Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 1:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
Hi all.
I have written a typerule and a script that makes it a bit easier to use images as backgrounds in IRIX.

Once installed you can select one or several images and right clicking it you will get a pop up menu "Add to backgrounds".
After that the image will show up in the backgrounds settings.
This will work for JPG, BMP, SGI, TIF and GIF images.

You can download the stuff here http://zachrisson.net/addtobackgroundsmenu.zip .
After you unzipped the folder you just run the install script, wait a minute or so for the typerules to reconfigure and you will have the menu installed.
The computer needs to be running IRIX 6.5.22.
Let me know if you have any problem that needs fixing.

//deBug


Last edited by deBug on Mon May 07, 2007 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 4:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
Works great! Only issue I can see is that distributing as a *.zip loses the execute bit on 'addtobg' and 'install' (which is why tar files compressed with gzip/bzip are so prevalent ;) ).

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 4:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
nekonoko wrote:
Works great! Only issue I can see is that distributing as a *.zip loses the execute bit on 'addtobg' and 'install' (which is why tar files compressed with gzip/bzip are so prevalent ;) ).


OK, sorry for that, no IRIX machine turned on tonight so I was a bit lazy :)
Next release will be tared. I might even tardist it if I get some time to learn how to do that.

Nice to hear that it is working!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: new link
Unread postPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
OK, I tared it up for you all.
Get it here http://zachrisson.net/addtobg/addtobg-irix6.5.22.tar


Here is some screenshots that explains what it does.

After installation select
either several images by draging:
Image

or select a single image:
Image

right click and use the bottom menu "Add to backgrounds":
Image

The image(s) are now added to your backgrounds settings, just start the background setting dialog:
Image

And there you will find the newly added image. The name of the image is taken from the file name:
Image

Just select it and click "Apply" and you got yourself a new background in a few seconds.
Image


Enjoy!
//deBug


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
Added this to the blog. Thanks!

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 1:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:14 am
Posts: 652
Location: ::1
*Very* cool. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 1:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
nekonoko wrote:
Added this to the blog. Thanks!


I'm honored.
For an IRIX guy that's like being slashdotted :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 1:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5096
neat thing. thanks!!

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 3:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:07 pm
Posts: 547
Location: Europe
sorry ppl i install this and get the "Add to backgrounds" option on right click, then i choosed one jpg image, when i go to Desktop > Customize > Background - i don`t see it in list... i restarted, i have irix 6.5.22m ? sorry i`m stupid

_________________
Image
-----------------
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 2:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Posts: 189
Location: Sydney, Australia
Cool script.

This might be a silly question, but do I have to run this as root to get it working? I've just run it as myself and I'm getting loads of permission denied errors and I appear to have lost all my icons. :oops:

EDIT: Logged out and the icons are back. Though I still don't have the cool right click option. Note the image I am trying is a jpeg.

Now off to find some cool stuff to pretty up my O2.

_________________
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 2:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:07 pm
Posts: 547
Location: Europe
Quote:
...and I appear to have lost all my icons.


Ya i haved the same situation, when installed i lost all my icons then when restarted the icons are back, i login as root too and this one not works for me :(

_________________
Image
-----------------
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 2:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
SupremeCmdr wrote:
Cool script.

This might be a silly question, but do I have to run this as root to get it working? I've just run it as myself and I'm getting loads of permission denied errors and I appear to have lost all my icons. :oops:

EDIT: Logged out and the icons are back. Though I still don't have the cool right click option. Note the image I am trying is a jpeg.

Now off to find some cool stuff to pretty up my O2.


Yes, you have to be loged in with system rights as the script puts a file in /usr/sbin and I guess also the rebuild of the typerules can only be done by root or other admin account.
But once you have installed it the menu should be available for all users.

//debug


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 3:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
cybercow wrote:
Quote:
...and I appear to have lost all my icons.


Ya i haved the same situation, when installed i lost all my icons then when restarted the icons are back, i login as root too and this one not works for me :(

The dissapearing icons is due to me restarting the desktop after the typerule is installed. I had the same effect on one of my testcomputers.
It seems that restarting the desktop has this sideeffect some times.
I will do some research to see if this can be avoided.


Regarding your problem, once you have installed it as root, do you get the menu ?

If so try to add an image using the pop up menu and then open the file .backgrounds in in a text editor like jot or nedit.
The .backgrounds file is located in your home folder (if you are loged in as root the file is located in the root)
Then scroll down to the bottom of the .backgrounds file and see if your newly added image file is referenced there (the path to the image file should be found on a couple of lines).

Let me know the result and I'll see if I can nail the problem for you.

//deBug
T


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 3:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:38 am
Posts: 189
Location: Sydney, Australia
I've re-run the script as root and it works beautifully.
Tidy work deBug.

Perhaps you could add that extra info to the README file, just so dumb noobs like me know how to get it working. :wink:

I was just being cautious about running stuff as root, not really in the mood for an IRIX reinstall.

_________________
Apple Unibody MBP 2.66Ghz, 8Gb OSX 10.6
Apple MacMini 1.83Ghz, 1Gb OSX 10.5
Apple Power Mac Cube 450Mhz, 256Mb, OSX 10.3 Sweet!
Sun Ultra10 440Mhz 1Gb, SunOS 5.10

http://gothmog.homeunix.net/blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 4:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Posts: 840
Location: Sweden
SupremeCmdr wrote:
I've re-run the script as root and it works beautifully.
Tidy work deBug.

Nice :)

Quote:
Perhaps you could add that extra info to the README file, just so dumb noobs like me know how to get it working. :wink:

I was just being cautious about running stuff as root, not really in the mood for an IRIX reinstall.


Sure thing, I might even do a test in the install script and give a warning if one is not loged in as root to aviod future problems.

//deBug


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group