IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Unread postby praetor242 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 8:13 pm

I'm wondering if anybody has seen this.

I have a server (server1) with FreeBSD and ZFS. I have /exports/SGI in my /etc/exports and also did:

Code: Select all

zfs set sharenfs="-alldirs -network=192.168.2.0/24" tank/exports/SGI


But when I try and mount it from my O2, it says:

Code: Select all

trajan 3# mount server1:/exports/SGI /mnt/software
mount: NFS version 3 mount failed, trying NFS version 2.
mount: server1:/exports/SGI on /mnt/software: Resource busy
mount: giving up on:
   /mnt/software


I'm not sure what is going on :(
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1384
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:05 pm

I had issues trying to get IRIX to connect to the NFS mount as well.
Doing a google search I read that you should make sure that you try a TCP mount first, and then the following:

mount -t nfs 192.168.1.3:/exports/SGI /mnt/software

Replace the placeholder ip obviously.

nfs3 on IRIX is very buggy, unfortunately.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:00 am

Hmm...tried that. No love :(

My Macs, and all my other FreeBSD machines can connect to it just fine. Just not the SGIs :( Which is kinda important cuz that's where nekoware lives on my network :\
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4910
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Unread postby jan-jaap » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:23 am

praetor242 wrote:My Macs, and all my other FreeBSD machines can connect to it just fine.

Those might be using NFSv4

My (Linux) NFS server exports with the 'no_subtree_check' option, but it works just fine otherwise.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:34 am

I kinda figured that. I don't know how to make it expose itself as an NFS3 share. So IDK :(
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: IRIX unable to mount share from FreeBSD w/ ZFS

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:38 am

I'm a moron. I figured it out. There was a stale NFS handle on /mnt/software from a previous mount. Soon as a umount /mnt/software and then mounted it again, it worked.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD


Return to “Miscellaneous Operating Systems/Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests