Leopard on G4 boxes

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
mmendez
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Location: Mons, Belgium
Contact:

Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby mmendez » Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:21 am

I've been googling and have seen mixed reviews. Some people say it works fine, others say stick to Tiger. I'm getting a used G4 laptop with a 1GHz cpu and 768MiB of memory. The graphics card is the Mobility Radeon 9200 with 32MiB. I got it very cheap and I only need it for times when I'm away from home so I didn't want to spend a lot of cash on a laptop.

To get to the point, has anyone installed Leopard on a low end box and what was the performance like? Leopard is definitely slower than Tiger on my CoreDuo Mini, but not so much and some new features are pretty cool.

Alternatively, I can install NetBSD on it but I'd rather try OSX first.
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box

User avatar
milatchi
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: EV-ERY-ONE!
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby milatchi » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:16 pm

My Mac is a 1.467GHz G4 tower with 1.5GBs RAM and an nVIDIA GeForce II. It runs Leopard fine --no noticeable speed problems-- but I will say this, I get the feeling that if my G4's specs were any lower, running Leopard might be painful.
"EV-ERY-ONE!" --Stansfield

User avatar
fu
Posts: 1119
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 9:39 am
Location: constant traveler [nyc/london/berlin]
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby fu » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:50 pm

i asked the same question a few threads ago and finally i bit the bullet and installed leopard on my g4 1.5 12"...

i did it mainly because of the mail.app/lookupd snafu i was experiencing, so far everything seems ok (the new mail.app is much better) and speed-wise i didn't notice any slowdowns...

you might want to take some time and customize the default install tho,
a) it looks like a bad joke with galactic aesthetics from the 80s
b) if you don't customize the installation procedure you end up with 8-11gb (does anyone remember the size?) of junk on the main HD

i think apple should let go of the cats and name the next mac os release elephant, it's getting fatter and fatter and it looks like we'll soon need a whole array to install it...

User avatar
shyouko
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:01 am
Location: Science & Technology Park, Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby shyouko » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:42 am

The printer drivers consume the most disk space of a default Leopard installation.

User avatar
mmendez
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Location: Mons, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby mmendez » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:26 am

Interesting. I'll give it a try then. Apparently Leopard will scale down when your GPU doesn't support Core Image. I might try disabling some stuff and will not install packages I don't need, but XCode I will. I'm not really concerned about HD space. I just need my most used apps, some MAME roms and a small subset of my MP3 collectioin.
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box

User avatar
SupremeCmdr
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby SupremeCmdr » Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:06 pm

shyouko wrote:The printer drivers consume the most disk space of a default Leopard installation.

Any tips on how to do a slimmer Leopard install.

So far I'm going to use something like XSlimmer to strip the locale stuff of binaries, I think I'll skip the PPC/Intel stripping. What else is useful?
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog

unixmuseum
Posts: 2783
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:25 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby unixmuseum » Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:37 pm

Absolutely no problem here on iBook G4 1.2GHz w/1.25GB RAM with 10.5.2... Works pretty much as well as 10.4.11 was, nothing to complain about...

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby nekonoko » Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:24 pm

I have a dual 1.8GHz G4 running 10.5.2 - no issues or complaints.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
badapple
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:53 am

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby badapple » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:32 am

17" Powerbook 1.5GHz G4 w/1.5Gb RAM - works 'fine' (for certain values of fine - I just don't like OS X much, full stop). Did have a major issue with the initial install though, which was continuously failing: common solution if you run into this problem is to temporarily remove any non-apple branded RAM. I've got a cheap Taiwanese 512Mb card in mine that the leopard installer didn't like one bit, took it out for install, popped it back in afterwards and it's all good. Except for the complete borking of the X subsystem, but that's another story...
hardware/software agnostic sadmin

geekgothgrrl
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 2:03 am

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby geekgothgrrl » Sat Jun 14, 2008 2:22 am

I run it on my 1.42Ghz iBook with 1Gb ram fine. Well did till the hard drive went and died. Thank heavens for SuperDupr!

