Page 6 of 9

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:42 pm
by skywriter
It's not hooked up yet, so yeah..... Typo.

Just checked vendor site - XEON. Usedmac.com usually get great machines in excellent shape.

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:33 pm
by archaic
I am late on this, but I've not been about for awhile. Here is what I can remember off the top of my head. I'll fill in more specs later.

PowerBook 15" G4 Ti 1.5GHz, 2GB, 240GB SSD
2010 17" MacBook Pro, 8GB, 512GB SSD - (Serato DJ Laptop)
2014 15.4" MacBook Pro,16GB, 1TB SSD (Work Laptop)
G4 Cube with White Powerlogix Case, 1.4GHz 2MB 7455, FX6200, Upgraded VRM, 1.5GB, 128GB SSD, 23" Acrylic Cinema Display with ADC to DVI Adapter
2008 Mac Pro 8 x 2.8GHz, 64GB, 512GB SSD, 6TB RAID 10, 23" Al Cinema Display
2010 Mac Pro 12 x 3.33GHz, 96GB, 512GB SSD, 2TB RAID 1, 2 x 30" Al Cinema Displays (Pro Tools 12 Box)
MDD G4 2 x 1.42GHz, 2GB, 512GB SSD, 2TB SATA
2 x 2011 Mac Mini Server, 2:0GHz i7, 16GB, 512GB SSD, 1TB HD

I am not going to get into iPads and Phones ATM because it's too late...

I think that is all the Mac stuff that I have at the moment. I used to have a bunch more classic machines, but alas, the 20' box truck took those along with a bunch of maxed out Sun workstations and SGI, IBM, and HP big iron when I had to move out of my old house. :(

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:51 pm
by ClassicHasClass
What does the Cube in the PowerLogix case look like?

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:14 am
by archaic
ClassicHasClass wrote:What does the Cube in the PowerLogix case look like?



I' ll take a picture this evening. I need to snap a pic of the presenter 1280 anyway.

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:26 pm
by archaic
ClassicHasClass wrote:What does the Cube in the PowerLogix case look like?



Here is a couple of quick pictures.

735C0AFC-EBAC-47AB-9DF6-359AAE8B57C3.jpg

ECFA9984-7DA5-47A6-845C-354BAF73E2B7.jpg

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:37 am
by ClassicHasClass
Interesting! But it kind of ruins the Cube's cuteness. :(

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:15 pm
by archaic
ClassicHasClass wrote:Interesting! But it kind of ruins the Cube's cuteness. :(



I wanted the clear one, but I waited too long and they sold out. I still have the original cube case with box and speakers, but I like the extra room this case affords the components.

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:38 am
by Dodoid
I use an Android phone and most of my machines are PCs, but I have a bit of old apple stuff.

PowerBook 145b
PowerBook G4 Aluminium
iMac G3
iMac G4
PowerMac 7300/200

I also have my main PC, which is a hackintosh, and up until recently I owned a 2015 13" MacBook Pro. I ended up selling it because I found the screen to be too small for Final Cut Pro X (the reason I use macOS to begin with) and because new ones are coming soon, so I will get a 15" once they come out.

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:06 pm
by itsvince725
My main machine is a DIY AMD-powered machine, but I have a handful of old Macs...

Performa 630CD
Blue & White G3
PowerBook 180
SE/30
G5 (2.3 Dual Processor)

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:22 am
by scottE
It's been a while since I was last active. But maybe I can do this!

In service:
Tully Monster: Macbook Pro 15" Retina
microceratops: Mac Mini Server (El Capitan, lots of drives, no optical)
Trilobite: G4 Mac Mini (rare use)
katana: iPhone 5S
odachi: iPad 3
Ammonite: PowerBook 1400c (rare use: 333MHz G3 upgrade, 80GB HD, 64 MB RAM)

Out of service:
PowerMacintosh G3 (beige, nonworking—missing the motherboard's battery)
Mac Classic (alas, the floppy drive has failed)
Apple IIGS (which I may be selling soon)
NeXT (mono slab, this counts, too, right?)

Clones:
PowerComputing tower (gutted, turned into a SCSI drives box)
PowerComputing desktop (still working, I think)
Pineapple ('70s-era Apple II clone, which I will be getting rid of soon)

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:19 pm
by smj
Mac Pro 2012 w/ Xeon L5640 (12 thread) & AMD 7950 is part of the main desktop
Black Macbook 2007
iPhone 6

Scattered around are also:
Powerbook G3 "Lombard"
Powerbook 800MHz Titanium
Powerbook 400Mhz Titanium, killed by 3rd party wall wart
Mac Pro 2006 w/ 2 x Xeon 5355
Mac Pro 2008 w/ 2 x 2.8GHz Xeon
Mac Cube, Sonnet 1.7GHz upgrade and clear acrylic case, flashed Radeon 9700
Mac Cube, stock 450MHz
Mac Classic II, not working
2 x Fat Macs (512k)
1 x 128k Mac
Apple ///, Monitor /// & ProFIle
some Apple IIs, //e
iPhone 2G, 4
iPod Touch x 2
iPod Nano x 2

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:36 am
by johnnym
Let's see...

1 x Power Macintosh G3 w/PPC750 @300 MHz
4 x Power Macintosh G4 (AGP) "barebones", PPC7400 @350 MHz/400 MHz available
2 x Power Macintosh G4 (Gigabit) w/2 x PPC7400 @450 MHz
1 x Power Macintosh G4 (QS 2002) w/2 x PPC7447A @1.33 GHz*
EDIT: 1 x Power Macintosh G4 (QS 2002) w/2 x PPC7447A @1.8 GHz*
1 x Power Macintosh G4 (MDD) w/2 x PPC7455 @867 MHz
EDIT: 1 x Mac mini G4 w/PPC7447A @1.42 GHz (finally! :mrgreen: )

1 x Xserve G4 (Slot Load) w/2x PPC7455 @1.33GHz
1 x Xserve G5 (Cluster Node) w/2x PPC970fx @ 2.0 GHz
1 x Xserve (Early 2008) w/2x Xeon E5472 @ 3.0 GHz

Sadly no Cube nor Mini until now. :(

All in all not used that often recently...

*) The upgraded CPU module of the QS 2002 looks like a PowerLogix PowerForce47 Dual[...] albeit with a golden or bronze coloured heat sink. It currently runs at the mentioned 1.33 GHz, but I don't actually know if this is the speed the module was designated for. Does anybody know how to find this out for such a CPU module if there's no seal on the DIP switches?

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:46 am
by ClassicHasClass
What OS is it running? If OS 9, Sonnet Metronome can often get an accurate clock speed, or CPU Director if it supports it. If OS X, what does System Profiler think?

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:23 am
by johnnym
ClassicHasClass wrote:What OS is it running? If OS 9, Sonnet Metronome can often get an accurate clock speed, or CPU Director if it supports it. If OS X, what does System Profiler think?

Sorry for not replying earlier, but I didn't recognize your answer until today. Looks like I didn't got a notification for your answer because I'm not subscribed to this topic and you also didn't quote me.

The System Profilers of Mac OS X 10.4.11 Server and Mac OS X 10.5.8 list "CPU Speed" as 1.33 GHz. I tried to install the PowerLogix CPU Director 2.3b6 on 10.4.11 but the PLKEXT installation or startup seems to fail - maybe because it only provides a KEXT for 10.4.9 and lower. But trying to install it on Mac OS X 10.3.9 also fails despite it has a KEXT for this specific version. Booting OS 9 on this machine fails during startup - same for Mac OS X 10.2.x. :(

The Open Firmware also shows it with 1.33 GHz:

Code: Select all

0 > dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0  ok
0 > .properties
[...]
cpu-version 80010000
[...]
clock-frequency 4f790d52
[...]
cpu-info 8410c09c 80000000 80030101 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000

 ok
0 >


0x4f790d52 = 1,333,333,330 Hz

I'm afraid both System Profiler and Open Firmware will just show the frequency that's configured but not the frequency it was meant for. Maybe I'll try some other settings and test at what maximum speed the module can run and then conclude for which speed it was meant. Or maybe I remove the heatsink and check if the speed is readable on the dies. At least for PowerPC 7450s it looks like their meant speed is readable on the die.

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:07 pm
by Y888099
I happen to have a Graphite's motherboard + CPU + PSU for sale.
If someone needs it. Located in Denmark. I am going there.