PowerMac G5 Quad Core

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: PowerMac G5 Quad Core

Unread postby porter » Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:39 pm

metallizer wrote:You need at least 10.4.2 for the dual core models.


mnorton wrote:The install CD is 10.4 Tiger.


10.4.2?

CD, not DVD?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: PowerMac G5 Quad Core

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:26 pm

There was a CD version of 10.4, a 4 disc set.
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
mnorton
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 11:36 am
Location: Caulifawnia

Re: PowerMac G5 Quad Core

Unread postby mnorton » Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:26 am

This is all working and I am expecting some fresh memory from NewEgg today. Very cool machine.
Too bad Flash is only supported to 10.1.
And no Google Chrome for the G5 -or is there?

Well, still a great little machine <that weighs a ton>.

I need to find a SATA 3 card or something that will support high thru put to the disk.

thanks.

Everyone for your input.
Image x1 Image x2

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3292
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Re: PowerMac G5 Quad Core

Unread postby skywriter » Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:32 am

How fast do you want? I get 100mb/sec to the internal disk and somewhat less to an external E-SATA RAID (drobo). Do think you'll find a SATA 3 driver for PPC?
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: PowerMac G5 Quad Core

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Fri Nov 04, 2011 12:10 am

I've got 2x 1TB seagate drives in mine.
You could try is the following.
Only have your OS drive installed.


To boot into Open Firmware, shut down your Mac, then start it up while holding down the
Command, Option, O and F keys. At the prompt, enter the following commands, pressing
the return key after each:

Code: Select all

 reset-nvram
    set-defaults
    reset-all


Otherwise if it refuses to pick up anything on the SATA ports then it could be a dead controller.
Try looking on ebay then for a Sonnet PCIe SATA card. I'm thinking of getting one
myself and an addition drive cage for a few more internal drives...

Also if you can, pick up a standard PC Nvidia 7800GT/7900GTX.. But you're on your own regarding firmware ;)
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest