What Apple hardware do we have?

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:06 am

My G5: (Specs currently unavailable, as I am password locked out, and as a result can only get as far as the log on screen)

IMG_2858.JPG

IMG_2859.JPG

IMG_2860.JPG
Image...........................Image Image ImageImage Image Image Image Image
Image.............................Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image... Image AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Image................Image 486 DX4 100MHz. (My first Computer)
Image.........................Image Image JavaStation-10(Krups); Sun Fire V880z.
A snapshot of what I've got:.......................................................................:arrow:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:21 am

Single user mode can fix that
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:37 am

Raion-Fox wrote:Single user mode can fix that


How do I invoke single user mode?
Image...........................Image Image ImageImage Image Image Image Image
Image.............................Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image... Image AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Image................Image 486 DX4 100MHz. (My first Computer)
Image.........................Image Image JavaStation-10(Krups); Sun Fire V880z.
A snapshot of what I've got:.......................................................................:arrow:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:55 am

Command-S while starting up. Once you get a prompt you can proceed to mount the volumes and then run the passwd command.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:38 am

Raion-Fox wrote:Command-S while starting up. Once you get a prompt you can proceed to mount the volumes and then run the passwd command.


Thanks very much for the info, I will try it tomorrow or the next day, as I've messed with computers enough today to last me a week!
Image...........................Image Image ImageImage Image Image Image Image
Image.............................Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image... Image AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Image................Image 486 DX4 100MHz. (My first Computer)
Image.........................Image Image JavaStation-10(Krups); Sun Fire V880z.
A snapshot of what I've got:.......................................................................:arrow:

netfreak
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby netfreak » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:31 am

My current Apple collection:

Classic, SE, SE/30, IIsi, LC, LC475, LC575, Color Classic x2, PM6100 DOS, PM7200, PB190, PB5300, PB1400, PB180 x2, PB3400c, 6320CD, Q840av, Pismo, G4 tower, G3 desktop, IIe clone w/ CPM, Newton 2000, Newton OMP.

I've got an Apple IIgs on the way to play with. My other project is recapping some of the old Mac boards and doing Apple UNIX on the SE/30.
:Indy: Indy R4600 133MHz 64MB
:Indy: Indy R4600 100MHz 32MB

User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby itsvince725 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:36 am

@irinikus: What an unusual G5! My dual processor G5 has different processor covers than yours and the dual-core G5s usually have a one piece cover, so perhaps you have the legendary G5 Quad!
:Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:23 pm

Yeah that is a water cooled quad. Ive had a few G5 Macs... They're good for space heating but not much else.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby johnnym » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:40 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:Yeah that is a water cooled quad. Ive had a few G5 Macs... They're good for space heating but not much else.

No I don't think so, look at the PCI-X slots, the 11,2 type G5 Power Macs have PCI Express. This is most likely one of the first G5 Power Macs (type 7,2 or 7,3 from 2004).
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:53 pm

johnnym wrote:
Raion-Fox wrote:Yeah that is a water cooled quad. Ive had a few G5 Macs... They're good for space heating but not much else.

No I don't think so, look at the PCI-X slots, the 11,2 type G5 Power Macs have PCI Express. This is most likely one of the first G5 Power Macs (type 7,2 or 7,3 from 2004).


I agree, it was sold to me as a dual 800MHz G5 (one of the initial models)

I will only be able to test it and know what it’s specs are for sure, when I next return to Cape Town in the next few months.
Image...........................Image Image ImageImage Image Image Image Image
Image.............................Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image... Image AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Image................Image 486 DX4 100MHz. (My first Computer)
Image.........................Image Image JavaStation-10(Krups); Sun Fire V880z.
A snapshot of what I've got:.......................................................................:arrow:

User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby itsvince725 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:18 pm

I didn't consider that possibility.

Mine is the last of the PCI-X G5s from 2005.
:Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1436
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:49 pm

Yeah you're right.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest