Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
I managed to leave my Mac Mini on a train.

It was not turned into lost and found.

I want to scrounge up the cheapest thing I can get that will let me compile things for that iPhone gadget.

I learned I can use the SDK on OS X 10.5, and that 10.5 will run on a G4 872mhz+, and that there are dual G4 872mhz on Allegro.pl for like 500 złoty.

Is there any reason this is a horrible idea?

_________________
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 2946
Location: USA
Frapazoid wrote:
I learned I can use the SDK on OS X 10.5, and that 10.5 will run on a G4 872mhz+, and that there are dual G4 872mhz on Allegro.pl for like 500 złoty.

Is there any reason this is a horrible idea?

Hey, Frapazoid, welcome back! Long time, no see!

I guess that some of the older versions of the SDK could partially work on a G4, but the iPhone SDK is officially supported only on Intel cpus, and the Simulator won't run at all on PPC.

Save your złotys for an Intel Mac. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
Thanks! I had no idea it wouldn't go on PPC. Good thing I asked!

_________________
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
josehill wrote:
Save your złotys for an Intel Mac. :D


Or Hacintosh yourself.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:49 am
Posts: 1157
Location: Poznan, Poland
Will that work on AMD64?

_________________
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 771
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
There seem to be AMD64 compatible install images floating around.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Posts: 5244
yes but i would highly recommend intel cpu and nvidia gfx

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
foetz wrote:
yes but i would highly recommend intel cpu and nvidia gfx


Get it as close to an Apple model as you can - makes things much easier.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2917
Location: NZ
Frapazoid wrote:
I want to scrounge up the cheapest thing I can get that will let me compile things for that iPhone gadget.


Can you compile on an iPad?

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:00 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 1:09 pm
Posts: 799
Location: Europe
Frapazoid wrote:
Will that work on AMD64?

A friend runs 10.5 on a quad-core AMD64 PC. It works fairly well (minor instability problems here and there), but some OS upgrades break, since I imagine not much testing is done on AMD CPUs.
As foetz and SAQ mentioned, get a configuration that's as close to stock Apple specs as possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group