Page 3 of 4

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:15 am
by dir_marillion
Ok, I am not next to my Indigo2 right now.
I will check it in next days.

Yes, yes, try to fix it please as it is a super script :-)
... and thanks of course

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:47 pm
by thegoldbug
Okay, just tried this as Root and as a user but I can't get the images to show up in the Background list either. I'm running 6.5.22f with a Vpro6 graphics card. I've logged out and reboot but still no joy.

Did a solution ever get found. The references to the images are being added to my .backgrounds file.

thegoldbug
==========

These backgrounds run on platforms with ODYSSEY graphics.

background "Twilight"
command "-execute /usr/sbin/twilight"
default "-execute /usr/sbin/twilight"
exeok "/usr/sbin/twilight"

background "SGI Logo"
command "-execute /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/powerflip -Rs -o -0.3426,-0.2307,-0.1561,0.8971 -p 0.5316,0.3363,-0.3676 -b /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/background3.defs /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/logo.ydl"
default "-execute /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/powerflip -Rs -o -0.3426,-0.2307,-0.1561,0.8971 -p 0.5316,0.3363,-0.3676 -b /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/background3.defs /usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/logo.ydl"
exeok "/usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/powerflip"
readok "/usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/background3.defs"
readok "/usr/demos/General_Demos/powerflip/data/logo.ydl"

background "Loading.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/Loading.JPG"

background "fatcat1.gif"
default "-image /HD2/0_GBC/fatcat1.gif"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

background "Loading.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/Loading.JPG"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

background "994+190.JPG"
default "-image /HD2/MarigoldWebReportingSystem/994+190.JPG"

Cathode 23#

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 1:06 pm
by thegoldbug
Is my problem related to the fact that I haven't "prepared" my images to be backgrounds? I mean they are just normal JPGs. Do I need to "convert" them for use first?

thegoldbug

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:33 pm
by thegoldbug
Okay, been working on this and by setting the depth to 24 bit true color ( http://software.majix.org/irix/desktop-depth.shtml) I'm able to get a background I downloaded off of Nekochan to show up in the background list.

This has worked on several of my JPG files but only after I opening them using Image editor (file, open) and save them as JPGs are the files actually recognized by IRIX as jpgs. Can someone clue me in on why that is?

thanks
thegoldbug

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:36 pm
by dark_knight
I have a fresh install running on my 180mhz O2

I try and run the ./install script and get the error...- Permission denied
why I am running it as root

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 5:11 am
by dir_marillion
Finally right click "add to the backgrounds", then the file .backgrounds has this * to the list inside.
Also: Desktop-> customize-> backrounds, checking this jpeg but the picture does not go to the background.

*
background "030.jpg"
default "-image 030.jpg"

My screen is at 24 bit color

Thanks

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:05 am
by deBug
dir_marillion wrote:Finally right click "add to the backgrounds", then the file .backgrounds has this * to the list inside.
Also: Desktop-> customize-> backrounds, checking this jpeg but the picture does not go to the background.

*
background "030.jpg"
default "-image 030.jpg"

My screen is at 24 bit color

Thanks


Was your last post a statement or a question ?
I don't understand what you are trying to say.

//deBug

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:58 pm
by uridium
G'day,

Anyone have a mirror or alternate link for this? 404 basically. Trolled additional downloads and nekoware but no love. :-\

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:25 am
by deBug
uridium wrote:G'day,

Anyone have a mirror or alternate link for this? 404 basically. Trolled additional downloads and nekoware but no love. :-\


I had a hard disk crash around Christmas.
I'm still working on the restore.

You can now download it here http://zachrisson.net/sgi/AddToBackgrounds/addtobg-ver1.0-IRIX6.5.22.tar

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:46 am
by uridium
Ah bless ye and all that sail in you!! <3 <3

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:10 pm
by fu
100% dundee here (fu:el 6.5.29f)

thanks a ton harry
(more booze on me)
:)

(would it be easy for u to come up with a script that turns any disk/volume/folder into a permission-agnostic one?)

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:16 pm
by deBug
fu wrote:100% dundee here (fu:el 6.5.29f)

thanks a ton harry
(more booze on me)
:)

Glad you like it!
(would it be easy for u to come up with a script that turns any disk/volume/folder into a permission-agnostic one?)


I don't know, but I like to "fix" the things in the IRIX GUI that I think is missing on tasks that I often perform.
I haven't had the problem that you describe. So I have had no interest in fixing it.

But if you can write a script that does what you want I can help out binding it to a menu.

//deBug

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:27 pm
by cvisors
Sorry to reply to an old thread, but does anyone have a copy of this.

Thanks heaps

~Ivy

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 5:53 pm
by deBug
cvisors wrote:Sorry to reply to an old thread, but does anyone have a copy of this.

Thanks heaps

~Ivy


Cant you get it from [url]zachrisson.net/sgi[/url] ?

Re: "Add to backgrounds" popup menu typerule and scrip

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:00 pm
by cvisors
deBug wrote:
cvisors wrote:Sorry to reply to an old thread, but does anyone have a copy of this.

Thanks heaps

~Ivy


Cant you get it from [url]zachrisson.net/sgi[/url] ?


Ah ha, the links I was using was giving me a 404.

thanks heaps.