Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:18 am
Posts: 330
Location: Tokyo
Everyone, I couldn't really see this communicated clearly anywhere, but I've discovered that rapidapp or prodev would not even start for me (crash just after "acquiring license"), and after a while of debugging with par I found that it usually dies with SIGBUS when opening license files.
What I also noticed - is that I kept couple backup copies of the licenses under the same /var/flexlm/ - which is what caused the issue.

It turns out that ALL files in that folder are treated as licenses, and the process would try to load all of them, and it simply gets confused...

The solution was very simple - clear all of those backup copies, and leave the one master file (I'm pretty sure it doesn't happen when you use official license manager, but for those "handy" ones who like to do it manually it matters)..

So in the very short - keep just one master file with licenses in that path.

Cheers

_________________
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:Octane2: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
There is a flexlm topic in the wiki... Please feel free to get an account and update the wiki.











BTW ...The reason I left irc this morning...I didn't need my NASM assembler text book by 8pm local time. OPs Normal. If you don't understand this BTW, ignore it, it wasn't meant for you.

R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9445
kubatyszko wrote:
So in the very short - keep just one master file with licenses in that path.

Ah'll be a blue-nosed gopher ! RapidApp quit working for me a while ago, never got around to figuring out what was wrong. This is what it was .. thank you !!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 2:09 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida USA
A legit ProDev requires the license string to not contain any line breaks (ie. CR/LF). This is contrary to most FlexLM apps which can tolerate variable formatting of the license string.

_________________
:Octane2: Dual R14K@600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 1x72GB HDD
:O2: R10K@175MHz, 512MB RAM, 1x72GB HDD
:Cube: 68040@33MHz, 128MB RAM, NeXTdimension 32MB, 2x 4.3GB HDD

...And lots of other UNIX-like systems for which there is no icon.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3829
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Axatax wrote:
A legit ProDev requires the license string to not contain any line breaks (ie. CR/LF).

Not true as long as you escape line ends, like this:
Code:
FEATURE cc sgifd 7.000 01-jan-0 0 secretsecretsecretsecret HOSTID="d2100629 \
dfe00d95 dfa00d95 df600d95 df200d95 dee00d95 dea00d95 de600d95 de200d95 \
dde00d95 dda00d95 dd600d95 dd200d95 dce00d95 dca00d95 dc600d95 dc200d95 \
dbe00d95 dba00d95 db600d95 db200d95 dae00d95 daa00d95 da600d95 da200d95 \
d9e00d95 d9a00d95 d9600d95 d9200d95 d8e00d95 d8a00d95 d8600d95 d8200d95 \
d7e00d95 d7a00d95 d7600d95 d7200d95 d6e00d95 d6a00d95 d6600d95 d6200d95 \
d5e00d95 d5a00d95 d5600d95 d5200d95 d4e00d95 d4a00d95 d4600d95 d4200d95 \
d3e00d95 d3a00d95 d3600d95 d3200d95 d2e00d95 d2a00d95 d2600d95 d2200d95 \
d1e00d95 d1a00d95 d1600d95 d1200d95 d0e00d95 d0a00d95 d0600d95" \
vendor_info="MipsPro C Compiler 32 CPU" VENDOR_STRING="CPU 32" \
ISSUER="Silicon Graphics, Inc."

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group