I've not attempted to coax it onto this dual 800Mhz G4 Quicksilver. I suspect it could just about manage it, but the graphics card doesn't support Core Image (standard GeForce2MX card iirc). It has 1.5Gb ram however, so its not a bad machine for a desktop. Getting a better graphics card for it is on my 'consideration' list as being able to use the second panel I have (18" NEC LCD, dual VGA only) would be nice, but ADC->VGA doesn't look possible, and I use a KVM which is VGA only atm.

User avatar
SupremeCmdr
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby SupremeCmdr » Sat Jun 14, 2008 6:39 pm

Just did an install of Leopard on my PowerBook G4 1.67Mhz w 2Gb RAM.

It seems to be as zippy as Tiger was. Yay.


The only issue I am having is with Spaces taking me back to the 'space' where a particular application is open. eg to open a new window in Safari, I have to go back to the space with it open, create a new window and F8 / drag to get it to a new space.

And Safari is still a pig, especially with flash.

EDIT: Seems there is an option to fix that behaviour in Spaces :-)
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog

User avatar
bigD
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby bigD » Sun Jun 29, 2008 9:46 am

SupremeCmdr wrote:Any tips on how to do a slimmer Leopard install.


I haven't installed Leopard, but if it's anything like Tiger, installing only the printers and languages you actually plan on using will make a HUGE difference.
:Onyx2: :Indigo2: :O3x0:

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby josehill » Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:06 am

bigD wrote:
SupremeCmdr wrote:I haven't installed Leopard, but if it's anything like Tiger, installing only the printers and languages you actually plan on using will make a HUGE difference.

True, and the best way to do it is during installation, though there are utilities out there that will help you delete the stuff after the installation, too. Monolingual, Macaroni, and Leopard Cache Cleaner are probably the most common of such utilities. One caveat: sometimes removing localization files after they've been installed causes problems for third party update software. Apparently, the latest Office 2008 updater chokes when localization files are removed, though there are workarounds. See macintouch.com or macfixit.com for more info.

As an aside, there was an interesting entry about reasons why Apple's forthcoming Snow Leopard (10.6, apparently an Intel-optimized version of 10.5 with added MS Exchange support and a few other tweaks) appears much slimmer than 10.5 at http://osnews.com/story/19934/Snow-Leop ... rd-Install

Also, lots of interesting Snow Leopard info at http://www.roughlydrafted.com/

User avatar
pinball_0
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:06 am
Location: North Liberty, IA

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby pinball_0 » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:55 am

I have a dual 1.8GHz (Sonnet) Quicksilver 2002 -G4 with 1.5G ram running 10.5.4 - no complaints, though sometimes when it goes to sleep it doesn't want to wake.

It surprised me when I saw the OS9 stuff with a slashed "o" over them and the found to my dismay os9 classic gone. Still have another drive setup with 10.4.11 to run those goodies.
:Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :Fuel: :Fuel: :320: :PI: :PI: <- PFile:Indy:
:O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2000R:

Amiga 4000 060 & PPC HiFlyer with toaster/flyer
Amiga 1200HD40
Mac Intel imac 24inch (dual 3 G), MacG4 Quicksilver 2002 w Dual 1.8G (LEOPARD)
MacBook Pro 17 C2D, MacBook 13 unibody
G4 GigE Dual 500 (TIGER/OS9), imac G3 (PANTHER)

Sun Ultra 60, SunBlade 2000 Dual 1G (SOLARIS 10)

PC Gateway DualCore, and other lowly PC's (laptops)
Qube3, RaQ4's,Audiotron,Magnia

User avatar
shyouko
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:01 am
Location: Science & Technology Park, Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Leopard on G4 boxes

Unread postby shyouko » Sat Aug 02, 2008 8:11 am

pinball_0 wrote:I have a dual 1.8GHz (Sonnet) Quicksilver 2002 -G4 with 1.5G ram running 10.5.4 - no complaints, though sometimes when it goes to sleep it doesn't want to wake.

It surprised me when I saw the OS9 stuff with a slashed "o" over them and the found to my dismay os9 classic gone. Still have another drive setup with 10.4.11 to run those goodies.

Then you can still copy the OS 9 folder from that Tiger box. No?


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest