VNC to Origin2000

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby Dodoid » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:03 pm

Hi Nekochan,

I'm currently trying to get a VNC connection to my Origin2000 working. The system is running IRIX 6.5.30, and I've installed neko_tightvnc. It's on the network, and I have command line access via the serial console. How do I make tightvnc actually work as a VNC server? I've done this before, with my Octane, but it was close to a year ago and I forget every last detail of how it was done past installing the software. Presumably I have to configure it to run at startup and set some config files? Maybe also enable XWindows since it's headless right now?

Thanks!
-Dodoid
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:17 pm

You need to setup X since VNC grabs X11 frames and transmits them. I know on Linux you can have a virtual framebuffer device for VNC, but I don't think IRIX has anything like that.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby Dodoid » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:24 pm

praetor242 wrote:You need to setup X since VNC grabs X11 frames and transmits them. I know on Linux you can have a virtual framebuffer device for VNC, but I don't think IRIX has anything like that.


So how do you set up X? Do I have to install it? Turn it on in a config file? I have no experience with headless SGIs, as even when I did this with my Octane, X was already running.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:49 pm

I've never dealt with a headless IRIX install. I always do a default install which includes X. I'd imagine if you install the IRIX Interactive Desktop components from your Foundation CD, you can install it that way.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby Dodoid » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:50 pm

I think I installed it normally, so I presume X is there. Do I have to start it somehow? Sorry for being so clueless, I really just have no experience with headless IRIX.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby praetor242 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:53 pm

What happens if you run xinit. That's how you generally start X.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby Dodoid » Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:19 pm

I get "X: windowsystem not enabled".
Managed to turn that on using chkconfig, now it says "X: /usr/gfx/gfxinit not found".
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:12 pm

You proably also have to chkconfig visuallogin too because that X's session manager.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby Dodoid » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:18 pm

That appears to be on. It appears that the Origin is expecting itself to have graphics, which, being an Origin, it doesn't.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby praetor242 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:31 pm

Then your guess is as good as mine. I don't _see_ why it wouldn't work without a graphics board (it's super easy to do in on other *nixes). All X11 really is a rendering engine for graphical components. SGI's is a little more than that. So IDK.
:O2: - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 256 MB RAM - 300GB HDD
:O2: - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147 GB HDD
:Octane2: - augustus - COMING SOON :D :D

robespierre
Posts: 1577
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: VNC to Origin2000

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:48 pm

X11 is a protocol between clients (applications) and servers (that manage the display). Display support is compiled into the Xserver. Under the X11 model, headless servers don't exist: the Xserver is always accessing the display hardware. To display remotely, you log into a remote host with the DISPLAY environment variable pointing to the Xserver on your local workstation or Xterminal. X11 clients then make a connection to whatever is in the DISPLAY variable. A compute server does not run the Xserver at all, only X client applications.

This model wasn't good enough for some people, so they developed other models. The concept behind VNC is screen sharing. VNC lets you take over the display of one computer from a remote location and control it like a puppet. But that first system already has to have a display running before you can take it over. There's no display running on a compute server, so nothing to take over.

The way they deal with this is to make their own "headless" Xserver that has no display at all, only a buffer in memory. It's called Xvnc. If Xvnc is running on the remote host, then the DISPLAY variable can point to it and applications can connect to that. Xvnc is useless: it has no keyboard and no display, so clients just do nothing. But VNC can take it over like a puppet, to let it be remote controlled from elsewhere in the network.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest