O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

Unread postby JacquesT » Tue May 01, 2018 1:01 pm

So I was transferring some stuff from my debian box to my O2 the other day and noticed I had 75% cpu usage when doing a NFS copy, is this normal? The system just about ground to a halt.

On the Octane there was no perceivable system slow down. Is the O2's 'unified' design so limiting or is my install just borked?
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.

User avatar
pierocks
Donor
Donor
Posts: 546
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 4:52 pm
Location: Longbranch, WA
Contact:

Re: O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

Unread postby pierocks » Tue May 01, 2018 2:47 pm

Which one of the octanes in your sig are you referring to? The one with 1 GB of RAM or the one with 384 MB of RAM? How big were the file(s) in question? You could be swapping out versus staying in RAM.

Maybe try transferring the file on both octanes and compare notes?
:ChallengeXL: Image :O2: :O2: :O2:
They are multiplying. If you can read this, send help.

astouffer
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

Unread postby astouffer » Tue May 01, 2018 6:21 pm

Anything showing up in the IRIX syslog? Try changing the read/write buffer sizes on the debian box. I've seen speeds go from bytes per second to megabytes.

JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

Unread postby JacquesT » Tue May 01, 2018 10:35 pm

It was the 1Gb Octane...

It was the same fileset, install tarballs for Maya6.5 and the Quake games. I know maya is about ~650mb.

Even a small 100mb tarball brought the O2 down.

Edit - I've got 190mb free memory on the O2 while the transfers are happening.
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6709
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

Unread postby foetz » Wed May 02, 2018 3:44 pm

you might wanna show us your export and mount options

JacquesT
Posts: 503
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Re: O2 NFS transfer & CPU usage

Unread postby JacquesT » Thu May 03, 2018 12:39 am

I'll post them tonight, I know my NFS mounts are only temporary on the client side with

Code: Select all

mount -t nfs xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:/srv/nfs-root /mnt/nfs/


/etc/exports on the debian box

Code: Select all

/srv/nfs-root    *.home(rw,async,no_subtree_check,no_all_squash,no_root_squash)


I've also tried

Code: Select all

/srv/nfs-root    *.home(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,no_all_squash,no_root_squash)



Even copying a tarball from one folder to another results in 95% cpu usage, so I'm not suspecting nfs anymore. :?

Edit: Added the exports line
:Octane: - 1xR12k 400Mhz, 1GB, V8, 18Gb 10K & 36Gb 15K HDD, 6.5.30
:Octane: - 1xR12k 300Mhz, 384MB, SSE, 18Gb 10K HDD, 6.5.30
:O2: :1600SW: - 300Mhz R5200, 384MB, 36Gb 15K HDD, A/V, FPA, 4x CD-ROM, 6.5.30
"Ho Ho," Says the keeper of the beat.


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest