For download: IRIX netboot appliance

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:55 pm

recondas wrote:
Adrenaline wrote:Is there way to wipe the drive from prom? I'm guessing it doesn't like the non-irix partitions?
See Clearing Old Data Prior to Installation.


Thanks! But how would that work doing a netboot? I don't have a cd-rom drive to boot fx from my IRIX CDs unfortunately.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby recondas » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:05 pm

Adrenaline wrote:Thanks! But how would that work doing a netboot? I don't have a cd-rom drive to boot fx from my IRIX CDs unfortunately.
Never tried it with a networked install, but if you're able to get into the installation menu you might be able drop into the Admin menu (#13) and run run fx from the admin chrooted shell.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:10 pm

I wish I could get that far, it simply dies on the:

Code: Select all

dks0d1s0: volume header not valid
swap partition (0) is not a valid swap area.

Press <Enter> to return to the menu:
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:10 pm

Should I try wiping the partitions in another system?
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby recondas » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:49 pm

Adrenaline wrote:

Code: Select all

dks0d1s0: volume header not valid
swap partition (0) is not a valid swap area.

Hard to tell from only two lines out of the netboot process where things are going south. Can you invoke fx using this method? http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/IRIX_Netwo ... figuration
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:55 pm

recondas wrote:Hard to tell from only two lines out of the netboot process where things are going south. Can you invoke fx using this method? http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/IRIX_Netwo ... figuration


That worked! Doing an "auto" on it now.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby recondas » Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:10 pm

Adrenaline wrote:That worked! Doing an "auto" on it now.
Just to eliminate the potential for additional headaches I'd suggest following that guide's directions to explicitly partition it as a root option (ro) drive - but use a block size of 4096.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:13 pm

Adrenaline wrote:
recondas wrote:Hard to tell from only two lines out of the netboot process where things are going south. Can you invoke fx using this method? http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/IRIX_Netwo ... figuration


That worked! Doing an "auto" on it now.


Depending on the size of the disk, "auto" could take a very long time. I second the notion of "partition it as a root option (ro) drive".

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby smj » Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:22 pm

General note: tingo has reported success using DINA under VirtualBox. I wonder what the changes were besides network interface name...

Anyway, I changed a couple sentences in the wiki guide to reflect the news.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:28 pm

Got IRIX up and running, thanks all for your help.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:58 am

Woke up this morning to tons of

Code: Select all

Media Error: Unrecovered data block read errors


Time to reinstall everything again :(
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:12 pm

Adrenaline wrote:Woke up this morning to tons of

Code: Select all

Media Error: Unrecovered data block read errors


Time to reinstall everything again :(


.. and update your signature

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby Adrenaline » Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:30 pm

PymbleSoftware wrote:
Adrenaline wrote:Woke up this morning to tons of

Code: Select all

Media Error: Unrecovered data block read errors


Time to reinstall everything again :(


.. and update your signature

R.


Done :)

I was able to clone it to another Maxtor ATLAS 15k luckily, so all was not lost :)
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

tingo
Donor
Donor
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby tingo » Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:12 pm

smj wrote:General note: tingo has reported success using DINA under VirtualBox. I wonder what the changes were besides network interface name...

Hmm, I can't remember now, and it doesn't look like I wrote abything about it in my worklog.
I think it was just changing settings in VirtualBox for the (virtual) hardware until the virtual machine worked.
Torfinn

kcchris
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: For download: IRIX netboot appliance

Unread postby kcchris » Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:22 am

tingo wrote:
smj wrote:General note: tingo has reported success using DINA under VirtualBox. I wonder what the changes were besides network interface name...

Hmm, I can't remember now, and it doesn't look like I wrote abything about it in my worklog.
I think it was just changing settings in VirtualBox for the (virtual) hardware until the virtual machine worked.


I realize this is an older post I'm responding to, but I recently decided to revive a couple Indy's I had sitting in a closet so I just recently stumbled across this info. Apologies, but I hope someone finds my info useful.

I already had VirtualBox installed on a machine and didn't want to mess with VMWare player so migrated deBug's VMWare image VirtualBox. It's not a difficult procedure. Here's what I did:

I created a new NetBSD VM and matched as many settings as I could:
1 Processor
256MB Ram
32MB Video Memory
PIX3 Chipset
Hardware Clock in UTC (My host OS is MacOS)
Enable VT-x + Nested Paging
32MB Video Memory
IDE HD and CD on PIX4 controller
Attach the existing DINA image to the HD
PCnet-FAST III Ethernet attached as a Bridged Adapter

Since the default install of NetBSD is fairly hardware agnostic, there weren't many changes required. The main issue is that graphics won't work so there are a couple changes that need to be made.

First off, from the start menu choose "4" to drop to the shell. Before working on getting graphics working I needed to fix the keyboard because the default encoding is set for SV, which maps all my keys wrong. To fix, enter this command:

wsconsctl -k -w encoding=us

This will instantly fix your keyboard mapping, however it's easier said than done because all the non-letter keys are initially mapped wrong. For me I can get the "-" by pressing the "/" key. For the "=" I used Shift+0. That may or may not work for you depending on your keyboard. Trial and error is the only option here.

To make that change persist after a reboot, you need to edit the /etc/wscons.conf file and find the "encoding=sv" line and change it to "encoding=us", or whatever your country code is. They give some examples (us, uk, de, dk, it, fr, jp, sv, no, es, pt). Save that file with the correct country code and you won't have to worry about the keyboard anymore.

From there it's probably best to get networking going. Enter "/usr/dina/startmeu" and choose "3" to set your IP address. After you enter all the info it will cause you to reboot, but hopefully your network will be working after that.

Finally it's time to fix graphics. startx fails because the display and video card are defined wrong for the VirtualBox emulators. Just run "xf86config" from the shell and it will walk your through setting up a new config.
There are other options that aren't critical, but everything should work if you choose:
wsmouse and just hit enter to choose the default mouse device
I used Generic 101-key PC for the keyboard. It seems to work fine.
For monitor I chose "6" and then "1" for the vertical sync. I'm on a LCD display so this matches up. Yours may need to be different.
From the Video Card Database I chose 0, VESA compatible and set it to the 32768K to match the 32MB I configured in the VM settings
Change display modes as necessary. I left mine default.
Let it save the file to /etc/X11/XF86Config
You can either type "startx" or run "/usr/dina/startmenu" and choose "2" to start the graphics. It should boot into the graphical display now.

The only other issue is that SeaMonkey, which is the web browser, is also using the SV locale. Easiest fix I have found is to launch a "Term" window (little computer icon on the launch bar) and enter "mv .mozilla MozBack". Then open a "Web" window and SeaMonkey should be reset to en-US. (It *may* read the locale from the wscons.conf file setting, but I doubt it). The only thing I believe you lose is the bookmarks, which have a couple links to setting up IRIX installs on a network. If you want them back you have to close all your SeaMonkey windows and open a Term session. Make sure to open SeaMonkey from the "Web" icon at least once after running the mv command but before doing this next step to reset the preferences to default, then enter the following command:

mv MozBack/default/p6j8l230.slt/bookmarks.html ./mozilla/default/*.slt/

When you launch a Web window again your bookmarks should be restored. You can delete the MozBack folder now (rm -rf MozBack) and you should be up and running.

That should be everything you need to get this image moved over to VirtualBox. Thanks to deBug for putting this VM together.

FWIW - both the language changes should work on the VMWare version as well.

Also, if anyone is interested, I had some issues with my existing DHCP server on my LAN conflicting and didn't want to rip everything apart temporarily to make the SGIs work, so I did a Virtual to Physical (V2P) move on this image and installed it as the primary OS on an old laptop I had laying around. The laptop now boots to DINA and I can plug it in directly into the SGI I'm setting up and not have to worry about the conflicts I was having. It was a bit more complicated of a process (a lot of which was due to my drive in the laptop being smaller than the 60G the VM disk image), but I can try to capture what I did if anyone is interested.
Image 133Mhz R4600PC/64Mb/XL8 Indy
Image 133Mhz R4600PC/128Mb/XZ Indy
Image 180Mhz R5000SC/256Mb/XL24 Indy
Image 150Mhz R4400SC/256Mb Challenge S


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest