Cobalt raq3i

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:12 pm

I recently purchased an almost NIB cobalt raq 3i, which was apparently kept in storage as a back-up.

raq3i.jpg


The machine looks great. I replaced the battery and it booted right up. Unfortunately, the machine was already configured. I thought of re-installing the OS, but copies of the OS are nowhere to be found. Any ideas how to get it back into working order?
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby uunix » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:15 pm

There is a reset button on the back? Hold for 10 seconds?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:32 pm

I am afraid not. There is a small hole in the front that accepts a bent paperclip to reset the admin password. The raq2 manual has some screen-shots of the server management interface that might help to access the server settings.

Although support was dropped a long time ago, it's hard to believe that there is not a single copy of the installation CD's to be found on the internet. After all, Sun provided them free of charge, while it lasted.
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby uunix » Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:59 pm

twix wrote:I am afraid not. There is a small hole in the front that accepts a bent paperclip to reset the admin password. The raq2 manual has some screen-shots of the server management interface that might help to access the server settings.

Although support was dropped a long time ago, it's hard to believe that there is not a single copy of the installation CD's to be found on the internet. After all, Sun provided them free of charge, while it lasted.

I think I have some.
[Edit... Sorry, I do have a folder called Cobalt-Server with a load of PDFs etc but nothing opens] :(
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Titox
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:13 am
Location: Spain

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby Titox » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:16 pm

I have all the restore cd images on iso format. It were free downloadable from Sun website so I don't think there will be any problem if I reupload. But I need some time.
Alberto (Between the TV and the sofa)
:Fuel: :Octane2: :1600SW: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo:
http://www.f3b.es
http://unixverse.blogspot.com

kramlq
Donor
Donor
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: IRL

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby kramlq » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Likewise, I mirrored a couple of ftp sites holding many cobalt ISOs and packages (tens of Gb). I should still have them on an external HD somewhere.
If you know the name of what ISO you are looking for, and Titox doesn't have it, send me a PM.

twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:13 pm

I am not sure about the exact filenames. They should be in the form: raq3_(date).iso. I think that either the iso for the raq3 or raq4 should work.
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image

twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:14 am

Some file names that I found:

960-RAQ30101AU RaQ 3/3i English
960-RAQ40101BU RaQ 4i English
RaQ3-050901.iso

A web page with a copy of the contents of the sun cobalt ftp site:

https://archive.li/95rpL
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image

twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:21 am

Hmmm, might just have found a ftp site:

http://ftp04.data-hotel.biz/pub01/Cobal ... un-cobalt/
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image

twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:29 pm

Ok: found, downloaded, and burned some ISO's. The installers boot, but require networks cards that most users dumped 20 years ago. This is going to be fun.
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image

twix
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: Cobalt raq3i

Unread postby twix » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:47 pm

Problem already solved. Used a HP E-PC computer that has a supported network card and did a net re-install. The Raq3 now works. The cool part is looking at the system messages as the system installs and configures:

cobalt_disk_quotas.jpg


Next is some memory and maybe a second disk for raid, then on to try to make some simple websites.
SGI machines: "wtmc04" Image, "blackjack" Image and "Biofysica" Image


Return to “Miscellaneous Operating Systems/Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest