and as a user but I can't get the images to show up in the Background list either. I'm running 6.5.22f with a Vpro6 graphics card. I've logged out and reboot but still no joy.

Did a solution ever get found. The references to the images are being added to my .backgrounds file.

thegoldbug
==========

These backgrounds run on platforms with ODYSSEY graphics.

background "Twilight"
command "-execute /usr/sbin/twilight"
default "-execute /usr/sbin/twilight"
exeok "/usr/sbin/twilight"

background "SGI Logo"
command "-execute /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/powerflip -Rs -o -0.3426,-0.2307,-0.1561,0.8971 -p 0.5316,0.3363,-0.3676 -b /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/background3.defs /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/logo.ydl"
default "-execute /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/powerflip -Rs -o -0.3426,-0.2307,-0.1561,0.8971 -p 0.5316,0.3363,-0.3676 -b /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/background3.defs /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/logo.ydl"
exeok "/usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/powerflip"
readok "/usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/background3.defs"
readok "/usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/logo.ydl"

background "Loading.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/Loading.JPG"

background "fatcat1.gif"
default "-image /HD2/0_GBC/fatcat1.gif"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

background "Loading.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/Loading.JPG"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

Cathode 23#
thegoldbug
:ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :OnyxR: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :320: :320: :320: :320: :Indy: x5 :Indy: x2 :1600SW: x5 :Indigo: x7
Vault L, 6-1200s, Fibre Hub, Dials, Boards, spares, 3 Sun Blade 2000s, Sun Fire V480, 2-Hero 2000 Robots, 5-Hero 1 Robots

User avatar
thegoldbug
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: AZ, hot like Crematoria
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby thegoldbug » Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:06 pm

Is my problem related to the fact that I haven't "prepared" my images to be backgrounds? I mean they are just normal JPGs. Do I need to "convert" them for use first?

thegoldbug
thegoldbug
:ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :OnyxR: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :320: :320: :320: :320: :Indy: x5 :Indy: x2 :1600SW: x5 :Indigo: x7
Vault L, 6-1200s, Fibre Hub, Dials, Boards, spares, 3 Sun Blade 2000s, Sun Fire V480, 2-Hero 2000 Robots, 5-Hero 1 Robots

User avatar
thegoldbug
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: AZ, hot like Crematoria
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby thegoldbug » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:33 pm

Okay, been working on this and by setting the depth to 24 bit true color ( http://software.majix.org/irix/desktop-depth.shtml) I'm able to get a background I downloaded off of Nekochan to show up in the background list.

This has worked on several of my JPG files but only after I opening them using Image editor (file, open) and save them as JPGs are the files actually recognized by IRIX as jpgs. Can someone clue me in on why that is?

thanks
thegoldbug
thegoldbug
:ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :ChallengeXL: :OnyxR: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :320: :320: :320: :320: :Indy: x5 :Indy: x2 :1600SW: x5 :Indigo: x7
Vault L, 6-1200s, Fibre Hub, Dials, Boards, spares, 3 Sun Blade 2000s, Sun Fire V480, 2-Hero 2000 Robots, 5-Hero 1 Robots

User avatar
dark_knight
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:15 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby dark_knight » Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:36 pm

I have a fresh install running on my 180mhz O2

I try and run the ./install script and get the error...- Permission denied
why I am running it as root
Powerbook 1.5 Ghz 10.5.2
PowerMac 1.8 Ghz 10.5.2
O2 Irix 6.5.30m
O2 Irix 6.5.30m
Octane Irix 6.5.30m
Octane 2 Irix 6.5.30m
FreeNAS Server 1.8 TB FreeBSD
_______________________
Tell me have you danced with the devil in the pale moon light?

User avatar
dir_marillion
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:36 am
Location: Athens

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby dir_marillion » Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:11 am

Finally right click "add to the backgrounds", then the file .backgrounds has this * to the list inside.
Also: Desktop-> customize-> backrounds, checking this jpeg but the picture does not go to the background.

*
background "030.jpg"
default "-image 030.jpg"

My screen is at 24 bit color

Thanks

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby deBug » Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:05 am

dir_marillion wrote:Finally right click "add to the backgrounds", then the file .backgrounds has this * to the list inside.
Also: Desktop-> customize-> backrounds, checking this jpeg but the picture does not go to the background.

*
background "030.jpg"
default "-image 030.jpg"

My screen is at 24 bit color

Thanks


Was your last post a statement or a question ?
I don't understand what you are trying to say.

//deBug
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby uridium » Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:58 pm

G'day,

Anyone have a mirror or alternate link for this? 404 basically. Trolled additional downloads and nekoware but no love. :-\
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby deBug » Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am

uridium wrote:G'day,

Anyone have a mirror or alternate link for this? 404 basically. Trolled additional downloads and nekoware but no love. :-\


I had a hard disk crash around Christmas.
I'm still working on the restore.

You can now download it here http://zachrisson.net/sgi/AddToBackgrounds/addtobg-ver1.0-IRIX6.5.22.tar
Attachments
addtobg-ver1.0-IRIX6.5.22.tar
(30 KiB) Downloaded 121 times
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby uridium » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:46 am

Ah bless ye and all that sail in you!! <3 <3
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain

User avatar
fu
Posts: 1119
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 9:39 am
Location: constant traveler [nyc/london/berlin]
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby fu » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:10 pm

100% dundee here (fu:el 6.5.29f)

thanks a ton harry
(more booze on me)
:)

(would it be easy for u to come up with a script that turns any disk/volume/folder into a permission-agnostic one?)

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby deBug » Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:16 pm

fu wrote:100% dundee here (fu:el 6.5.29f)

thanks a ton harry
(more booze on me)
:)

Glad you like it!
(would it be easy for u to come up with a script that turns any disk/volume/folder into a permission-agnostic one?)


I don't know, but I like to "fix" the things in the IRIX GUI that I think is missing on tasks that I often perform.
I haven't had the problem that you describe. So I have had no interest in fixing it.

But if you can write a script that does what you want I can help out binding it to a menu.

//deBug
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
cvisors
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 2:50 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby cvisors » Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:27 pm

Sorry to reply to an old thread, but does anyone have a copy of this.

Thanks heaps

~Ivy
one you lock the target
two you bait the line
three you slowly spread the net
and four you catch the man

Front 242 Headhunter

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby deBug » Fri Feb 29, 2008 5:53 pm

cvisors wrote:Sorry to reply to an old thread, but does anyone have a copy of this.

Thanks heaps

~Ivy


Cant you get it from [url]zachrisson.net/sgi[/url] ?
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
cvisors
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 2:50 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Unread postby cvisors » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:00 pm

deBug wrote:
cvisors wrote:Sorry to reply to an old thread, but does anyone have a copy of this.

Thanks heaps

~Ivy


Cant you get it from [url]zachrisson.net/sgi[/url] ?


Ah ha, the links I was using was giving me a 404.

thanks heaps.
one you lock the target

two you bait the line

three you slowly spread the net

and four you catch the man



Front 242 Headhunter


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests