Microsoft Unix

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Frapazoid

Microsoft Unix

Unread postby Frapazoid » Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:07 pm

So someone pointed out Microsoft Services for Unix, and I installed it, and I love it.

This is the sort of shit that makes computers so much fun; Totally screwing around. I had Bash running and a complete Unix subsystem on my Windows 2000 PC (which I already got Ext2 drivers for), but that wasn't enough. I installed an X server (Xming), a window manager (FVWM) and Unix Gimp and I had a total Unix thing going pretty quick.

It's times like this I wish I was a scientist or an engineer or something so I could do something "workstationy" with all my computers.
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"

regan_russell

Microsoft Unix

Unread postby regan_russell » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:10 pm

Microsoft was in the UNIX business before DOS and I though their stuff was fairly decent. In its time XENIX was probably the most popular UNIX around.. That, 386BSD and shareware inspired me to start to code my own UNIX and then someone handed me Linux on 50 floppies..

I though legally MSFT was baned from re-entering the UNIX space, maybe this is a backdoor for them.

Regan
:Onyx2R: :Onyx2R: :0300: :0300: :0300: :O200: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x SUN, 2 x Mac, 3 x Alpha, 2 x RS/6000

pipeline

Re: Microsoft Unix

Unread postby pipeline » Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:15 pm