Page 2 of 3

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 3:11 am
by yetanother**ixuser
not exactly, but i always install my macs either with target disk mode or carbon copy cloning, and it always works, no matter what kind of install disk (grey or retail) used.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:51 pm
by Raion-Fox
Tezro vs G5 would be better in terms of performance. I'd be interested to see.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:28 pm
by uunix
That does look nice.. but also very noisy.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:47 pm
by uunix
5 Months later and with the assistance of a friend, I have 1 G5 Power Dual 2.3GHz up and running with OSX 10.5.8 and I have to say, it is rather a spiffing machine. It looks nice, and in contrast to the original statement in this thread, it's very quiet. It's also very fast, but it really has just a clean install, so I'm not surprised.

So what will I be doing with it?
My initial idea was to output firewire to my DMedia10 via some application. I tested this on my mac mini, and found the protocol not identified so I'm expecting the same, but that's another story.

Also, after using macs for some considerable time, and updating my mini to always the very latest, I've come to the conclusion, that this (10.5 era) is probably my fondest.

Next step, it's got 3 GB of memory so, I'll dig round and see what I can muster up without spending any money. So far, it's cost me £10 for the two macs, £10 for a power lead and £20 for a pack of dual layered blank DVDs. I've changed the DVD player to a super drive and it has two 230B drives raided in Raid1.

I also have in the loft a ProFormat 1600sw Card and 5 1600sw monitors sitting in the loft. Not sure of any compatibility but hey ho, I'll have a look anyway.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 6:59 pm
by ClassicHasClass
G5s can still do a lot. They're not thrifty on power but with the right workload (they have steel testicles for FPUs) they can still be useful. The main problem with the G5 is that Apple, like Apple usually does, criminally undercached them. They really chug on branchy code that causes lots of cache misses. In the TenFourFox G5 JIT it's usually faster to "manually speculate" (execute both sides or do lots of precomputation expecting success and select the value rather than branch to the right code block first).

At least the Quad has 1MB per CPU, but even that's not enough.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:55 pm
by uunix
uunix wrote:Next step, it's got 3 GB of memory so, I'll dig round and see what I can muster up without spending any money. So far, it's cost me £10 for the two macs, £10 for a power lead and £20 for a pack of dual layered blank DVDs. I've changed the DVD player to a super drive and it has two 230B drives raided in Raid1.


Well that went to pot, it appears I may have drunk too much last night since I put a few 'Make Offer's in on ebay..

Final Cut Keyboard
Final Cut Studio (Final Cut 6)
AJA KONA LHe & Break out box...

So much for looking for free memory!!!

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:48 pm
by ClassicHasClass
Dude. Power Macs and alcohol DO NOT MIX.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:12 pm
by uunix
ClassicHasClass wrote:Dude. Power Macs and alcohol DO NOT MIX.

Indeed!!

But it has arrived (the AJA KONA card with breakout box).. albeit.. chucked over my garden fence :x :x :x

Downloaded drives/software and read the readme before hand.. and I swear it said 9.x was PPC compatible.. it wasn't and now I can't install 8.1 because the AJA removal tool (TOOL being the operative word here) isn't PPC compatible!! FFS!!

I feel I may do a new OSX install, but instead of RAIDing the two drives, make one drive a time machine drive! Or.. how do I remove it, because it won't let me install 8 over 9. So annoying!!

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:54 pm
by ClassicHasClass
I have no idea, I don't know what it installs :( If you have nothing else on there, wiping would certainly be simplest.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:11 pm
by uunix
It's OK, I deleted some library stuff, all seems ok now. Well I say OK, 8.1 AJA installed OK and it's passing certain tests.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:32 am
by uunix
First moments of success.. You all understand those moments of brilliance.. when you get a blip on the screen and you run over to your wife/husband/other and shout LOOK AT THIS!!! ........ and they just look you up and down with contempt at your productivity which could have been diverted to putting some shelving up!!

Yup B&W but I know what it's attempting, and I'm quite chuffed really, analogue and digital out, and it's throughput from the VBOB.

SWEET!!! :D My global dominating plan is coming together!

I'm looking at an 18U rack cabinet to tidy everything up.

IMG_5061.JPG


BTW, does anyone know what AJ TV is meant to do?

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:38 am
by fu
uunix wrote:
I'm looking at an 18U rack cabinet to tidy everything up.


is that jenga stack @ your home uu?

uunix wrote:BTW, does anyone know what AJ TV is meant to do?


it’s meant for quick previews and/or output of a quicktime sequence. instead of launching your editor, you fire up aja tv that talks to the aja hardware.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:22 am
by uunix
fu wrote:
uunix wrote:
I'm looking at an 18U rack cabinet to tidy everything up.


is that jenga stack @ your home uu?

uunix wrote:BTW, does anyone know what AJ TV is meant to do?


it’s meant for quick previews and/or output of a quicktime sequence. instead of launching your editor, you fire up aja tv that talks to the aja hardware.

Yep and the stack was bigger with video and hi-fi stuff. I had to separate as it was wobbling.

AJ TV does sort of nothing, no window, I have a menu bar, but no window.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:30 am
by fu
it should display something (as long as you're feeding the aja hardware with something from its input)

think of it as a live preview of what goes in/out of the card (without having to fire up the full-blown editor). if this is a messed up mac os x install, you might have better luck starting afresh.

Re: Apple Power G5 Vs Octane2 (NOISE CHALLENGE)

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:13 am
by uunix
I reckon the OSX install is fine, but the AJA install maybe a bit skew-whiff.. So yes, it may be worth starting from scratch.

But what you are saying fu, is that starting AJ TV should open a window that display whatever input the card is receiving?