Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
SAQ wrote:
Diego - sounds like you're looking for something similar to the Sun Ray. Unfortunately not quite $50 new, but used they can be cheap - software is another issue, though. They seem quite nice - the session follows you around.

Your discussion of the NAS thing sounds a bit similar to a diskless workstation.


Hello there, SAQ, and thanks by answering!

...I should state first that I was able to watch some first gen Sun Ray client when it was the newest thing from Sun (and if I'm not wrong, a lot before the Sun - Oracle merge) and that was -indeed- inside the office from the official distributor here in my city. Sadly I never realized that, years after such meeting, such thing could be useful for me! :)

When I mentioned the price differences (i.e.: U$D50.- Vs. U$D150.- and so on) I was not trying to put such thing as a limit at all, even if I would prefer something relatively cheap.

Right now some of my PC boxes pass most part of the time in a shutdown state because less and less use was discovered for them after the latest house/office moving.

So, yes... in fact my first thought was to use some kind of portable WLAN setup... something like an almost-diskless workstation with just the necessary to get running Wi-Fi and the minimum required daemons to run a remote desktop... and then, thanks to Google, noticed the link above... but as some of you noticed first, does not looks so great after some detailed review.

You know, all what I want is my session following me around this not-too-big building... and I don't want to go to the global cloud at all because right now I fail to see the benefits. So, to put it short, we are talking about some brand-new (and more powerful) PeeCee to determine, one/two average-power desktop PeeCees already at use, the good and old Octane, a couple (and not too special) NetBooks, and one/two Tablets (AINOVO NOVO7 or something like that) ...everything integrated into some nice and homogeneous WLAN, sharing same apps, same data vault, and same customizations... to begin my session from any of them! :shock: Am I asking too much? :)

The trick is, of course, to get only the master PeeCee acting as server all the time, using the rest only on demand and depending on needs from particular time...

...having said that, I can buy a Sun Ray 100 for cheap but with some considerable shipping&handling charges right now in my country... how good is that? Has the "Type 6 USB Keyboard" anything weird at all (i.e.: Sun's propietary firmware, altered protocol, etc.) or is it just a common keyboard/mouse set?

Thanks in advance.
All the best,
Diego

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 12:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Posts: 1232
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
GeneratriX wrote:
Has the "Type 6 USB Keyboard" anything weird at all (i.e.: Sun's propietary firmware, altered protocol, etc.) or is it just a common keyboard/mouse set?

I have a Sun Type 6 USB keyboard connected to my MacBook's BookEndz dock. Works fine, the volume/mute keys work, and the "diamond" key between the spacebar and Alt works as the Command or "splat" key.

I also have a Sun Type 5 connected to a Lightwave Communications USB converter, from there to an IOGEAR dual DVI KVM switch. To my surprise I noticed yesterday that the dedicated Copy/Paste keys work as labeled under Fedora...

_________________
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 1:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
smj wrote:
I have a Sun Type 6 USB keyboard connected to my MacBook's BookEndz dock. Works fine, the volume/mute keys work, and the "diamond" key between the spacebar and Alt works as the Command or "splat" key.

I also have a Sun Type 5 connected to a Lightwave Communications USB converter, from there to an IOGEAR dual DVI KVM switch. To my surprise I noticed yesterday that the dedicated Copy/Paste keys work as labeled under Fedora...


Hello there, SMJ!
...good to know because one never knows when something like that (Sun Ray stuff, you know) enters to the sweet spot for an eventual purchase... anyway, after some P.M. chat with PymbleSoftware, it seems the Sun Ray 100 is slightly outdated for my requirements.

So, it seems I'll need to make some time to try the software route to desktop virtualization, adding all the required shared resources, etc... I can setup here some PC box in exclusive for those trials, then nothing is lost. I'll try first vía Ethernet, and then if everything goes well I'll try with wireless adding some portable devices as terminals.

Anyway, I'm sure it will take a lot more time that I could imagine right now, but with a bit of luck and effort it will work as intended, so... I guess it is the real way to go for now.

But thinking it loud, I think somebody should develop something to do it automagically; this time not thru USB but thru WLAN! :)

You know, even if it can be done combining some hardware / software resources yourself, it should be possible to do it a lot more easily... you know, something like a big *.zip file including all the required *.deb files that one can buy and then install vía 'apt-get' to get the machine automatically converted into a "replicant"! :P

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 6:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
Very tiny update, I know, anyway it will be the first kick into this subject: today purchased some new wireless connectivity stuff, and did some interesting tests along the rainy day that prevented me to go out and work with wood stuff. I'm pretty happy with the performance, considering I did not spend a lot of money.

So, everything is there... now I just need figure how to get the desktop-session side running as intended! :)

Cheers!
Diego

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
So, while I'm here, I just want to say: it worked! :)

Yes, it seems (at least for now) RDP/VNC was the way to go for me. After some pretty humble investment in some wireless connectivity stuff, external non-volatile storage, and a couple keyboard/mouse sets, it is already working for me... but I don't use it as much as I thought I'd work with it. But, when I need it, it is very comfortable to work into my every day desktop session using a light netbook.

So, thanks to all the ones that pointed me into the right direction.

But now is time to jump to the next level... how to get more refresh-speed? :P

I don't mean more WAN (Internet) speed but more LAN (Wireless) speed keeping the same hardware stuff, or adding some new bits... maybe adding more PCI network cards to the server-like PeeCee to increase bandwidth and saturate the router/switch? But then... never tried to configure more than one network card (i.e. Ethernet) to work in parallel to duplicate the effective bandwidth... is it feasible at all?

Oh well, keep it mind that I don't want to throw too much cash into it, so, clever-minimalistic alternatives are welcome. I know one solution would be to link the server-like PeeCee to the router/switch stuff via Gigabit Ethernet, but I'd want avoid to change all my Fast Ethernet stuff if it is possible... so, I'd prefer anything else.

What do you think? :)
Have a good night.
Diego

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group