Setting resolution and enabling GPU with VNC

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Setting resolution and enabling GPU with VNC

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:44 pm

Incidentally, in case you didn't get the No Dong reference,

http://www.mojvideo.com/video-super-new ... 1d7761e38e
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Setting resolution and enabling GPU with VNC

Unread postby guardian452 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 2:48 pm

Dennis Nedry wrote:Yup.

I've filed so many bug reports on this issue alone it's ridiculous. The few responses I got back from Apple Engineering were all along the line of "we're doing things the way we think they should be done and you're clearly wrong".

OS X won't enable a GPU unless it has a monitor plugged into it. There is no way around this, short of hex editing the kernel extensions, but even then I never got anywhere with that. If the local GPU is disabled, then OS X will default to a software rendering system which is capped to 1280x1024 due to severe performance issues (as you've already found out). Those issues are so bad under 10.9 and 10.10 that VNC is virtually unusable without a GPU installed and active in the system.

You can either plug in a monitor, or invest in one of those fake HDMI or Mini DisplayPort "monitor emulators" that trick OS X into thinking a display is connected. HOWEVER, there is a pretty serious caveat with this- if your dongle emulator reports a display size greater then 2560x1600, OS X 10.9 and above will think that it's a HiDPI display and completely screw up your VNC connection to the point of being utterly worthless. There is no way to disable that functionality, so if you're buying a dongle make sure it's not a 4K model (like the CompuLab fit-Headless 4K).

TLDR; remote controlling OS X is a huge bag of hurt. Apple don't give a shit, and there are no workarounds :(. Welcome to the future of consumer oriented computing...

-DN

I have installed the program called DisplayMenu. You can set whatever display mode you want, HiDPI or not, from the menu bar. With or without a display plugged in. I was using 1920x1080 non-retina unaccelerated. The performance is not *that* bad. http://displaymenu.milchimgemuesefach.de/ HiDPI is not related to screen resolution but DPI. E.G. a 3840x2160 50" screen will not be considered hi-dpi. But a 24" screen at the same resolution will be.

nyef
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Setting resolution and enabling GPU with VNC

Unread postby nyef » Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:55 am

Dennis Nedry wrote:TLDR; remote controlling OS X is a huge bag of hurt. Apple don't give a shit, and there are no workarounds :(. Welcome to the future of consumer oriented computing...

In general, remote controlling OS X is a huge bag of hurt. You want POSIX APIs that actually work? Reliable SIGTRAP handling? User programs not to be able to crash the kernel? Suspend-to-disk to function correctly? :lol:

I have a Mac Mini that I bought specifically to run an up-to-date OSX environment for work reasons (primary requirements: Skype, GoToMeeting, VNC, a real keyboard, not bloody Windows, and can keep its state if left unplugged for three weeks). But the lack of working suspend-to-disk renders the machine useless in my particular scenario. I can't even reasonably use it as a media machine, because iTunes loses track of where it was when the system restarts. At this point I'm debating installing Linux on it, even though I have no current use for another x86oid Linux box. :roll:

armanox
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:31 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

Re: Setting resolution and enabling GPU with VNC

Unread postby armanox » Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:53 am

Dennis Nedry wrote:Yup.

I've filed so many bug reports on this issue alone it's ridiculous. The few responses I got back from Apple Engineering were all along the line of "we're doing things the way we think they should be done and you're clearly wrong".

OS X won't enable a GPU unless it has a monitor plugged into it. There is no way around this, short of hex editing the kernel extensions, but even then I never got anywhere with that. If the local GPU is disabled, then OS X will default to a software rendering system which is capped to 1280x1024 due to severe performance issues (as you've already found out). Those issues are so bad under 10.9 and 10.10 that VNC is virtually unusable without a GPU installed and active in the system.


You think that's bad, you should see how Windows handles GPUs. The GPU might be active without a display attached (on my desktop, if I want to be able to run OpenCL on the HD3000 embedded on my CPU (with everything else using a real GPU) I have to plug a monitor in. If I RDP into my desktop, or use VNC, I lose the ability to use the GPU regardless of if it is plugged in to something.
"Apollo was astonished, Dionysus thought me mad."
:Octane: :Octane: :O2:


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests