Windows for serious business

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Shiunbird
Donor
Donor

Windows for serious business

Unread postby Shiunbird » Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:00 am

I'm not a software developer. But I've grown to not trust anything serious to Windows.
Eg: congratulations, your 48 hour render has been interrupted, but your updates are installed and you are SECURE!

So this gentleman owns a 24 core beast. He clearly uses his machines for professional reasons:
https://randomascii.wordpress.com/2017/07/09/24-core-cpu-and-i-cant-move-my-mouse/

I'm not a developer, but many of you are. How do you think such problem fails to pass quality control? Or that's totally not MS's target audiece, so it's not heavily tested?

We are used to not have to reboot our boxes for months or years, and on Windows if your uptime is more than 24 hours, support blames your problems on uptime.
ImageImage

dexter1

Re: Windows for serious business

Unread postby dexter1 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:41 am

Hear hear,

This reminds me of an article in Heise Computer'Technik magazine in which they tried to use all 72 HT cores in a Windows server 2012 environment. Apparently Windows divides the cores into groups if there are more than 64 cores in a system, and depending on the BIOS you can choose two groups with 50%-50% or 64+rest(8 in this case) cores.

The assignment which group gets used as primary group is totally random. So if you have a skewed group split, you sometimes get 64 and sometimes get 8. There is no way to influence that back then apart from a reboot and pray.

A derivative of this problem is documented here. In there they have the nerves to refer to a Processing group document here which quotes: