Remote X with Irix

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Remote X with Irix

Unread postby pentium » Thu Jun 02, 2016 11:51 am

I feel like in the past I might of asked this question already...or I'm remembering when I setup my Sun Enterprise 3000 to boot remote Sun Ray and X terminals.

I can't seem to remember or find anything in the Diskless Workstation Administration or in any of my manuals so far that indicated that Irix had a way to remotely manage another SGI like say an Origin 2000 while in a 4DWM environment. Sure there's telnet and SSH but at that point you're just logging into what feels like another *nix box. Was there any form of bundled protocol or just the standard remote X?
Last edited by pentium on Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
ivelegacy
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:12 am
Location: Italy

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby ivelegacy » Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:32 pm

good question, I have answers for linux, but not for Irix
anyway, I'd like to boot Irix in diskless configuration
hey oh? Swimming pool & Racing bicycle.

"Love me or hate me, both are in my favor:
If you love me, I'll always be in your heart.
If you hate me, I'll always be in your mind."
(William Shakespeare)

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby pentium » Thu Jun 02, 2016 1:59 pm

The Onyx and O2K these days are not easy for me to hang a local console off of but I always have an SGI in my bedroom (the O2) where I don't have to live with the sound of a deskside constantly whirring away. Graphically logging in from them without doing something crazy like running a 40 foot monitor and keyboard cable across the house would be convenient.

Booting diskless however is covered extensively in the Diskless Administration book however. It actually even talks about netbooting stuff back to the IP5.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
ivelegacy
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:12 am
Location: Italy

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby ivelegacy » Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:20 am

what about using an X11-term in XDM configuration?
never tried with SunRay2 (which seems the best choice, it's faster, and DCD-capable)
my Tektronix XP217 is very good, even if limited by these factors
  • pseudo color only
  • 10Mbps NIC
  • SGI X11 extensions are not supported
  • serials are used for serial connection, you can't attach a mouse on them

it's good to have a remote console to IRIX, say gcc and MPRO, but Apps like StudioSurface & StudioPaint are not happy to work remotely, and they don't
hey oh? Swimming pool & Racing bicycle.

"Love me or hate me, both are in my favor:
If you love me, I'll always be in your heart.
If you hate me, I'll always be in your mind."
(William Shakespeare)

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby duck » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:01 am

*unlurks*

It's been rather a long time since I did any remote X11, but wouldn't it all go over XDMCP? Sun might have used their own openlook(or whatever it was called) system though.

Anyway, XDMCP is the keyword I wanted to highlight here, xdm (and whatever flavour of xdm the terminal/thin client runs) includes something called a chooser that lets you select which remote XDM host you want to log in to from the X11 terminal.

It should just be enough to run xdm on a system with a properly set up /usr/lib/X11/xdm/Xaccess in order to allow remote systems to discover the server and use it. If both ends are SGI:s, ISTR there is was some mechanism for running OpenGL applications remotely as well, but I never tried that.

Super vague, but perhaps it'll give you some starting points.

*relurk*
:Octane: halo, octane Image knightrider, d i g i t a l AlphaPC164, pond, soekris net6501, misc cool stuff in a rack
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.

User avatar
ivelegacy
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:12 am
Location: Italy

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby ivelegacy » Fri Jun 03, 2016 10:09 am

duck wrote:If both ends are SGI:s, ISTR there is was some mechanism for running OpenGL applications remotely as well


therefore, the thesis of using an O2 as X11-term: interesting :D
hey oh? Swimming pool & Racing bicycle.

"Love me or hate me, both are in my favor:
If you love me, I'll always be in your heart.
If you hate me, I'll always be in your mind."
(William Shakespeare)

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3095
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby josehill » Fri Jun 03, 2016 12:37 pm

I found that I could do the vast majority of things I needed to do simply by running a remote Toolchest. My screen often featured Toolchests from three or more machines at once, each Toolchest having it's own color and window name. (I have a few old posts on how to do that buried somewhere in the ancient history of the Nekochan.) Of course, duck's XDMCP pointer is correct, too. You need SGIs on both ends for a complete experience, but you'd still get almost everything except gr_osview and a few other tools using XDMCP when using a low end X terminal or Mac/PC based X Servers.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby pentium » Sat Jun 04, 2016 8:31 am

I found that I could do the vast majority of things I needed to do simply by running a remote Toolchest. My screen often featured Toolchests from three or more machines at once, each Toolchest having it's own color and window name. (I have a few old posts on how to do that buried somewhere in the ancient history of the Nekochan.)

Thing is that when I try to access the toolchest from another machine I properly fill in the blanks, press apply I get a window that says "starting" for half a second. then that closes and nothing happens.

Edited: perhaps I've missed a step when I configured something? I can loopback into the machine and share toolchests and resources form another user but not with the Origin.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
ivelegacy
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:12 am
Location: Italy

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby ivelegacy » Sun Jun 05, 2016 8:34 am

SGI-O2 as an X11 terminal, anyone has already tried it ?
hey oh? Swimming pool & Racing bicycle.

"Love me or hate me, both are in my favor:
If you love me, I'll always be in your heart.
If you hate me, I'll always be in your mind."
(William Shakespeare)

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3095
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby josehill » Sun Jun 05, 2016 9:49 am

pentium wrote:perhaps I've missed a step when I configured something? I can loopback into the machine and share toolchests and resources form another user but not with the Origin.


The first thing that comes to mind is an xhosts network security setting. You can invoke xhosts on the command line or edit its config file and restart networking. I presume that you are on a "trusted" network, so "xhosts +" might be ok as you are troubleshooting, though it is a major security faux pas on an untrusted network.

Unfortunately, none of my IRIX machines are active at the moment, and my memory for further specifics is a bit dim, so my usefulness as a troubleshooter might be limited.

PS. Don't forget to make sure that the $DISPLAY variable is properly set on your Origin to send the display to the bedroom. (Somehow, I feel a little dirty typing that.)

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3095
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby josehill » Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:02 am

ivelegacy wrote:SGI-O2 as an X11 terminal, anyone has already tried it ?

You won't get the XDMCP Chooser, but maybe you can get some tips in viewtopic.php?f=10&t=16089
For example,

Code: Select all

XWin -query hostname

diegel
Donor
Donor
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby diegel » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:59 am

There is a problem with Irix Xkb and remote gtk2 applications. A workaround is discussed here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=15205&hilit=xkb+gnome

I use the xkb.so workaround with the LD_PRELOAD environment variable at the remote system. Firefox is working with this, but don't expect too much it scrolls not very fast.
:Tezro: :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Onyx2: :O2+: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo: :Cube:

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby pentium » Mon Jun 06, 2016 12:19 pm

I won't be able to bring the system up for a few more days.


We're in the middle of a heatwave. ;)
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby uunix » Mon Jun 06, 2016 12:24 pm

I've never found XMDCP very good on IRIX (unlike Solaris & AIX), no background etc etc, but interestingly if I XMDCP into a SMOKE session, I do get the background and all the fonts. It's really nice.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
MyDungeon() << :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indy: MyLoft() << :540: :Octane: MyWork() << :Indy: :Indy: :O2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo:

User avatar
ivelegacy
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 5:12 am
Location: Italy

Re: Remote X with Irix

Unread postby ivelegacy » Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:02 pm

mmmm it seems I'd better broadcast the video signal and kb & mouse over a couple of CAT5 cables + OA
instead of shooting my feet on remote-X-troubles, simply because, according to my degree (I am an hw guy)
shooting your feet on hardware problems is funnier than shooting your feet on software problems :lol:

(well, the video bandwidth must be reduced, the maximal video resolution must be considered carefully)
hey oh? Swimming pool & Racing bicycle.

"Love me or hate me, both are in my favor:
If you love me, I'll always be in your heart.
If you hate me, I'll always be in your mind."
(William Shakespeare)


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest