RASC is here!

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
DaSeitz
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:06 am
Location: Germany

RASC is here!

Unread postby DaSeitz » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:09 am


User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4250
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: RASC is here!

Unread postby GeneratriX » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:48 am



Cool!; Now I only need a Prism Deskside to give it a try! :P

User avatar
Arie van Schutterhoef
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Over the Rainbow
Contact:

Re: RASC is here!

Unread postby Arie van Schutterhoef » Tue Sep 27, 2005 6:52 am


User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4250
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

RASC

Unread postby GeneratriX » Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:28 am

I'm sure it can provide huge gains to speed-up specialized processing... now, if only could exist a not so expensive way to have one of those systems working, then it could be simply great... :P

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 825
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Interesting new approach

Unread postby Geoman » Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:37 am

Using a RASC rack is like programming a GPU. Beside running shader programs on it, you could use them a dsp, too.

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4250
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: Interesting new approach

Unread postby GeneratriX » Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:18 pm

Geoman wrote:Using a RASC rack is like programming a GPU. Beside running shader programs on it, you could use them a dsp, too.


Yes; I know about GPU and FPGA uses... but I was wondering about something more on the lines of:

http://c64upgra.de/c-one/
http://c64upgra.de/c-one/s_specs.htm

...but with more capacities for real world tasks... I mean... something like the C-One, but with real computing power... can you see my point?

C-One:
Image
Last edited by GeneratriX on Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3291
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Unread postby skywriter » Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:14 pm

profits will soar!!!!




not.....

Brombear
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Rhein-Main Area) / Germany
Contact:

Unread postby Brombear » Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:08 pm

Diego, is that your new car ? Guess sales of your software must have skyrocketed :)

Matthias
Life is what happens while we are making other plans

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4250
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Unread postby GeneratriX » Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:18 pm

Brombear wrote:Diego, is that your new car ? Guess sales of your software must have skyrocketed :)

Matthias


...Not really my own car... But I'll try hard to become your words a true... :P ...BTW: What actually is a skyrocket is these new Ferrari F430! :P ...But if at some point I can buy my own, I can promise my own real pictures of that along with a fanfarrious post! :lol:

Below a few pictures of the 2004' Edition, but the newer one is even nicer:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

...Argh!; Sorry by stealing this thread! :oops:

roosmcd
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 1:04 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Unread postby roosmcd » Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:50 pm

Surprise, surprise, I just ran into a couple of Nallatech guys at a booth in a conference (well actually there were about 10 booths..). Seems like 7 Virtex FPGA's have the power of 60 Xeons, so SGI is going to kick some butt :). And watch out for next your when 'Transformer' is coming out, this would be the second non-beta generation, one can at least expect SGI to have the decency to last that long :).

And these FPGA-thingies are not SGI-specific, you can also buy cPci, VME, PCI, PCI-X boards. Looks like you can write for this in C, it sure looked nice (no, they weren't serving beer).
Nekochan.net -- where Linux is a four letter word.

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4250
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Unread postby GeneratriX » Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:24 pm

roosmcd wrote:Surprise, surprise, I just ran into a couple of Nallatech guys at a booth in a conference (well actually there were about 10 booths..). Seems like 7 Virtex FPGA's have the power of 60 Xeons, so SGI is going to kick some butt :).


These is a nice huge amount of computational power on a relatively small footprint! ...Of course you need some custom programming for those little beasts (just my pleasure! :P); but I'm sure it worths the efforts, to have the SGI's racks running at the max.

roosmcd wrote:And watch out for next your when 'Transformer' is coming out, this would be the second non-beta generation, one can at least expect SGI to have the decency to last that long :).


:) We hope so!

roosmcd wrote: And these FPGA-thingies are not SGI-specific, you can also buy cPci, VME, PCI, PCI-X boards. Looks like you can write for this in C, it sure looked nice (no, they weren't serving beer).


I've wondered for a second if "PCI" will include at some point IRIX/MIPS as host, to run FPGA collaboration-boards on professional's/hobbyist's SGI workstations... :roll:

DaSeitz
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:06 am
Location: Germany

Unread postby DaSeitz » Sun Nov 06, 2005 6:45 am

GeneratriX wrote:
roosmcd wrote: I've wondered for a second if "PCI" will include at some point IRIX/MIPS as host, to run FPGA collaboration-boards on professional's/hobbyist's SGI workstations... :roll:


It's just the same as the collaboration between SGI and ARTVPS. One year ago they announced the availability of ARTVPS raytracing chips for SGI Tezro. But I can not remember SGI offering these cards for Tezro.
I think we will not see PCI-FPGA cards for SGI workstations. Eventually for SGI Prism/Altix, but not for IRIX based systems.

-----
Greetings from Germany

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4250
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

FPGA

Unread postby GeneratriX » Sun Nov 06, 2005 7:37 am

DaSeitz wrote:I think we will not see PCI-FPGA cards for SGI workstations. Eventually for SGI Prism/Altix, but not for IRIX based systems.


Well; I've already Google'd for that a few days ago, and against my guesses, there are already a few of them. The most evident board is the Annapolis Micro Systems WildStar II ...the bad news are that these is a full lenght PCI board that will not fit on my O2 :(
Anyway, I'm sure they will cost a load of money... there are also more FPGA boards on PCI format with support for IRIX over there... just Google for it and you'll find them. Even more... right now I'll write the word 'FPGA' on eBay search to see if any regreted developer has an auction for one of them! :P

gandalf
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:08 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Unread postby gandalf » Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:40 am

strange thread...

I am working on FPGA from virtex for my thesis and I can tell you one thing: FPGA's are slow and have a bad perfomance/power ratio. Just a good asic goes many times faster.

Virtex high-end fpga's integrate one or more power-pc to get speed!


so why is FPGA interesting? because you can do your custom stuff at a low price. You can program you functions in hardware, you can reconfigure the hardware on your FPGA. Virtex fpga's are essentially a memory.

You need a 11 bit adder ? you need hardware checksumming? You need hardware RGB->HSV conversion?
But beware, your special hardware might still perform a function slower than a high-speed cpu! it really depends on the application.

roosmcd
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 1:04 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Unread postby roosmcd » Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:30 pm

IIRC you can do all kinds of stuff parallel on a FPGA and the software automatically does this. The Nallatech software (and other software reported) makes it supposedly easy to program the FPGA and to reconfigure it for whatever calculation you want to do. DSP's are also still used.
Nekochan.net -- where Linux is a four letter word.


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest