long time to launch modules

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
thorv
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:40 am
Location: France
Contact:

long time to launch modules

Unread postby thorv » Sun May 06, 2007 2:03 am

Hello,

I run a 6.5.30 version of irix on a R14k 600 Fuel and I can't launch System Manager anymore... "Star launcher" flashes few seconds and that's all !

More, system takes 15 seconds to launch and display Icon Catalog... (on the first or third try)

Sometimes, launching Software Manager can take 8-10 seconds while it launches immediatly most of the time ...

Cpu is 0% used .....

Has someone got an idea ?
FuelR14k600/V12/1GB - Octane 2xR12k@300/V8/1GB - SGI 320 (inside standard PC box) 2xP3@450/512MB W2k - Athlon 64x2 4200+/7900GS/2GB XP/OpenSuse - Sinclair ZX-81/16k ram ext.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 2223
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 7:57 am
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
Contact:

Unread postby joerg » Sun May 06, 2007 2:22 am

Use "par -sSSi programmname" to see whats going on.

regards
Joerg

hamei
Posts: 9888
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: long time to launch modules

Unread postby hamei » Sun May 06, 2007 5:13 am

thorv wrote:... can't launch System Manager anymore... "Star launcher" flashes few seconds and that's all !

More, system takes 15 seconds to launch and display Icon Catalog... (on the first or third try)

Sometimes, launching Software Manager can take 8-10 seconds while it launches immediatly most of the time ...

Has someone got an idea ?

Check the console first, usually some informative mesages there. Then try starting the app from a terminal - you'll get a lot more feedback that way. Sometimes there's something informative in the system log.

If all that easy stuff fails, then call in the cavalry :P

User avatar
stuart
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Unread postby stuart » Tue May 08, 2007 6:43 am

I remember that you have to be a bit careful with your LD_LIBRARYN32_PATH setting with System Manager - if a different libdb is loaded (say, the Nekoware one rather than the IRIX one in /usr/lib32) then System Manager won't load, but you'll get an 'rld' error on your console.

I'm not sure this would account for loading delays, but it might explain the first part...

User avatar
thorv
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:40 am
Location: France
Contact:

All is good

Unread postby thorv » Tue May 08, 2007 7:01 am

Well,

Thanks for your answers.

I've searched in the forum and I found the problem :

My pathes were pointing /usr/nekoware/lib before /usr/lib and that was the problem for the System Manager.

Btw, I still get some delays.

One, the first, is just after logging : Desktop icons, toolchest, shortcuts take time to display while cpu is 0% busy.

Seems like there's a delay in accessing disk.... Displaying Swat (samba) takes many seconds, icons on the top come one after one very slowly ....
FuelR14k600/V12/1GB - Octane 2xR12k@300/V8/1GB - SGI 320 (inside standard PC box) 2xP3@450/512MB W2k - Athlon 64x2 4200+/7900GS/2GB XP/OpenSuse - Sinclair ZX-81/16k ram ext.

User avatar
stuart
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Unread postby stuart » Tue May 08, 2007 7:32 am

Quick note: Bear in mind that /usr/nekoware/lib == /usr/lib32 : /usr/lib is o32 libraries, /usr/lib32 is n32 libraries, /usr/lib64 is 64bit libraries. You probably don't need to worry about this - but it is important that /usr/lib and /usr/nekoware/lib never appear in the same variable... you should have:

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:...
LD_LIBRARYN32_PATH=/usr/lib32:/usr/nekoware/lib:/usr/freeware/lib32:...
LD_LIBRARY64_PATH=/usr/lib64:/usr/freeware/lib64:...

I don't know about the delay, though, and it does sound wrong - does anything odd appear in /var/adm/SYSLOG?

User avatar
thorv
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:40 am
Location: France
Contact:

Yeah

Unread postby thorv » Tue May 08, 2007 7:32 am

Well, all running well on my octane, I've activated/deactivated some daemons on the fuel.

vswap was off.... routed was on and timed was off... (!!)

Now, it's a rocket !!!
FuelR14k600/V12/1GB - Octane 2xR12k@300/V8/1GB - SGI 320 (inside standard PC box) 2xP3@450/512MB W2k - Athlon 64x2 4200+/7900GS/2GB XP/OpenSuse - Sinclair ZX-81/16k ram ext.

User avatar
thorv
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:40 am
Location: France
Contact:

Good

Unread postby thorv » Tue May 08, 2007 8:13 am

Thanks for the precisions stuart.
FuelR14k600/V12/1GB - Octane 2xR12k@300/V8/1GB - SGI 320 (inside standard PC box) 2xP3@450/512MB W2k - Athlon 64x2 4200+/7900GS/2GB XP/OpenSuse - Sinclair ZX-81/16k ram ext.


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest