Page 1 of 1

Burnt AAUI on PM6100??

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:57 pm
by zahal
Hello,
I'm trying to build a hotrod PowerMacintosh 6100. So far it's got 264MB RAM, a 36GB 15k SCSI drive, a Pioneer DVR105, a 2MB HPV card (upgradeable to 4MB), and a Sonnet G3 running at 247MHz. The hard disk gets hot fast, so I will probably replace it with a 7.2K drive, or a smaller (2.5inch) 10k drive.
Sadly, the onboard AAUI ethernet port seems to be acting up. With a Farallon transceiver the network is not detected (a red X over the ethernet extension at startup). With an Apple AAUI to 4RJ45 hub, the ethernet port seems to be up (I can get the MAC address on TCP/IP control panel) and Appletalk does not complain if I select the Ethernet port. BUT, it seems it still won't work. TCP/IP won't come up (DHCP or manual). So I am limited in getting software into the PM6100. Does anyone know if this is hardware failure...and where should I start to solder/unsolder stuff? As a sidenote, I tried with a SECOND PM6100 board and it seems to behave in the same way....

On a sadder note, my PowerBook 2400C woke up to the dreaded GLOD the other day....I need to find some time to fix it too.

Re: Burnt AAUI on PM6100??

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:58 pm
by ClassicHasClass
That definitely sounds like a hardware failure. It's probably just easier to find a NuBus card, though with what you've got in there, you may not have the room ;)

Also, I've never run the G3 and the HPV card together with a NuBus card in a 6100. I'm not even sure that's possible. I have an "SR-7100" but the 7100 is a lot less cramped to work in.

Re: Burnt AAUI on PM6100??

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:04 pm
by zahal
ClassicHasClass wrote:That definitely sounds like a hardware failure. It's probably just easier to find a NuBus card, though with what you've got in there, you may not have the room ;)

Also, I've never run the G3 and the HPV card together with a NuBus card in a 6100. I'm not even sure that's possible. I have an "SR-7100" but the 7100 is a lot less cramped to work in.


The G3 card takes up the only PDS slot (where the NuBus adapter would also plug). And that would mean losing the G3 AND the HPV card.
I have a SCSI to Ethernet adapter (Dayna Pocket SCSI/Link) which I remember was kinda flaky when I last used it.
Finding a third 6100 mobo (with a working AAUI port) would be the best solution. That, and getting 4 512kb VRAM SIMMs to top the HVP.