iconbar

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:29 pm

My only two complaints:

* Clicking an icon from a different desktop brings it to the current one. This means it's now on both, and ov has to be run if you want to sort it out after the fact.
* The bar still impinges on the display, even when hidden - I really want to see something like invisible margin window.

I might look into these modification myself, but unfortunately I'm really low on time.
--
lisa

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:37 pm

Ok, I just quit iconbar, and it did that annoying minimise thing again. This is spectacularly annoying on a paged desktop system.
--

lisa

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:45 pm

Another quick thought - it strikes me you already have code for reading pixmap files, therefore, how difficult would skinning the interface be?

One could render a background image, render the icons over it, and then blit the four corners in and stretch blit the four sides in for both the whole frame and each icon. It'd make things fantastically flexible.

You've also got screen grabbing code - you could use that to grab what was there pre popup, and use it as the basis of a cheap-but-not-as-cheap-as-everyone-elses alpha effect.

Just a few thoughts that spring to mind!
--

lisa

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Wed Oct 22, 2003 12:07 am

lisp wrote:Ok, I just quit iconbar, and it did that annoying minimise thing again. This is spectacularly annoying on a paged desktop system.


Ok, NiceExit appears to be the routine responsible for this. Out of interest, what happens to window coordinates of windows when they're on a diferent desktop?
--

lisa

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:40 am

Hurray lisp! Thanks for the feedback. I get so tangled up in a project sometimes I can't see the forest for the trees and I really need another's perspective. Also, I was beginning to wonder if all the bugs in the alpha release had turned folk off. I know you've been working long hours and I really appreciate you taking the time to look this over.

I'll try to address some of the issues you raised.


lisp wrote:My only two complaints:

* Clicking an icon from a different desktop brings it to the current one. This means it's now on both, and ov has to be run if you want to sort it out after the fact.


I know the multidesk support is kludgy. I've made a few inqueries as you how 4dwm does it, but I've had no responses. The biggest hurtle right now is just finding a way to telling which desk is the currently active one.

lisp wrote:* The bar still impinges on the display, even when hidden - I really want to see something like invisible margin window.


Yes, you made this comment previously and I've been trying to think of an easy way to accomplish this. I do need some sort of window at the bottom of the screen that triggers the pop-up when a EnterNotify event occurs. Apps like x2vnc seems to have worked this out, so I'll have to dig through their code for a solution -- unless you know of one.

lisp wrote:I might look into these modification myself, but unfortunately I'm really low on time.

Please consider signing up as a developer anyways when I get it going on sourceforge.

lisp wrote:Ok, I just quit iconbar, and it did that annoying minimise thing again. This is spectacularly annoying on a paged desktop system.

Yes. I've been lazy here -- I thought it a bit improved, but more care should be taken. By "paged" do you mean mutil-desk or something else?

lisp wrote:Another quick thought - it strikes me you already have code for reading pixmap files, therefore, how difficult would skinning the interface be?

One could render a background image, render the icons over it, and then blit the four corners in and stretch blit the four sides in for both the whole frame and each icon. It'd make things fantastically flexible.

I applogize for my arcahic vocabular (maybe it's a cross-Atlanic thing :) ), but I don't quite follow "skinning" and "blit". Sounds cool though. My only caveat would be that I will probably concentrate on stablity/bugs/bad bahavior for release 0.1 and then the sky's the limit for features after that.

lisp wrote:You've also got screen grabbing code - you could use that to grab what was there pre popup, and use it as the basis of a cheap-but-not-as-cheap-as-everyone-elses alpha effect.

Yes, I've been thinking of ways to do the transparency/alpha effect. I tried the Xshape extension (i.e. punching small holes in the windows), but it slows things down quite a bit. Are you talking about something like the aterm approach?

lisp wrote:Out of interest, what happens to window coordinates of windows when they're on a diferent desktop?

I'm not sure, but I thought it kinda strange that you could now have two maximized versions of a single apps window (one on each desktop) with different coordinates. Clearly, the window manger is controlling things here, and SGI doesn't seem to have any public documentation on this.

Anyway thanks again. While I run iconbar everyday (and find I can't get by without it anymore), I don't run multi desks too often or multi displays or different visual classes so I tend to miss alot of those pitfalls. I really am very interest in why you folks would/do not want to run this on your desktop, in the hopes of making it more appealing.

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Wed Oct 22, 2003 8:20 am

squeen wrote:I know the multidesk support is kludgy. I've made a few inqueries as you how 4dwm does it, but I've had no responses. The biggest hurtle right now is just finding a way to telling which desk is the currently active one.


I wonder - does 4Dwm merely hide the window when it's on a different desk, and can this be picked up?


squeen wrote:Yes, you made this comment previously and I've been trying to think of an easy way to accomplish this. I do need some sort of window at the bottom of the screen that triggers the pop-up when a EnterNotify event occurs. Apps like x2vnc seems to have worked this out, so I'll have to dig through their code for a solution -- unless you know of one.


I'm not 100% sure, but I think it merely creates a window that never paints itself.

squeen wrote:Please consider signing up as a developer anyways when I get it going on sourceforge.


Sure, no problem.

squeen wrote:Yes. I've been lazy here -- I thought it a bit improved, but more care should be taken. By "paged" do you mean mutil-desk or something else?


I mean using a desktop pager, like ov, rather than actually having multiple heads. It seems to be the signal handler that's responsible for it.

squeen wrote:I applogize for my arcahic vocabular (maybe it's a cross-Atlanic thing :) ), but I don't quite follow "skinning" and "blit".


Winamp/xmms are examples of programs with skinned UIs - it basically means using bitmaps for the look and feel, rather than hardwired drawing code.

blit derives from BLock Transfer on the PDP-10. These days, it essentially refers to the act of transferring a rectangle of graphics from one piece of memory to another.

squeen wrote:Yes, I've been thinking of ways to do the transparency/alpha effect. I tried the Xshape extension (i.e. punching small holes in the windows), but it slows things down quite a bit. Are you talking about something like the aterm approach?


Yes, but using actual screen data, rather than the background bitmap.
--

lisa

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Wed Oct 22, 2003 9:11 am

Thanks for the education :D I thought you were making up those term (really!)... I could try taking a stab at letting the borders be customizable pixmaps without too much difficulty. Once again though, I'd probably save that for 0.2 and focus on issues like the mutlidesk stuff for 0.1.

lisp wrote:I'm not 100% sure, but I think it merely creates a window that never paints itself.


I don't like X11 can put this off. Either a window is "mapped" or not. When it's not mapped I don't think it can recieve any events, but I'll look into that.

lisp wrote:It seems to be the signal handler that's responsible for it.

It never occurred to me that a signal might be involved...that's pretty easy to look for.

Also, I think the screen-capture method of transparency would be trival, so I'll definately give that a go.

Thanks again.

BTW, I just found some "bad" behavior when the "no hide" and "always on top" behaviors are enabled, regarding the screen saver. Uggh...

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Fri Oct 31, 2003 12:43 pm

I'm happy to report I've had only three crashes in two weeks on the BETA version :D -- both at the same line of code. I hope this mean that the stability issue can finally be put to bed.

Anyone else have any better/worse experiences to relate?

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Wed Nov 19, 2003 1:52 pm

I jump started the web site, it's at http://iconbar.sourceforge.net/. I included a couple of links back here. I hope that's alright with you Neko.

Also, I plan to continue announcing the major releases in this forum thread if nobody minds. :)

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2730
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Unread postby dexter1 » Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:22 am

Love the app! (i just installed it from sources on my O2 IRIX 6.5.16m mpro7313)

But there is a problem with xlock screensavers and password locking.

When i revive the machine and want to enter my password to unlock the screen, the screensaver restarts whenever i enter the first character. At first i was stumped, but then i saw iconbar blitting away at the very bottom. So i killed xlock manually and got my desktop back.

Exactly how one affects another i'm not sure, but try running an iconbar yourself, and set screensaver to lock the screen after one minute to see the effect (hopefully)

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Thu Nov 20, 2003 5:30 am

dexter1:

You are right - it definately fights with the screensaver. Actually it's the way I implemented the "always-on-top" or auto-raise feature. A temporary work around would be to disable the auto-raise by either (from the command line)

>iconbar -raise False

or in .Xdefaults

Iconbar.raise: False

or (right mouse button) from the pop-up menu.

A more permanent fix would be :

a) find a programatic way to determine if the screen saver is running
b) only auto-raise when the mouse is in the iconbar window

I'll take a crack at it this weekend as well as getting the other (stability) updates I've made into the CVS server.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Unread postby nekonoko » Thu Nov 20, 2003 10:28 am

squeen wrote:I jump started the web site, it's at http://iconbar.sourceforge.net/. I included a couple of links back here. I hope that's alright with you Neko.

Also, I plan to continue announcing the major releases in this forum thread if nobody minds. :)


Don't mind at all - and I'll try and post a blog entry along with your new website as soon as I can - hopefully this afternoon/evening :)
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Fri Nov 21, 2003 5:59 am

nekonoko wrote:Don't mind at all - and I'll try and post a blog entry along with your new website as soon as I can - hopefully this afternoon/evening :)


Thanks. That would be great -- no hurry.

dexter1 wrote:But there is a problem with xlock screensavers and password locking.

Wow -- that's a pretty serious flaw. I definately classified this as a must fix immediately and I think I managed to starighten it out last night. The app will now automatically respect full-screen apps and temporarily cease auto-raise. (Incidentally, I learned a bit more about X screen savers on IRIX while I was pursuing a blind alley solution -- and it has me curious about how to integrate the realyslickscreensaver package into Xscreensaver ultility).
I'll upload the changes to the CVS repository tonight or tomorrow.
Thanks!
-------------------------------
I also discovered a problem on my workstation. The xlock screen savers won't unlock for my machine (even with iconbar running). It rejects all of my correctly entered passwords!

Anyone else out there ever encounter this phenomena?
Last edited by squeen on Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
akimmet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 10:39 am
Location: Middle Of Nowhere, OH, US

Unread postby akimmet » Fri Nov 21, 2003 6:58 am

squeen wrote:I also discovered a problem on my workstation. The xlock screen savers won't unlock for my machine (even with iconbar running). It rejects all of my correctly entered passwords!

Anyone else out there ever encounter this phenomena?


I don't know if the xlock in IRIX dose this but early versions of xlock did this...

The key you press to get to get the password prompt to appear counts as part of the password, as in you were adding an extra first character to your password every time you entered it.

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2933
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Unread postby squeen » Fri Nov 21, 2003 8:49 am

The key you press to get to get the password prompt to appear counts as part of the password, as in you were adding an extra first character to your password every time you entered it.


yup...although I usually press <SHIFT> a number of times to clear the buffer.
I should add that only one of the systems I use exhibits this behaviour.


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest