Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby kshuff » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:38 pm

I'm running Windows 10 Enterprise version 1703 build 15063.877, as of about a week ago I keep getting a popup stating my license will expire soon and I need to activate Windows. Settings shows Windows is activated. Looked into this and found it's probably due to the Fall Creator update. I checked my update history and found this update has been failing since 12-10-2017 with the error "Feature update to Windows 10, version 1709 - Error 0xc1900204". Looked into this error and tried some fixes but nothing seems to work as all the fixed seem to be geared to everything except Enterprise. Can anyone help?
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1554
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:16 pm

Tried this?:

Type Windows Key + R and type Regedit” press Enter.
Locate the following
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion
Right click on the value named ProgramFilesDir & change the default value C:\Program Files to the path you want to install all your programs in.
Click OK and Exit.
Restart the PC and try perform the update again.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby spiroyster » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:45 am

I really wouldn't recommend changing the program files, especially on an 64-bit Enterprise machine o.0

for one, no support (extra important on Enterprise machine?):
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... gram-files

for two, an important reason it is not supported:
Most programs should use System.Environment.SpecialFolder.ProgramFiles, which leaves hardcoded strings out (so the correct 'program files' location can be resolved even if it is set to c:\foobar), however in reality programs don't do this, instead opting
to query the environment variable at runtime...Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("ProgramFiles(x86)"); .... which means unless you have called it Program Files, applications won't find this folder ... ergo won't find
their ancillary files to function, ergo probably won't run correctly... then there is the whole 32-bit/64-bit ProgramFiles, ProgramFiles(x86) saga...

Welcome to DLL hell!

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby kshuff » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:26 pm

Tried it, didn't work. Opened up another can of worms. Reset the key back to c:\ProgramFilesDir and now Windows cannot open any programs, get an error saying Windows cannot find the program. I can't even run regedit again. I have a ghost backup from Friday that I can restore but then I'm back to the original problem.

Raion-Fox wrote:Tried this?:

Type Windows Key + R and type Regedit” press Enter.
Locate the following
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion
Right click on the value named ProgramFilesDir & change the default value C:\Program Files to the path you want to install all your programs in.
Click OK and Exit.
Restart the PC and try perform the update again.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1554
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:28 pm

I'm sorry the advice I looked up and was recommended by Microsoft trashed your install. This is bizarre
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Tezro: Quad R16000 700MHz V12 8GB RAM murasaki
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)

I am probably posting from yangxiaolong, HP Z230 with Xeon E3-1230v3, 16GB RAM, GeForce 750ti, and running NetBSD and Windows 8.1 Embedded.
Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
spiroyster
Donor
Donor
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 8:24 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby spiroyster » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:05 am

kshuff wrote:Reset the key back to c:\ProgramFilesDir and now Windows cannot open any programs, get an error saying Windows cannot find the program.

Set the key value to

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files

You can change the regsitry keys/values from the command line if you can't open regedit.exe

Code: Select all

REG ADD /f HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion /t REG_SZ /v ProgramFilesDir /d "C:\Program Files"


Should go back to working with your origonal problem. I can't help you with that I afraid :(

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3503
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby guardian452 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:38 am

kshuff wrote:I'm running Windows 10 Enterprise version 1703 build 15063.877, as of about a week ago I keep getting a popup stating my license will expire soon and I need to activate Windows. Settings shows Windows is activated.


This happened to me back in July (albeit with regular windows 10) and I called Microsoft's support line, they had it fully re-activated in under an hour.

It was an upgrade from 7 on a lenovo OEM license, and although it was activated at first, the activation was lost somehow 30 days after the upgrade.

Especially since you have Enterprise license, which perhaps has much better support than we home/pro proles get.

Alas it is probably too late now. :( .... system restore, or hopefully your backup is good.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby kshuff » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:24 pm

I didn't upgrade, it was a new installation of Win 10 onto a new hard drive. My backup is good, stored on another drive. What did MS do to fix it?

guardian452 wrote:
This happened to me back in July (albeit with regular windows 10) and I called Microsoft's support line, they had it fully re-activated in under an hour.

It was an upgrade from 7 on a lenovo OEM license, and although it was activated at first, the activation was lost somehow 30 days after the upgrade.

Especially since you have Enterprise license, which perhaps has much better support than we home/pro proles get.

Alas it is probably too late now. :( .... system restore, or hopefully your backup is good.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby dexter1 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:38 pm

Any weerd dualboot setup you're running? Maybe installed on an NVME disk so you're booting UEFI?
I had this fall update lockup on my game rig with W10Pro on NVME SSD and linux on HD. Turns out i had to pull the SATA plug on the HD so the fall creator update on the NVME could go through.

It is also possible there's a group policy set to prevent the update from going through. There might be an option of running the update from a stick created with this. But then i'm not sure if you can do this for Enterprise versions.
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3503
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby guardian452 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:44 pm

I gave them my product ID, they ran some command that reset the activation, then typed in the typical 8 by 6 character code that you used to get over the automated phone hotline to reactivate.

I don't remember what the command was, and remote desktop was involved so they did all the typing anyways.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby kshuff » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:58 pm

Nothing like that, I have two SATA drives, Win 10 on C: drive and Norton backups on D: drive. There is an old installation of WinXP on the D: drive but it's not set up to dual boot

dexter1 wrote:Any weerd dualboot setup you're running? Maybe installed on an NVME disk so you're booting UEFI?
I had this fall update lockup on my game rig with W10Pro on NVME SSD and linux on HD. Turns out i had to pull the SATA plug on the HD so the fall creator update on the NVME could go through.

It is also possible there's a group policy set to prevent the update from going through. There might be an option of running the update from a stick created with this. But then i'm not sure if you can do this for Enterprise versions.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby dexter1 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 2:18 pm

kshuff wrote:Nothing like that, I have two SATA drives, Win 10 on C: drive and Norton backups on D: drive. There is an old installation of WinXP on the D: drive but it's not set up to dual boot

Hm, you could try to disconnect D: and restart the update. Does it fail at a specific percentage when you're greeted with 0xc1900204 ?
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby kshuff » Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:01 pm

I'll give it a shot once I get the registry fixed

dexter1 wrote:
kshuff wrote:Nothing like that, I have two SATA drives, Win 10 on C: drive and Norton backups on D: drive. There is an old installation of WinXP on the D: drive but it's not set up to dual boot

Hm, you could try to disconnect D: and restart the update. Does it fail at a specific percentage when you're greeted with 0xc1900204 ?
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

astouffer
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby astouffer » Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:16 pm

Can you do a system restore back to a previous date?

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2467
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 Enterprise help needed

Unread postby kshuff » Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:02 pm

I use Symantec Ghost for backups, doing a recovery now from Friday the 19th.

astouffer wrote:Can you do a system restore back to a previous date?
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<


Return to “Miscellaneous Operating Systems/Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest