DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:25 am

ka0s wrote:I've downloaded the latest version of the fabulous djv player and when I
tried it on a bunch of targa's I get the folowing Error:

Code: Select all

ERROR OpenGL Maximum Texture Size: 512
ERROR OpenGL Maximum Texture Size: 512


Does this mean my Octane 2 V10 Isn't qualified anymore ?


That's odd; my V8 supports textures up to 2k. I'll see if I can find some information about the differences between the vpro cards (happen to know of any links?).

ka0s wrote:Also after I start the program on the commandline I get the following message on the same line :

Code: Select all

 bob@Octane2: /usr2/images %  djv_view
[codecinfo] Error: 5


What could this mean ?


That's coming from the QuickTime library I'm using. I'll see if there's a way I can turn it off, it is kind of annoying.

Thanks for the feedback; this is my first version using OpenGL so it's a bit rough, but when it works it's much faster. I'll see if I can track down the texture problem or figure out a workaround.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby nekonoko » Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:01 am

dj wrote:That's odd; my V8 supports textures up to 2k. I'll see if I can find some information about the differences between the vpro cards (happen to know of any links?).


Well the V8 has significantly more VRAM than the V10 (128MB with 104MB available for texture as opposed to 32MB with 8MB available for texture) so that may be the biggest factor at work here :) V8/V12 = 128MB and V6/V10 = 32MB.

VPro Series
Option: Colour: RAM: Texture Memory (up to) Geometry Speed
V6 48bit RGBA 32MB 8MB Original GE speed
V8 48bit RGBA 128MB 104MB Original GE speed
V10 48bit RGBA 32MB 8MB 2X Faster GE speed
V12 48bit RGBA 128MB 104MB 2X Faster GE speed
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:38 am

8MB should still be enough for a 1k texture, but maybe it's limited to 512 so you can have a minimum number of textures... Anyways, what a pain, I wish OpenGL drivers did resource virtualization.

I'll see how difficult it is to come up with a fallback method...

User avatar
ka0s
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 5:23 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby ka0s » Mon Aug 06, 2007 6:52 am

That would be great I was anciously awaiting the OpenGL SPeedboost...... :cry:
I can feel it, my mind is going ....

User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:11 pm

Hi,

Just a small bump to let everyone know I've release an updated beta, version 0.7.1. I've made some changes to try and improve OpenGL compatibility with SGI machines, so if people can try it out on different hardware and post feedback that would be very helpful.

Homepage: http://djv.sourceforge.net/
Downloads: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=118244


Thanks, Darby

User avatar
ka0s
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 5:23 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby ka0s » Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:42 am

Thanks for the update Darby.

Here's some feedback on version 0.71.
It now works on my Octane2 with V10 Graphics.
Although when executing on the timeline I still get this error :

Code: Select all

[codecinfo] Error:


The downside of this update is that it cannot display a tga sequence ( 1024x576 ) in realtime.
of the 25 fps it can only handle 12 -14 fps. The 720x576 tga sequence plays almost 18-22 fps.
Now I know that this is not a hardware problem since I can play this in realtime with
Blender. ( the software I made the tga animation with )

The resizing of anamorph material ( 720x576 ) to 16x9 ( 1024x576 ) is much better.
There's no decrease in speed anymore ( means that this resizing is done in realtime ) !

I tried to use the cache option and increased it to 512 MB but this didn't seem to make any
difference, still can't play 25 fps.
( this was tested on 720x576 and 1024x576 tga sequences. NON SCALED )

I really hope you succeed in optimizing this code for the SGI cause I really like it ;)
I can feel it, my mind is going ....

User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:41 am

ka0s wrote:Although when executing on the timeline I still get this error :

Code: Select all

[codecinfo] Error:


That's the QuickTime library I'm using; I still need to see if there's an option to turn that off.

ka0s wrote:The downside of this update is that it cannot display a tga sequence ( 1024x576 ) in realtime.
of the 25 fps it can only handle 12 -14 fps. The 720x576 tga sequence plays almost 18-22 fps.
Now I know that this is not a hardware problem since I can play this in realtime with
Blender. ( the software I made the tga animation with )


Are the tga files compressed? Also, do you know if blender caches them in memory or plays them directly from disk?

ka0s wrote:The resizing of anamorph material ( 720x576 ) to 16x9 ( 1024x576 ) is much better.


Cool.

ka0s wrote:I tried to use the cache option and increased it to 512 MB but this didn't seem to make any difference, still can't play 25 fps.


That's my bad; the cache feature is completely broken in 0.7.1. I have a 0.7.2 prerelease package that fixes this; I'll try and put a tardist together.

ka0s wrote:I really hope you succeed in optimizing this code for the SGI cause I really like it ;)


Thanks! As long as you can help me with feedback I'll be motivated to keep the IRIX port going. :)

el_bolo
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:42 am

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby el_bolo » Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:52 am

i installed djv ( specifically djv_0.7.2-pre1-2_i386.deb on a ia32 debian sid chroot running on an ubuntu dapper(64) on x86_64 )
i don't seem to get my preferences saved ( or i cannot find easy where to do that ), so if you can point me to, it'll be nice.

nice features , nice free software, i've used iridas framecycler for quite a long time, and am happy with djv's options.
i cannot get realtime playing (tried sgis and jpgs) if i use the zoom

i just installed it an hour ago, so don't take my reply as nothing more than an ancouragement.
good work!

nice to see one good gpl'ed flipbook software
cheers!

User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:29 am

Hi,

el_bolo wrote:i don't seem to get my preferences saved ( or i cannot find easy where to do that ), so if you can point me to, it'll be nice.


The preferences should save automatically; they are stored in your home directory like:

~/.fltk/djv-0.7.2-pre1/

Could you see if that directory exists and has a couple files like "djv_view.prefs" and "global.prefs"?
(Normally you don't ever need to edit those.)

el_bolo wrote:nice features


Thanks! If you have any suggestions for other features, please let me know,

el_bolo wrote:i cannot get realtime playing (tried sgis and jpgs) if i use the zoom


Can you give me some information about what kind of hardware you're using? Generally zooming in should go faster because there's not as much to draw.

el_bolo wrote:nice to see one good gpl'ed flipbook software


Actually it's BSD; but, it's a fine line. :)


Thanks, Darby

User avatar
zahal
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby zahal » Fri Sep 14, 2007 1:08 pm

DJV 0.7.0 was working ok.
Upgraded to 0.7.1 and on starting up djv_view it just dies out and spits :

Code: Select all

XRequest.146: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 0x32
XRequest.146: GLXBadContext 0x4800003
ERROR GLX Context Bind


I'm on a 400mhz r12k O2, Irix 6.5.22

Going to download and install 0.7.2 and see if that problem is fixed.
Last edited by zahal on Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 600MHz PIII - HP Alphaserver DS15 - Digital DECstation5000/133 - Dell T3500 - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6100/66 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6500/G3@500MHz - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh LC475 (OC Full 040 33MHz) - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Full 040 40Mhz Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - EBOX 3300A-JSK - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Compaq Armada 4120 - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP OmniBook 425 - HP 200LX - Crossbeam C12

User avatar
zahal
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 11:43 am

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby zahal » Sat Sep 15, 2007 9:31 am

No 0.7.2 tardist available yet, so I had to downgrade to 0.7.0
I also get a codec error:

Code: Select all

[codecinfo] Error:  xine
Sitting in a room.....thinkin' shit up. :evil:

:O2: 400MHz R12k - :320: Dual 600MHz PIII - HP Alphaserver DS15 - Digital DECstation5000/133 - Dell T3500 - Apple G4 Cube dual 500MHz/GF6200 - Newton Messagepad 2100 - Apple PowerBook 2400c/G3@240 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6100/66 - Apple PowerMacintosh 6500/G3@500MHz - Apple Workgroup Server 9150/120 G3@280 - Apple Macintosh IIfx - Apple Macintosh LC475 (OC Full 040 33MHz) - Apple Macintosh Color Classic (Full 040 40Mhz Mystic upgrade) - Sun Cobalt Cube 3 - EBOX 3300A-JSK - Tadpole RDI UltraBook IIi - Compaq Armada 4120 - Digital HiNote Ultra II - HP OmniBook 425 - HP 200LX - Crossbeam C12

User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:44 am

zahal wrote:No 0.7.2 tardist available yet, so I had to downgrade to 0.7.0


Sorry for the delay; I should have a new version with tardist up in a couple of days. I'll post a message here to let everyone know.

zahal wrote:I also get a codec error:


Yeah, that's on my todo list; those messages are coming from the QuickTime library I'm using for UNIX.


Thanks, Darby

User avatar
ka0s
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 5:23 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby ka0s » Sun Sep 16, 2007 4:53 am

dj wrote:
ka0s wrote:Although when executing on the timeline I still get this error :

Code: Select all

[codecinfo] Error:


That's the QuickTime library I'm using; I still need to see if there's an option to turn that off.

O.K. that must be easy compared to the optimizing stuff ... ;)
dj wrote:
ka0s wrote:The downside of this update is that it cannot display a tga sequence ( 1024x576 ) in realtime.
of the 25 fps it can only handle 12 -14 fps. The 720x576 tga sequence plays almost 18-22 fps.
Now I know that this is not a hardware problem since I can play this in realtime with
Blender. ( the software I made the tga animation with )


Are the tga files compressed? Also, do you know if blender caches them in memory or plays them directly from disk?


As far as I can tell does Blender play the compressed tga's realtime from disk.
When pressing play it play's the files realtime in one go, usually when playing from RAM the first run will be dropping frames.

dj wrote:
ka0s wrote:I tried to use the cache option and increased it to 512 MB but this didn't seem to make any difference, still can't play 25 fps.


That's my bad; the cache feature is completely broken in 0.7.1. I have a 0.7.2 prerelease package that fixes this; I'll try and put a tardist together.


I see, looking forward to the tardist update !
dj wrote:
ka0s wrote:I really hope you succeed in optimizing this code for the SGI cause I really like it ;)


Thanks! As long as you can help me with feedback I'll be motivated to keep the IRIX port going. :)


No thank you, for your effort in keeping the SGI platform alive !!!
I can feel it, my mind is going ....

el_bolo
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:42 am

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby el_bolo » Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:12 am

dj wrote:The preferences should save automatically; they are stored in your home directory like:
~/.fltk/djv-0.7.2-pre1/
Could you see if that directory exists and has a couple files like "djv_view.prefs" and "global.prefs"?
(Normally you don't ever need to edit those.)

ok
that was my fault.i had some issue with my permissions, now it's all ok and working.
thanks


dj wrote:Thanks! If you have any suggestions for other features, please let me know,

mm
i think it'll be nice to zoom with the mouse ... just like that ctrl+mouse click to move , but zooming when using another mousebutton.
(dunno if i explained myself , not native english speaker)

dj wrote:Can you give me some information about what kind of hardware you're using? Generally zooming in should go faster because there's not as much to draw.


well, i think it's due to cache size.
i'm playing a sequence of sgis, with a total of ~50MB
it seems i need to set the cache on in order to feel it play smoothly.

but if i zoom in , i get a non_smooth playback again ( with 2048 in cache size )
i am running ubuntu gnu/linux on a dual core opteron with 8Gb of RAM.
i run djv in a chrooted debian sid inside that ubuntu

thanks for your time!


hehe, licenses ..
nice work!

User avatar
dj
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:35 am
Location: california

Re: DJV Imaging 0.7.0 Beta

Unread postby dj » Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:54 am

el_bolo wrote:had some issue with my permissions, now it's all ok and working.


Great!

el_bolo wrote:i think it'll be nice to zoom with the mouse ... just like that ctrl+mouse click to move , but zooming when using another mousebutton.


I've changed the mouse a bit in the new version:

Left Mouse - Sample a point in the image.
Middle Mouse - Move image.
Right Mouse - Scroll through playback frames.

Maybe I could add:

Ctrl + Middle Mouse - Zoom in.
Ctrl + Middle Mouse - Zoom out.

How does that sound?

el_bolo wrote:well, i think it's due to cache size.
i'm playing a sequence of sgis, with a total of ~50MB
it seems i need to set the cache on in order to feel it play smoothly.


Are the sgi files compressed? I may have to look at optimizing my decompression algorithm; kaos is also seeing bad performance with compressed TGA files.

el_bolo wrote:but if i zoom in , i get a non_smooth playback again ( with 2048 in cache size )
i am running ubuntu gnu/linux on a dual core opteron with 8Gb of RAM.
i run djv in a chrooted debian sid inside that ubuntu


That sounds like a video card/driver issue; are you using the nvidia linux drivers? Does running debian inside of ubuntu affect their performance at all? (I'm not familiar with virtualization...)


Thanks, Darby


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests