Page 3 of 4

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Tue May 11, 2010 6:47 pm
by pentium
Sweet. Thanks.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:29 pm
by BoogWar
Hi all, It's been a long time since I posted on this thread...
Update..I finally got all my hardware in one place, but I am now facing two seemingly insurmountable problems. 1) I bought a slightly used P4 Box, threw a lot of RAM at it and a 120 Gig Hd. Tried to load Windows NT 4.0 - No Joy. Loaded XP on it instead, tried to put Avid MCXpress on that; while the programs and drivers loaded, Avid would crash as soon as u tried to start a project. I have a 2000 Pro RTX with breakout box and 512 MB Ram (I know, not a lot these days). Internet searching has told me that the stop error I get when tryig to load windwows is a serious incompatibility error (STOP: 0x0000003E (0x00000080,0x00000000,0x00000000,0x00000000) p5-0000 irql:1f SYSVER 0xf0000565) with the CPU. OF course Microsoft has discontinued support for the NT platform for somer years now. I have heard stories on running Avid on XP but I don't see how this is possible even in compatibility mode as the difference between the 2 OS's is very fundamental. If anyone on this thread has a solution, I would love to hear it.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:08 pm
by BoogWar
OK, A BIOS update took care of the NT-not-loading-problem. So I've actually got the the thing to run. But something still is wrong in that the captured frames are missing huge blocks of information. The file still plays, but it looks like the frame was put together by lego. And there is tearing too. But the system is very stable. I am running an ASRock 775i6GV board with a Intel 'Prescott' 3.06 GHz CPU with 512 MB RAM and this 2000 RTX Capture board. My Drive subsystem is 7200 RPM EIDE, and I cannot find the drivers for the controller chipset to run properly under NT. I plod on...

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:54 am
by GeneratriX
BoogWar wrote:My Drive subsystem is 7200 RPM EIDE, and I cannot find the drivers for the controller chipset to run properly under NT.


That is your problem!

...the Targa line is anything but friendly with IDE/EIDE/ATA disks ...sorry by this categoric sentence, but I think this is the truth. Excepting some nice 72000/10000RPM SCSI disk, the only way I managed to get it to work with Ultra-ATA disks was by using a Promise FastTrack PCI card with at least two 7200RPM Ultra-ATA disks configured as stripe.

This way the system behaves almost exactly as a good and fast SCSI partition.

In fact if you are lucky, it allows frequently for the Direct Disk Access checkbox effectively to work.

I must say that I think I've never tried anything of the above beyond the boundaries of MS Windows2KPro... but if you already got the system working with XP, then it seems you're already there!

Oh, even more! Perhaps you could convince it to work with the newest Promise FastTrack versions, using SATA disks. But you have my word that it works "perfectly" (if you can say anything like that) with the FastTrack100 and Ultra-ATA disk units.

It seems TrueVision never conceived the idea of one of their boards working with a single IDE disk. Perhaps anyone else could point better than me what the problem was... but this are news from Targa hardware.

All the best; good luck! ;)
Diego

[EDIT] Fixed some typo's [/EDIT]

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:54 pm
by QuicksilverG4
OK, try this one.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:18 pm
by QuicksilverG4
Any luck with the new download?

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 12:13 am
by pentium
Unfortunately, my system has been down for the alst couple of weeks and all Ig ot to work off of is a laptop in the meantime. I'll take a diac over to my firnds house sometime soon and see if we can burn it and get it to work on his system. He has the same card as I do.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:11 pm
by BoogWar
Well well, I've been a busy little bee...turns out that the motherboard I had my card on bought the farm because of a lightning strike, and it cooked my RTX as well. So instead of fixing the motherboard, which was otherwise fine (just the IRQ assignments were getting screwy) I pulled out a dead Dell Dimension 2400 and just bought a motherboard for it. Bought a new RTX off of eBay as well. Also bought an Avid Mediadock (you guessed it, eBay again) with 12 extra drives. Media dock came sans SCSI card, though. The guy I bought the drives from sez he will send me SCSI Card and cables + another dock for 70 bucks. Not bad, considering these drives in their heyday were more than $900 apiece! But MCXpress works fine with IDE now, just a 40 GB 5400rpm drive, can't capture at more than 150K, but its sustainable. When I get the SCSI cards and stuff I hope to go up to 300K, experience has tought me I won't get more than that. Will post my troubles / fixes as they happen. Thanks for the help provided!

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:22 am
by pentium
It too WAY too long to confirm if this worded but yes, the burn and mount was successful!
Thank you so much Quicksilver.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:08 am
by BoogWar
Ok, it has been six months since I posted on this thread. My RTX board is now completely stable in its Dell home, I haven't got around to dual booting the Dell with XP yet but I shall. MCXPress is working PROPERLY, with no hitches whatsoever. I do need to know something, though. There was a trick to getting all the effects in MCXPress to appear in the program, but for the life of me I don't remember it. I may be wrong, but I think it had something to do with the mcx.ini file, like how one has to put -b capt in to enable capture rates greater than 200K. Diego, if u could help me on this I would be most appreciative...

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:48 am
by GeneratriX
BoogWar wrote:Diego, if u could help me on this I would be most appreciative...


Hey there.
Well, as I've stated above, I have many years without any Targa setup now. Basicly, many years ago I've changed the Targa setup for a fully loaded SGI VW320.

Anyway, I've browsed my CDROM's with MCXpress 1.5.1, and I was very surprised to see that them still work... but I could not find anything inside to recall if some kind of hack was required to allow the effects. I could not remember if something like that was needed.

Have in mind that for these age I've tried mostly every programme reported to run with Targa, including every variety from SpeedRazor, and all the rest... so, sometimes in fact I must do a big effort of mind to separate my experiences with Targa from my experiences with VW320... not to mention my ages with Reveal VE500, Fast VideoMachine, Fast AV Master, Truevision Bravado 1000, Pinnacle Miro DC10, Pinnacle Miro DC30 Plus, Pinnacle Miro DC10 Plus, Pinnacle Miro DV500... and others... oh well, too much to recall it now.

As you could guess, for those years I've tried mostly everything because the state of art for non linear videoediting was not too good yet. Add to this, I've spent lots of money along a few years, and things always worked in a mediocre fashion. Computing power was not to good, and disk space was very expensive, so, the surrounding ambient never helped a lot. Then I've changed to IRIX/MIPS, and then to LINUX... :?

If there is an 'mcx.ini' maybe I could just try to add to it the path to the folder containing the effects, and then I could browse carefully the 'Preferences' menue (if there is any) to look if there is some last resource to activate them... or if they require separate license files.

Sorry, I can vaguely recall something as you describe, but I could not remember if it was exactly with MCXpress, or maybe other programmes for ir or for VW320, something else from the IRIX world, or maybe even something from past lifes... :D

There are still in my office about 2000 CDROM's from all those ages.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Fri May 06, 2011 7:03 am
by BoogWar
Note to Self...MCXpress special effects bundle is composed in Elastic Reality and are included in all releases of MCXPress except 1.6. So go to the earlier CD-ROMs, even if you have ver 1.6 already installed, and look for an MCeffects folder, then double click the setup file and Voila!

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:50 pm
by metallizer
bump to this topic.

Just got my hands on these cards, it´s a targa 2000 rtx + breakout box + abekas dveous 3D effects card.

SPB090035.jpg


It will take some time to build a system around these, I have some other projects going on.

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:43 pm
by GeneratriX
metallizer wrote:bump to this topic.

Just got my hands on these cards, it´s a targa 2000 rtx + breakout box + abekas dveous 3D effects card.


Wow!, nice kit! ...so many memories! :)

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:57 pm
by guardian452
metallizer wrote:SPB090035.jpg

It will take some time to build a system around these, I have some other projects going on.


rawr! the ESD cop is here to shut you down! I spy, with my little eye... a polyester carpet and nonconductive plastic bags. :twisted:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16725677
I see somebody was kind enough to make a wiki page, thanks wreck and pymble!