power mac g5

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:28 pm

Hi, i own a mac g5 dualcore 1.8 ghz,
2.5 gb ram, 1tb sats hdd.

i used to have osx leopard 10.5.8, but
no more because i changed my hdd to
a new one!.

i dont have the install cd/dvd anymore,
lost it a few years ago!.

Allso i chanded the dvd drive (did'nt work
anymore!), to a new one ( pc dvd drive!).

I called Apple to ask how much it would cost
me to order a new osx 10.5.8 dvd,
Apple wants 200$!
Thats to much, when you think about how
cheap you can buy lion for aprox 25$,
which i ordered from Apple store for my
brand new mac mini.

I have been trying to get my old mac g5
up and running with no sucess (screen, mouse, hdd, dvd, graphicscard ok , psu
ok!).

I did install Yellow dog linux and ubuntu linux
10.04 ( cant remember version no),
but the installer freezing half way!.
Ubuntu installs perfect, but black screen
at login !.

Now i will try one more time, to install
newest ubuntu distro, hope it will work!.

I will be glad if i can get a used osx and
install it without any problems!.

otherwise i will properly buy an old
new mac g5 more powerfull.

I do own a lot of music software for mac
, bought offcourse!.

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby smj » Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:24 pm

If you did want OSX and couldn't find somebody with a disc you could borrow, you might be able to dig up an ISO image from Apple if you have access to the developer program. Don't have details, but a friend is a long-time Apple dev and had lost his Jaguar (?) DVD. A few releases later, this was how he got a copy. YMMV, and the dev program may still be more $$$ than you'd want to spend.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
commodorejohn
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:22 pm
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby commodorejohn » Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:57 pm

Leopard is "around" on the Internet, if you get my drift. But you'll need a dual-layer-capable DVD burner for it.
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/HS-80/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/M1, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Emax HD/Proteus-2, Casio CZ-5000, Moog Satellite, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 3:25 pm

Leopard is "around" on the Internet, if you get my drift. But you'll need a dual-layer-capable DVD burner for it.


I know what you mean, but i'm afraid
i've get infected with virus, especially
pc virus.
I do own a brand new monster selfbuild
pc, which i bought pro music software
for over 4000$.

I'm using this pc for 3d programs and
creating / composing music!.

Offcourse i have norton 360.

I would be better of buying a used osx!.

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 3:29 pm

I dont have any apple developher acount, but would
like to!.

the developher acount is for people doing
objective c, which i have'nt pick up yet,
only basic ( game creator dark basic pro),
plus c++ bla bla.

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Thu Aug 21, 2014 3:32 pm

You could also check out MorphOS, look at MorphOS.de and see if you device is supported. It has a free evaluation version for download, the only reason I never used it was because I don't like that it is 32-bit only and only runs on secondhand hardware.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:13 pm

Unfortunately, both 10.4 and 10.5 retail packages are incredibly expensive. I was fortunate to buy my Leopard discs just after Snow Leopard came out, so they weren't that expensive. Tiger, on the other hand, can be a couple hundred itself, especially the 10.4.6 retail version which will boot any Tiger-compatible Power Mac.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby guardian452 » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:20 pm

Try calling apple again. I've heard reports of being quoted different prices from "ridiculous" to "free, even free shipping" for OSX installation media depending on who or what time you call. (I wouldn't bother as others mentioned, you can find a free download anywhere...)

As for needing a dual-layer disc, can't you just use a USB or firewire disk to boot the installation from?

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:26 pm

FireWire is a yes.
USB is iffy, depends on the computer, the HDD/enclosure ( Disk drives won't work period ) and whether Walpurgis Night witches are around or killed by Homura.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:32 am

i've try connection a usb key with
os x 10.5.

osx tiger is to old.

I used to download alot of
free legal software for pc,
i had so many virus infection!.
no more!.

Even if i get a osx from internet, it could
contain virus, a pc virus, that could infect
my pc!. ( sometimes all computers are conected
in network!).

I just hate virus!.

otherwise i would mind getting osx
from anywhere, but i can't that, i am
not suppose to, moderators are wacthing
me!.

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:35 am

sorry, spell error " would'nt mind getting
osx" from anywhere".

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:43 am

To TeamBlackFox.

Sorry, yes i forgot. the mac i have only
accepts firewire external dvd for booting
osx - installs.


Even so, someone on the i internet reported
back, they had sucess booting osx 10.5 from a usb
key!), i dont know if thats the true!.

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:46 am

osx tiger is to old.


I hate to break it to you, but 10.5 is no spring chicken either. :D

10.5 runs better on G5 systems than 10.4 does, but 10.4 has Classic, and I still run Classic apps from my long investment in Mac stuff. So Tiger forever, which is why TenFourFox runs on 10.4.

USB booting on Power Macs is very hit-and-miss. On the same machine, it worked once, and then I used a different device, and it didn't work. So it probably did work for them, but you can't duplicate the conditions. Stick to FireWire.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:15 am

yes, you're right, but my software for
power mac , only accepts osx 10.5!.
spectrsonics omnisphere , which is a
very powerfull synthesizer plugin for
cubase, pro tools , needs 10.5!.
Actually some of the software i have,
support both windows 7, intel mac with lion
and leopard ppc!.
for me , its a win win situation, if you
can put it this way!.

henrik2008
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:43 am
Location: Danmark

Re: power mac g5

Unread postby henrik2008 » Fri Aug 22, 2014 10:19 am

i meant, its a win win situation, if
i get mac running with osx leopard,
and at the same time use my software
for power mac g5!.


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest