uptime contest !

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 351
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby diegel » Wed Feb 05, 2014 2:50 am

This is one of our terminal servers, we are using for remote console login:

Code: Select all

terminal2#sh ver
Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
IOS (tm) 2500 Software (C2500-I-L), Version 12.1(17), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Copyright (c) 1986-2002 by cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Wed 04-Sep-02 04:58 by kellythw
Image text-base: 0x03041F4C, data-base: 0x00001000

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 4.14(9.1), SOFTWARE

terminal2 uptime is 10 years, 44 weeks, 6 days, 13 hours, 14 minutes
System returned to ROM by reload
System image file is "flash:c2500-i-l.121-17.bin"

cisco 2511 (68030) processor (revision D) with 8192K/2048K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID 01792464, with hardware revision 00000000
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.
1 Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
2 Serial network interface(s)
16 terminal line(s)
32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
8192K bytes of processor board System flash (Read ONLY)

Configuration register is 0x2102
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10430
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby hamei » Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:32 am

diegel wrote:This is one of our terminal servers, we are using for remote console login:

Code: Select all

terminal2 uptime is 10 years, 44 weeks, 6 days, 13 hours, 14 minutes


I don't want to jump to conclusions or anything, but you may have just won this contest :P
What country do you want to go to ? ... Wyoming

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2048
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:35 am

Unless someone's got a early 90's server humming away quietly in a corner ... yup.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3404
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby guardian452 » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:39 am

The "other" iOS... :P iphone 4s, 7.0.4 w/ Evasi0n.

Abidal:~ mobile$ uname -a
Darwin Abidal 14.0.0 Darwin Kernel Version 14.0.0: Fri Sep 27 23:00:48 PDT 2013; root:xnu-2423.3.12-1/RELEASE_ARM_S5L8940X iPhone4,1 arm N94AP Darwin
Abidal:~ mobile$ uptime
10:31am up 13 days 3:35, 2 users, load average: 1.25, 1.06, 1.09


Last time it went down was because of sub-zero temperatures while running (I use it for music and also a strobe light) which the battery is (apparently..) not meant to handle. Since then I've been taping a handwarmer to the back if it's really cold out. 3 years of abuse is starting to take it's toll...

Congrats on the decade+ uptime... Then again if the machine is not doing much and tucked away in a datacenter it is kinda expected :twisted:

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby duck » Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:23 am

diegel wrote:This is one of our terminal servers, we are using for remote console login:

Code: Select all

terminal2 uptime is 10 years, 44 weeks, 6 days, 13 hours, 14 minutes


Sweet, hard to beat embedded systems... However, I've noted some that reboot (silently on their own) quite frequently. Poor man's QC? :-)
:Octane: halo, octane Image knightrider, d i g i t a l AlphaPC164, pond, soekris net6501, misc cool stuff in a rack
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3404
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby guardian452 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:57 pm

Yosemite is a buggy bitch on my new MBP. It is slow like molasses on my old MBA, even if it doesn't crash as often. Both have weird bugs. ranging from the browser, to cursors in the wrong spot, to plain old text entry.

But I have not had a single problem with it on my *officially unsupported* with-a-hacked-efi 2006 mac pro. I even use the web, ftp, vpn, and calendar syncing in OSX server. And it runs Plex. And two windows VMs. And games.

It has not gone down once, the last reboot was when I allowed it to update to 10.10.1.

Code: Select all

Xavi:~ mjw$ uptime
23:50  up 36 days,  4:57, 3 users, load averages: 1.87 1.52 1.30
Xavi:~ mjw$ uname -a
Darwin Xavi.local 14.0.0 Darwin Kernel Version 14.0.0: Fri Sep 19 00:26:44 PDT 2014; root:xnu-2782.1.97~2/RELEASE_X86_64 x86_64
Xavi:~ mjw$


36 days is hardly impressive but given 10.10's reputation for flakiness (which it apparently recevied over just the past two weeks :/ ), somebody must have spilled magic fairy dust on my box to accomplish this?

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1660
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby smj » Sat Jan 24, 2015 2:24 am

Funny. I have Yosemite running here on a 1,1 -> 2,1 EFI machine ("because reasons"), but the machine is usually Bootcamp'd into Win 7 x64. Haven't looked at what needs to be upgraded in order to migrate the 3,1 to Yosemite.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3404
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby guardian452 » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:29 am

3,1 (e.g. 2008, 5400-series) is supported by apple: you push the button on the app store and cross your fingers that it works... and that's it.

a 1,1 is 2006 model (32-bit) and a 2,1 is the exact same machine but with 8 cores. (so, you upgraded the CPU?) Neither one is supported by apple so you must put your board-id and tiamo's 64-on-32 boot.efi into a custom install disk. Also, the dog-turd of a 7300GT that is nearly 10 years old and was junk when new is not supported but apple will happily sell you a beefy new radeon to replace it.

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3135
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Jan 24, 2015 12:25 pm

You guys and your years, this is about as long as I've ever gone; my circa-1997 200MHz Pentium Pro all-purpose firewall, BBS dialer and wireless access point to my neighbor's networks:
Attachments
uptime.jpg
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby duck » Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:57 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:mens526? Sounds like a total sausage fest.


ISTR Mensa (latin for table) was originally supposed to be "Mens" (mind) but it seems they saw their error and changed it...

On a sadder note, the alpha suffered a fan failure (the reset pin is triggered on the CPU if no tach signal is found on the fan) and my uptime is now a shaky 2 days, with hopes that nothing else is broken since it rebooted spontaneously once after the replacement... :-(

I even got a nice HP DL160 with twin 4-core xeons and the 8-drive SAS backplane, battery backed 410i raid card and ILO (unlicensed, so completely gimped, grmbl) off ebay to replace the alpha for the more critical services, but it seems that the new machine superheats the air in my closet causing it to go into howling fan overdrive mode and I can't sleep in the next room with that. Sigh.

Still, the alpha seems to run again (knock on wood) so I guess I'll keep the HP as a rack ornament and occasional kernel compiler. Watching it blast through builds with -j 16 was fun.
:Octane: halo, octane Image knightrider, d i g i t a l AlphaPC164, pond, soekris net6501, misc cool stuff in a rack
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3135
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby vishnu » Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:13 pm

duck wrote:
ClassicHasClass wrote:mens526? Sounds like a total sausage fest.


ISTR Mensa (latin for table) was originally supposed to be "Mens" (mind) but it seems they saw their error and changed it...

Ha ha, you guys are so funny! But as I've explained elsewhere, mens526 = "mechanical engineering sun number 526," so there are at least that many Blade 2500's in the building. Shocking, I know... :shock:

duck wrote:On a sadder note, the alpha suffered a fan failure (the reset pin is triggered on the CPU if no tach signal is found on the fan) and my uptime is now a shaky 2 days, with hopes that nothing else is broken since it rebooted spontaneously once after the replacement... :-(

I even got a nice HP DL160 with twin 4-core xeons and the 8-drive SAS backplane, battery backed 410i raid card and ILO (unlicensed, so completely gimped, grmbl) off ebay to replace the alpha for the more critical services, but it seems that the new machine superheats the air in my closet causing it to go into howling fan overdrive mode and I can't sleep in the next room with that. Sigh.

Still, the alpha seems to run again (knock on wood) so I guess I'll keep the HP as a rack ornament and occasional kernel compiler. Watching it blast through builds with -j 16 was fun.

Sounds like a gold-plated opportunity to upgrade the cooling system in your closet!
brr.gif
brr.gif (200 Bytes) Viewed 424 times
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1660
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby smj » Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:31 am

Threadjacking alert! Threadjacking alert! :D
guardian452 wrote:3,1 (e.g. 2008, 5400-series) is supported by apple: you push the button on the app store and cross your fingers that it works... and that's it.
Yeah, I know it's supported, and for good or ill I know the official procedure. I didn't want to go into my app inventory and worrying about what is/isn't going to work under 10.10. Besides, I can't afford to upgrade anything now anyway.

guardian452 wrote:a 1,1 is 2006 model (32-bit) and a 2,1 is the exact same machine but with 8 cores. (so, you upgraded the CPU?)
Close - the EFI and SMC firmware are different between the two models, as well as what CPUs came in them. You want the 2,1 EFI because it includes support for the Clovertown CPUs, and some fixed microcode. Anyway I upgraded the system EFI to 2,1 and the CPUs to a pair of X5355. (Haven't updated the SMC to the 2,1 version, which might be behind a sleep/resume issue in Windows 7.)

guardian452 wrote:Neither one is supported by apple so you must put your board-id and tiamo's 64-on-32 boot.efi into a custom install disk.
I went with the newer Piker-Alpha bootloader, which I gather is a fork of tiamo's, and prepared a USB drive with a Yosemite installer tweaked to allow the 1,1 and 2,1 board IDs. Mostly worked, somehow despite replacing boot.efi in two different places on the thumb drive I still had a stock 10.10 boot.efi post-install and had to put the machine in target mode to fix it from the 3,1. (Hmm... I might have allowed a 10.10.1 update before I rebooted, now that I think about it...)

guardian452 wrote:Also, the dog-turd of a 7300GT that is nearly 10 years old and was junk when new is not supported but apple will happily sell you a beefy new radeon to replace it.
Well the 1,1 came without a video card, so I was using the 2600 XT from the 3,1 in it. (The 3,1 has a Sapphire Radeon 7950.) But I wanted something with more punch than the 2600 for games under Windows, so right now there's a flashed Sapphire 5850 in there. If I can figure out how to get a working EFI on the MSI R6950 from the Dell, I'll drop that in the 3,1 and move the 7950 to the 1,1. The 7950 is flashed, so I get boot screens from it on either machine. (Yes, I know about netkas.org; I first flashed a 9700 for my G4 Cube about 10 years ago, when smalldogs was the place to be...)

(I may not need EFI on the 6950 for the 3,1 to work, but I'd prefer it.)


Note: I followed this guide at MacRumors to put Yosemite on the 1,1.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3404
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby guardian452 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:49 am

smj wrote:Threadjacking alert! Threadjacking alert! :D
guardian452 wrote:a 1,1 is 2006 model (32-bit) and a 2,1 is the exact same machine but with 8 cores. (so, you upgraded the CPU?)
Close - the EFI and SMC firmware are different between the two models, as well as what CPUs came in them. You want the 2,1 EFI because it includes support for the Clovertown CPUs, and some fixed microcode. Anyway I upgraded the system EFI to 2,1 and the CPUs to a pair of X5355. (Haven't updated the SMC to the 2,1 version, which might be behind a sleep/resume issue in Windows 7.)
yep, still looking for a second of X5365 to put in. I had a pair of 5355's ready to go but received an x5365 (3ghz) at the low low price of free, and it is just waiting for it's mate. Still working on maxing out the ram and next will be a pcie SSD from OWC. I'm not nervous about swapping the CPUs but it is a lot of work and the machine is at my house, yet all my tools are at work... It's just not a priority right now. And I think those upgrades will keep me well satisfied until the first-gen trashcans come down in price 8-) If I need real cpu power (typically video rendering) there is the rMBP for that.


smj wrote:
guardian452 wrote:Neither one is supported by apple so you must put your board-id and tiamo's 64-on-32 boot.efi into a custom install disk.
I went with the newer Piker-Alpha bootloader, which I gather is a fork of tiamo's, and prepared a USB drive with a Yosemite installer tweaked to allow the 1,1 and 2,1 board IDs. Mostly worked, somehow despite replacing boot.efi in two different places on the thumb drive I still had a stock 10.10 boot.efi post-install and had to put the machine in target mode to fix it from the 3,1. (Hmm... I might have allowed a 10.10.1 update before I rebooted, now that I think about it...)
There is a handy shell script called sfott that will take care of everything for you. Just point it at your downloaded 10.10 installer and flash drive, and it takes care of everything else :) I have not had issues with minor version updates, but I had to re-install with a usb key when I went from 10.9 to 10.10.

smj wrote:
guardian452 wrote:Also, the dog-turd of a 7300GT that is nearly 10 years old and was junk when new is not supported but apple will happily sell you a beefy new radeon to replace it.
Well the 1,1 came without a video card, so I was using the 2600 XT from the 3,1 in it. (The 3,1 has a Sapphire Radeon 7950.) But I wanted something with more punch than the 2600 for games under Windows, so right now there's a flashed Sapphire 5850 in there. If I can figure out how to get a working EFI on the MSI R6950 from the Dell, I'll drop that in the 3,1 and move the 7950 to the 1,1. The 7950 is flashed, so I get boot screens from it on either machine. (Yes, I know about netkas.org; I first flashed a 9700 for my G4 Cube about 10 years ago, when smalldogs was the place to be...)


I ordered my pre-loved 1,1 with an official-Apple Radeon 5750. It has never struggled in OSX, but some games in windows in vmware fusion have struggled, even older games such as UT3. I blame vmware. I love this gpu and have never had an issue with the performance, my only complaint is unfortunately, the 5870 exists ;) At the time, the 5870 would have doubled the cost of the machine :o So no *real* complaints with the 5770 :mrgreen:

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby Pontus » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:37 am

My workstation at $EMPLOYER, no UPS

Code: Select all

09:33:48 up 182 days,  2:29,  7 users,  load average: 0.12, 0.21, 0.25


At my previous workplace we had an old DELL running well over 600 days, no UPS.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4867
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: uptime contest !

Unread postby jan-jaap » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:58 am

Pontus wrote:At my previous workplace we had an old DELL running well over 600 days, no UPS.

In my experience, it's more likely to have a UPS break than a power failure.

Not a scientific sample size of course, but I can't remember the last power outage. Must be years ago.
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)


Return to “Miscellaneous Operating Systems/Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest