Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RCA NC1020 set top box
Unread postPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am
Posts: 810
Picked up a RCA "network computer" NC1020 set top box.
Oogled around and specs on this machine are:
ARM 7500FE processor. 5MB RAM, 8MB ROM.
VGA, S-Video, RCA video out, RCA audio out, Parallel port, PS/2 keyboard and mouse ports (and also has frontal IR for wireless keyboard/mouse). Also has a PCMCIA port up front and a smart card reader.
Opened up the gadget and RAM is soldered (no slots). Might be able to remove the chips and put higher density chips (or piggyback chips on top of existing ones) to increase RAM.
However, upon connecting VGA monitor, I get signal and a line reading "Acorn ResourceFS", then a screen with a centered cursor, and a rotating sand clock. Then the screen goes black.
Finding manuals/software/OS upgrades for this thing has proven a still unfinished task.
Not much remains online, lots of broken links.
Found a very good document that covers all sorts of network computers. Too bad it's in finnish:
http://www.cadweiser.com/fi/?download=T ... tanala.pdf

If anyone has played with this box before, I'd appreciate any assistance.

Seems it had a limited success back in 97-98 (arount Apple's Pippin time, which is also covered in the document linked above).
As the real AppleTV (version 1 and 2 seem to have been experiments) is about to be lauched (or at least unveiled) at WWDC next month, seems like a good time to recap on the road to Apple's next iAdget.

_________________
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 550MHz PIII - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - DECstation5000/133 - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP 200LX


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:59 am
Posts: 150
Location: Yorkshire, UK
If you can see "Acorn ResourceFS", what you have is probably trying to boot NCOS, a variant of Acorn's RISC OS for thin clients and set top boxes. It is possible, with a parallel port Zip drive and a prepared disk to boot into a desktop. Known as a Netstation, but the same basic hardware was OEM'ed under several names. Try:

http://acorn.chriswhy.co.uk/Computers/NetStation.html
http://acorn.chriswhy.co.uk/AfterAcorn/ ... ernet.html
http://www.apdl.co.uk/riscworld/volume2 ... /index.htm

Firmware version info on 4 different NCOS incarnations at http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~theo ... smods.html

See also https://www.riscosopen.org/forum/forums/5/topics/1074 (unless you are a.k.a. iVan!)

Good luck!

_________________
Fuel; Indigo2; RiscPC Kinetic-StrongARM RISCOS 4.39 or Debian/sarge; EspressoPC ViaC3/900 Debian-testing; RPi B RISCOS5.21 or Raspbian/jessie


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group