where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
theinonen
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Finland

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby theinonen » Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:48 pm

sybrfreq wrote:IMO flux is unnecessary unless you are soldering plumbing. :shock:


It is usually done with gas welding equipment anyway.

Or you could get one of these, and get the same work done with only a press of a button.
Attachments
Roller.jpg
Soldering is so yesterday...

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3479
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby guardian452 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:59 pm

I don't do much plumbing work anymore, but I've never used anything other than solder and a good old propane torch. and flux :D That's the way my dad taught me, that's what I do in my own house and it's standard for north america.

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby SAQ » Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:21 pm

sybrfreq wrote:I don't do much plumbing work anymore, but I've never used anything other than solder and a good old propane torch. and flux :D That's the way my dad taught me, that's what I do in my own house and it's standard for north america.



But whatever you do don't use plumbing flux on circuit boards.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
mnorton
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 11:36 am
Location: Caulifawnia

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby mnorton » Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:29 am

OK - I ordered this stuff. The CAP removal SAGA continues...

http://www.jwestsales.com/products/Chip ... l-Kit.html

I'll keep you posted.
Image x1 Image x2

User avatar
Ryan Fox
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby Ryan Fox » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:15 pm


Replacing capacitors is usually a simple and straightforward task. Personally, I've done it many times on retro hardware. Its usually the first components to fail on any power supply.


Regards

Ryan
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB

User avatar
mnorton
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 11:36 am
Location: Caulifawnia

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby mnorton » Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:43 am

Replacing capacitors USED to be straight forward. With the newer PCB designs and copper cores. It's a bit more than the ol 45 WATT soldering can handle. So we're learning some new things now.

Go search youtube for iMac G5 capacitor repairs. Then you'll see what we're referring to. We all got snagged with what should be a simple upgrade. I am going to take a crack at the project again this weekend.

I'll post here how the chemical works with the desoldering.
Image x1 Image x2

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3479
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby guardian452 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:18 pm

I did about two dozen MSI and gigabyte boards a few years ago (EVERY MSI board had failed caps and ALL BUT ONE gigabyte board-one was fried by the power supply). After the first one or two it is childs play, but big supplies are quite a bit different than off-brand PC boards. MSI and gigabyte boards are probably junk when new... I certainly learned to stay away from them.

User avatar
MisterDNA
Posts: 1090
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Brigham City, UT

Re: where to find powersupply for iMac G5

Unread postby MisterDNA » Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:53 pm

A heat gun to preheat the evil ground and power planes in these boards is pretty much crucial. You're usually good below 700F for as long as it takes to bring the source side of the board up to temp since most through-hole parts like caps are wave-soldered. If there are hand-soldered through-hole parts in place, those were hand-soldered because they will melt in the wave tunnel. Yeah, stay away from those with the heat.

With the preheat, you should have no trouble cleaning the hole. If you do, just do like me and use a wide tip on your iron to melt the solder in both holes at the same time and feed the new cap through to push the solder out of the way.

I use a Hakko iron, personally, but there are a lot of choices. Metcal for the dead-serious, for one.
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest