My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:37 am

Hi All.
I got my first Mac last week.
It is a first gen. iMac G3. It had a 6GB IDE drive so I slammed in a bigger one, a 120GB I had laying around .
After installation of Mac OS 9 on the drive it wouldn't boot.
It just alternates between a folder with the Mac face and a folder with a question mark at startup.

Do I need to do something special after the disk format and the OS Install that is not documented?

I also tried putting a smaller 10 GB partition for the system, in case it has some size limit issue.
Tried another 80 GB drive.
Tried both extended and standard partitions.
I also installed disk drivers form the partition program.

But never got it to boot from the harddrive.
I'm using the standard 6GB drive for now but really would like to use a bigger disk.

Suggestions for an Apple newbie?

//Harry
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby josehill » Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:54 am

The older iMacs have IDE controllers that need a boot partition smaller than 8 GB. See http://support.apple.com/kb/TA22193 for details.

While not directly related to the drive issue, you'll also want to make sure that your system's firmware is up to date. You can get the installer from Apple's support site. IIRC, you need to boot from OS 9.1 to run the last firmware update.

User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:09 am

So I was on the right track with a small boot partition!
I will have another go at it after work.

Thanks for the info Josehill!
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:36 pm

Well, creating a smaller than 8GB start partition did not help.
Any more suggestions?

//Harry
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby porter » Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:46 pm

deBug wrote:Well, creating a smaller than 8GB start partition did not help.
Any more suggestions?


Was this partition at the start of the drive?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:04 am

porter wrote:
deBug wrote:Well, creating a smaller than 8GB start partition did not help.
Any more suggestions?


Was this partition at the start of the drive?

Yes. Well at least I belive it was.
I created it at the top of the graphical view of partitions in the partion program so I belive it to be the first partition using the first sectors of the disk. But it is hard to tell, the Mac OS 9 GUI is somewhat... childish ;)
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby porter » Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:43 pm

deBug wrote:Do I need to do something special after the disk format and the OS Install that is not documented?


I normally start from "Initialize" in HD Setup or similar in Drive Setup. SCSI drive initialisation was a black art if you did not get the drive from Apple, but IDE should be no problem.

Jumpers?

Did you set the "Startup Disk"?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby josehill » Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:37 pm

You might also try zapping the PRAM - http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:22 pm

30 GB disk works fine.
It must have a size limit on the harddrive parameters

//Harry
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby josehill » Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:46 pm

deBug wrote:30 GB disk works fine.
It must have a size limit on the harddrive parameters

//Harry

I'm guessing that the PRAM zappage didn't work, eh?

Are you sure it's a 120 GB and not a 160 GB drive? The only other old Mac ATA/IDE limitation I know of kicks in at the 48bit threshold of 128 GB, but even then you should be able to see smaller partitions on a large drive.

Is the drive visible if you boot from CD? If so, try opening the Startup Disk control panel, selecting the drive, and then restarting.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby porter » Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:56 pm

josehill wrote:The only other old Mac ATA/IDE limitation I know of kicks in at the 48bit threshold of 128 GB, but even then you should be able to see smaller partitions on a large drive.


My Beige G3 has an 8gig drive after my attempts to use a 40gig drive failed.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby josehill » Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:10 pm

porter wrote:My Beige G3 has an 8gig drive after my attempts to use a 40gig drive failed.

The Beige G3 is another machine that needs a boot partition smaller than 8 GB, and the drive is supposed to be set to "master."

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby josehill » Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:12 pm

@deBug - Porter mentioned "Jumpers" on his earlier post. Did you set the drive to be Master?

User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:22 am

josehill wrote:I'm guessing that the PRAM zappage didn't work, eh?

Didn't try it.

Are you sure it's a 120 GB and not a 160 GB drive? The only other old Mac ATA/IDE limitation I know of kicks in at the 48bit threshold of 128 GB, but even then you should be able to see smaller partitions on a large drive.

Jupp, it's a 120G

Is the drive visible if you boot from CD? If so, try opening the Startup Disk control panel, selecting the drive, and then restarting.

[/quote]
It is, did try to set it as active drive in the Startup Disk panel.
No difference.
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
deBug
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My First Mac! Help me get a bigger hard drive in to my iMac

Unread postby deBug » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:28 am

josehill wrote:@deBug - Porter mentioned "Jumpers" on his earlier post. Did you set the drive to be Master?

It dont seems very likely that there is comunications problem as the harddrive shows up fine, has the correct size, can per partitioned.
No problem installing and copying files to it as long as one has booted from the CD.

But I'm good. The 30GB drive is enough for me.
I just need space to place a few Gigs of MAME ROMs on it. It's going to be an Arcade machine (I'm also considering getting the Connectix Playstation emulator)
Thanks for your help.

//Harry
Mein Führer, I can walk!


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest