IRIX - Mac OS X (comparison of graphics development tools)

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
melchez

Unread postby melchez » Wed May 04, 2011 2:15 am

Disclaimer - I'm not a programmer, developer or anything remotely as intelligent

I've been messing around with Xcode over the years, not getting past the "hello world !" stage but still having fun. Once in a while do a the IRIX - Mac OS X comparison thing in my little head.

IRIX - One of the big reasons I see folks holding on to it was the tools SGI had under the hood when it came to graphics, beside being the platform for the start of OpenGL aka irixGL the Dmedia libraries gave developers a serious platform to develop some interesting graphical tools, not to over look the audio ability of the OS.

Mac OS X - seem to have taken the torch and offers it developers a wealth of tools to create power graphical tools by way of the Core frameworks: Core Animation, Core Image, Core Data, Core Audio, Quiktime and the rest. It just seem like folks are not really into this being that there are few apps outside of Apple created apps that take advantage of the Core Framework, to name a few: Cheetah3D, Pixelmator, Node (Mac OS X version of Processing.org), I'm pretty sure there a lot more in the science world. Xcode is an affordable developing tool, $4 via the AppStore. I can understand trying to develop programs that can be ran or easily recompiled on different platforms but I say screw that when you have option to create a powerful app using a specific OS platform from the tools it offer to create it. :D

What are your take, thoughts on this??