Emulating rmt, i.e., remote tape without the tape

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2108
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Emulating rmt, i.e., remote tape without the tape

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:15 pm

After some careful analysis, I have concluded my sick Solbourne S3000, the one with the super hot retina searing gas plasma display, is sick because the hard disk crapped out. Not a surprise, since I've had that happen on other Sols.

Unfortunately, my only copy of OS/MP is on CD-ROM, and it's not (to the best of my knowledge) bootable. I have a network bootable Install kernel thanks to Dworkin and it can netboot that, but I don't have a tape.

Anyone know of a way you can emulate an rmt-type device with a tar file or something else?
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

robespierre
Posts: 1578
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Emulating rmt, i.e., remote tape without the tape

Unread postby robespierre » Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:59 pm

I haven't tried it, but it appears from reading the manpage for rmt-star(8) that access to a file is possible, but not by default.
There are some commands for magnetic tape status, filemarks, etc that don't work when accessing files.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2108
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Emulating rmt, i.e., remote tape without the tape

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Oct 31, 2015 10:39 am

I'd rather do this in software, but it's SCSI.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “Miscellaneous Operating Systems/Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests