Using fsn on an Indigo2

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby itsvince725 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:02 pm

Even though it's ridiculous and not particularly useful my endless love of Jurassic Park has me wanting to run fsn on my Indigo2. My question is: how much horsepower do I need to run it? I've got a 150MHz R4400, Newport graphics, and a currently unknown amount of RAM.
:Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1333
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:42 pm

I used it on an Octane R10k 195MHz with MXE graphics and it was perfectly usable. You may have enough power to use it on there considering how well it runs on the Octane or not, it depends.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby itsvince725 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 4:13 pm

I've seen it run on an R10000 Indigo2 with Max IMPACT graphics but I don't know if it can run on anything lesser.
:Indigo2: :Indy:

robespierre
Posts: 1555
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby robespierre » Tue Mar 07, 2017 4:14 pm

As an IrisGL program without textures, it will run on just about anything.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1797
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby uunix » Tue Mar 07, 2017 5:38 pm

Brilliant program, I used it many years ago and it really is as slow and useless as it is in the film.
[Edit] Actually it was useful, it did enable them to lock the doors, although who in all of us would open up fsm as a first command on any unix system?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby itsvince725 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 6:03 pm

I mostly just want to do a video demonstrating it for friends and have an excuse to utter that infamous quote. :P

Great, I'll have to install it once the Indigo2 has its hard drive situation worked out.
:Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby Krokodil » Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:52 pm

uunix wrote: although who in all of us would open up fsm as a first command on any unix system?


Certainly not that person in the film. I can tell you that much.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby Trippynet » Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:41 am

It's certainly worth trying. It runs OK on my Indigo2. I do have the R10000, but only SolidImpact graphics. But as robespierre says, it doesn't use texturing, so should run at least to a reasonable degree on your Indigo2!
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

jpstewart
Donor
Donor
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:31 pm
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby jpstewart » Wed Mar 08, 2017 8:00 am

For what it's worth, the README for fsn says:
Fsn requires Z-buffering and RGB support. You must be running IRIX release 4.0.1 or greater.

Those are some pretty low requirements. Later in the file, there's a warning that some things may not work so well on an Indigo. Your Indigo2 should be much more usable.
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Indigo: :O3x0:
Sun SPARCstation 20, Blade 2500, T5240
HP C8000

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby Shiunbird » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:42 am

uunix wrote:Brilliant program, I used it many years ago and it really is as slow and useless as it is in the film.
[Edit] Actually it was useful, it did enable them to lock the doors, although who in all of us would open up fsm as a first command on any unix system?


I'd go for some tcl stuff, like:

Code: Select all

while {[gets $door_list door_number] >=0} {spawn "echo open > /dev/$door_number"}


Edit: forgot to close a quote.

:D
ImageImage

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2080
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: Using fsn on an Indigo2

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:47 pm

It runs fine on my Indy. I can't imagine your Indigo2 would run it any worse.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests