Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 7:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:32 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
I managed to install 6.5.15 from scratch on a INDY.
(Saving the networked install for later)

"server" has /mnt/hda, /mnt/hdc and /home/Mp3 exported to the network.
I want to mount them under /NFS/server/hda and so on.

But as i now try to set "indy" up for networking and such, it cant find the NFS shares exported from my Linux server.
I enter the ip adress for the serve, and hit update, but it never finds anything at all.

If i mount the shares manually it works perfectly.

Also if i add the entries in fstab to automount at boot, it works perfectly.
How come the "autodetect" fails?

Also, fixing a entry in fstab makes it permanent.
The setup said something about "session only" mounting.
What and where do i add to manage that?
(home share unmounted at logout for instance)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Posts: 5165
http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... fs%20fstab

this should answer all.
anyhow mounting is nearly the same on any unix version.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: A suggestion...
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:42 am
Posts: 88
Location: Ambarvale NSW, Australia
Have you looked into your /etc/exports file on your Linux server? I use a opensuse PPC server to provide NFS shares to my O2, and I had the same problem. Instead of using the IP address of the client host (I assume you are just serving the one workstation, the Indy), I used an alternate name (in this case, its FQDN). It successfully detected and mounted the share. You could try that.

- Simon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Posts: 5165
never had probs using irix as an nfs client no matter which os the server had.
however since my server's running irix it's some time ago i tried it.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A suggestion...
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 4:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:32 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Sacrifist wrote:
Have you looked into your /etc/exports file on your Linux server? I use a opensuse PPC server to provide NFS shares to my O2, and I had the same problem. Instead of using the IP address of the client host (I assume you are just serving the one workstation, the Indy), I used an alternate name (in this case, its FQDN). It successfully detected and mounted the share. You could try that.

- Simon.


I use the NFS server for several Linux and few WinXP boxes.
my /etc/exportfs is as follows:
(This is on a locked not routed LAN

/mnt/hda/ *(rw,no_root_squash,sync)
/mnt/hdc/ *(rw,no_root_squash,sync)
/home/Mp3 *(rw,no_root_squash,sync)

I know i probably ought to tidy it up.
But as for now it works.. (Aside from the autodetection from IRIX.

Ill take a look later this week to see if the FQDN would work better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A suggestion...
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 5:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Posts: 5165
rikjoh wrote:
Sacrifist wrote:
Have you looked into your /etc/exports file on your Linux server? I use a opensuse PPC server to provide NFS shares to my O2, and I had the same problem. Instead of using the IP address of the client host (I assume you are just serving the one workstation, the Indy), I used an alternate name (in this case, its FQDN). It successfully detected and mounted the share. You could try that.

- Simon.


I use the NFS server for several Linux and few WinXP boxes.
my /etc/exportfs is as follows:
(This is on a locked not routed LAN

/mnt/hda/ *(rw,no_root_squash,sync)
/mnt/hdc/ *(rw,no_root_squash,sync)
/home/Mp3 *(rw,no_root_squash,sync)

I know i probably ought to tidy it up.
But as for now it works.. (Aside from the autodetection from IRIX.


you mean you never tried to mount it by hand?

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Graphic NFS is IRIX only
Unread postPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5753
Location: Renton, WA
At least on IRIX 6.2 the graphical NFS mounter seems to only interoperate with IRIX hosts. Command line mounting works just fine, though.
I haven't tried graphical mounting from 6.5 - I suppose I should - I just got in the habit of CLI mounting from my 6.2 box.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Posts: 5165
SAQ wrote:
At least on IRIX 6.2 the graphical NFS mounter seems to only interoperate with IRIX hosts. Command line mounting works just fine, though.
I haven't tried graphical mounting from 6.5 - I suppose I should - I just got in the habit of CLI mounting from my 6.2 box.


who cares about the gui. i thought he had 'real' issues with nfs :P

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
NFS shares from OpenBSD are visible through the graphical mounter in "Filesystem Manager".
OpenBSD serves it over udp - might it be a reason ?

Linux servers are not visible (but still mountable manual way)
I wonder if the nfs service need to be advertised somehow trough inetd perhaps.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
jeremy123 wrote:
NFS shares from OpenBSD are visible through the graphical mounter in "Filesystem Manager".
OpenBSD serves it over udp - might it be a reason ?

Linux servers are not visible (but still mountable manual way)
I wonder if the nfs service need to be advertised somehow trough inetd perhaps.


You are responding to a post from 2006..?
and none of your assertions or (rhetorical?) questions make sense to me.

Oh, and who cares about GUIs?

The only platform I've ever had problems with NFS is Solaris where you have to specify a version number of the protocol to use as an option "-o vers=3".
But then I've only been using NFS for about 15 years and UNIX since 1988.


R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
Yes I'm replaying to 2006 post any reason why not ?- This forum is like a knowledge bank for me and others .
its not a face book man ;)

I was looking for answers here .. just added my bit for interest of others. tested the whole thing few times -
And in fact the gui tool cant list the shares from linux and it list nicely the ones served from Open/free/net/BSDs/Solaris
I'm looking for a reason currently
I was trying to solve that issue myself recently..
I do care about gui.. any reason I shouldn't ?

I can see you are one of these console heroes not caring about gui :) and you never had problems with NFS :).
I also never had any problems with NFS and I use terminals since early childhood ;) not a problem here at all.

But I like my gui tools to work fine or at least know why they don't its an SGI man -- oh and don't be such a HaKzord "But then I've only been using NFS for about 15 years and UNIX since 1988"
So what ? me to - and many others here even longer.
And now go and watch some movie on your VT100 ;)

-regards

I

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Posts: 2832
Location: On an Intergalactic Spaceboat of Light and Wonder
jeremy123 wrote:
NFS shares from OpenBSD are visible through the graphical mounter in "Filesystem Manager".
OpenBSD serves it over udp - might it be a reason ?

Linux servers are not visible (but still mountable manual way)
I wonder if the nfs service need to be advertised somehow trough inetd perhaps.

This is a good "fyi" tip, if/when I need to change my nfs server I will look into this, for now I've set it up to be working automatic on boot and I don't have time to mess with it. 8-)

SGI hasn't fixed since 2006 so this post is just as valid today as it was back then. and ME would like the gui. :mrgreen:

_________________
The people of earth never were cut out for this sedentary lifestyle. Millions of years of evolution, fine tuning these beautiful nomadic legs, and in less than two hundred years we’ve folded them up and put them away under our laptops.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
:D -> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16725384&p=7340732#p7340732

R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
PymbleSoftware: Sweet jesus! don't get so upset..

I just had a little daughter in December myself and I work hard every day I know how bad it gets with taxes an other shit I did't mean to hurt you..
Just joking man just joking .. Relax, have cold beer (I would get you a cold pint of a Guinness if I could ) all is going to be good. Nobody can't take the knowledge from you and if we help each other to learn new stuff here and in other places we can only get better right ?
Wiki on Nekochan is great I learned a lot from it. And every little forum post helps. Irix is frozen it will never change again so it doesn't matter its 2006 post.
I would never laugh at your experience - but you seems to be bit stressed & tense its good to joke then right ?
--peace

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group