Taming the Leopard

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
cicero
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: Austria

Taming the Leopard

Unread postby cicero » Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:09 am

Apple started to sell Mac OSX 10.5. Who is planning to get the new MacOSX version?
Are there already some pieces of informationen about running 10.5 on older Macs e.g. G4 400 MHz?
:O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

User avatar
yuckymucky
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:07 am
Location: NV
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby yuckymucky » Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:38 pm

I will probably upgrade to it sometime in the next few months, I am pretty happy with 10.4 so I am in no big rush.

Apple says that you need at least a G4 867Mhz for it run, so your 400Mhz machine will probably be quite slow.

User avatar
milatchi
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: EV-ERY-ONE!
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby milatchi » Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:15 pm

My copy arrived at 10:16 AM this morning VIA FedEx. I installed it a few hours ago after I got off of work and I'm playing with it now. :)
"EV-ERY-ONE!" --Stansfield

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby SAQ » Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:41 pm

Probably not for a while, if ever. The lack of Classic is a bit of a dealbreaker.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby nekonoko » Sat Oct 27, 2007 4:14 am

I have it up and running on all my machines (Mac Pro, iMac x86, MacBook, G4 tower). Good to go so far.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

cicero
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby cicero » Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:37 pm

nekonoko wrote:I have it up and running on all my machines (Mac Pro, iMac x86, MacBook, G4 tower). Good to go so far.

So you have been busy the last days updating all your Mac boxes to Leopard.
Your iMac x86 is a first generation model with Intel Core cpu and with a mate display? Not the current Alu iMac?

yuckymucky wrote:Apple says that you need at least a G4 867Mhz for it run, so your 400Mhz machine will probably be quite slow.

Yes I can image that Leopard will not install or run quit slow on this old mac.
It's a quite old powermac 400 with PCI gfx that I use in the office for surfing, ssh shells, web radio, converting mac fonts, etc. No serious image/video/dtp applications. Maybe I should try to upgrade to tiger first. 10.3.9 is currently running on it.
:O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby josehill » Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:04 pm

cicero wrote:It's a quite old powermac 400 with PCI gfx that I use in the office for surfing, ssh shells, web radio, converting mac fonts, etc. No serious image/video/dtp applications. Maybe I should try to upgrade to tiger first. 10.3.9 is currently running on it.

Tiger runs great on that configuration. With RAM so cheap, make sure that you have at least 512 MB in the box. Personally, I suggest 1 GB, particularly on an older machine.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby nekonoko » Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:44 am

cicero wrote:Your iMac x86 is a first generation model with Intel Core cpu and with a mate display? Not the current Alu iMac?


Right, it's a 20" 2GHz CoreDuo.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
Gray Fox
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 2:17 pm
Location: Beatrice, NE, USA

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby Gray Fox » Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:27 pm

The new Mac OS cant be installed on systems under 867Mhz even if the got a CPU upgrade. Unless you can get it to work. But jess didnt get it to work on her mac. G4 Mac with G4 Dual 1.6GHz CPU upgrade is what she's got.

cicero
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby cicero » Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:45 pm

josehill wrote:Tiger runs great on that configuration. With RAM so cheap, make sure that you have at least 512 MB in the box. Personally, I suggest 1 GB, particularly on an older machine.

Yes some days ago I upgraded to 768 MB. I found some SDRAM DIMMs in a dusty WinNT box ;)
Today I 've created some business cards in xpress. it runs quite well on this old box. But I'll keep my eyes open for additional memory. 1 GB is max?

Anyone here that ownes one of the current alu iMacs?
:O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby josehill » Mon Oct 29, 2007 3:49 pm

cicero wrote:Yes some days ago I upgraded to 768 MB. I found some SDRAM DIMMs in a dusty WinNT box ;)
Today I 've created some business cards in xpress. it runs quite well on this old box. But I'll keep my eyes open for additional memory. 1 GB is max?

768 MB is pretty good. As for how much RAM your machine can take, take a look at the appropriate machine page http://www.lowendmac.com/ppc/index.shtml or the RAM configurator at http://crucial.com .

User avatar
zahal
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby zahal » Mon Oct 29, 2007 10:23 pm

Gray Fox wrote:The new Mac OS cant be installed on systems under 867Mhz even if the got a CPU upgrade. Unless you can get it to work. But jess didnt get it to work on her mac. G4 Mac with G4 Dual 1.6GHz CPU upgrade is what she's got.


Just read this at cubeowner:

http://www.cubeowner.com/forums/index.p ... opic=13004

Seems I'll have to hook up my Cube in target disk mode in order to install 10.5
Or find the plist that has the supported machines....
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 600MHz PIII - HP Alphaserver DS15 - Digital DECstation5000/133 - Dell T3500 - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6100/66 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6500/G3@500MHz - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh LC475 (OC Full 040 33MHz) - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Full 040 40Mhz Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - EBOX 3300A-JSK - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Compaq Armada 4120 - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP OmniBook 425 - HP 200LX - Crossbeam C12

cicero
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby cicero » Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:30 am

Tnx for the link zahal. Seems that Leopard is slower on PPC Macs than Tiger:
http://www.lowendmac.com/musings/mm07/1029.html
From the economic point of view it's understandable that Apple has "optimized" Leopard for x86 Macs. They want their customers to change.

josehill wrote:768 MB is pretty good.

Yes it seems to run good. It's a PCI gfx model (Yikes), so it can take only 1 GB RAM max.
I'll keep on searching discarded Win NT boxes in the office for compatible SDRAM dimms.
Maybe I find even an old AGP Power Mac ;)
:O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane:

User avatar
SupremeCmdr
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby SupremeCmdr » Tue Oct 30, 2007 5:57 am

cicero wrote:Apple started to sell Mac OSX 10.5. Who is planning to get the new MacOSX version?
Are there already some pieces of informationen about running 10.5 on older Macs e.g. G4 400 MHz?


It might be a while before I venture into Leopard land with my PowerBook. I fear that some of my key apps, notably Oracle will take some tweaking to get working again. Might wait for the first update and then take the plunge.

Best Feature: DTrace !!!!

How is the performance like on a G4 system?
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog

User avatar
zahal
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am

Re: Taming the Leopard

Unread postby zahal » Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:13 am

BTW, has anyone performed a CLEAN INSTALL? Can you format your boot volume as ZFS?
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 600MHz PIII - HP Alphaserver DS15 - Digital DECstation5000/133 - Dell T3500 - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6100/66 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6500/G3@500MHz - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh LC475 (OC Full 040 33MHz) - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Full 040 40Mhz Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - EBOX 3300A-JSK - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Compaq Armada 4120 - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP OmniBook 425 - HP 200LX - Crossbeam C12


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest